You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOPAL4U Guidelines 1.0

in #community5 years ago

The same argument applies to Twitter and Facebook and others. Because they're private corporations, they can kinda do whatever they want in regard to censorship. Well, at least the laws are more lax. What holds them from doing whatever they like is the people. PAL can technically do this if they want...but I can also speak out against what they're doing and flag them for doing it with the little stake that I have.

They need to have clear guidelines in place before enforcement. That's how laws work.

They also need clear guidelines on what the enforcement will be for breaking what laws.

And I would prefer if they had a way for people to influence those guidelines.

They also need clear ways for people to appeal decisions.

Sort:  

The case with twitter and facebook gets fuzzy because they are enjoying legal protections as platforms but then acting like publishers. Putting that bit aside, yes, they can do what they want with their platforms and the market will respond.

Just like you are responding to PAL. You can dump your coins and not use palnet. That will create a market signal.

And sure, it's understandable that you want clear guidelines in place, which is what they are doing with this post. I'm just saying in this particular case I think the mod team made the right decision.

I think having an appeals process is a good idea.

One thing that stuck with me from Joe Rogan's podcast with Jack Dorsey was the idea of kicking a ban decision over to a large set of random users (qualified in some way) to make a distributed decision. I think that's a great model if a super-majority was needed to initiate a mute or a ban and work that into an appeals process as well.

I think that jury of users would be one way to go...though how many and how it would be put forth would be a huge influence. I think random users might actually be more strict than those in power in many cases though.

I'm not as radical as many on here. I am not necessarily against a platform having it's own rules. I don't like them just coming out of nowhere with them. No one knew this was going to happen. This sets a dangerous precedent. What rules will they have in the future? Will they give a warning then? Or will it be another case of just deciding that someone went too far? It worries me.

I don't know if I should dump my PAL. I don't know if I should start removing my "stake". I think by the time I do know it might be too late.

"...they're private corporations..."

Yeah, no.

Nero, the Roman Emperor, became powerful by owning a private fire company. His people would set estates on fire, and refuse to put out the fires unless paid, or put out the fires and seize the estates if the owners didn't pay up. This is the source of the aphorism "Nero fiddled while Rome burned."

InQTel started the big tech companies, and that's the investment arm of the CIA, infamous for creating fake private companies. I have zero confidence any of the big tech companies are actually not government.

WARNING: IF YOU REPLY TO THIS ACCOUNT YOU WILL BE FLAGGED, YOUR REP HARMED AND ALL OF YOUR REWARDS REMOVED. DO NOT ENGAGE WITH THE TRASH. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED