A New Fire Extinguisher Option

in #communitylast year (edited)

Hi again !

Each year at Christmas I buy my brothers and sisters and spouses a token Christmas gift together. I try to do something a little different each year. Before covid, sometimes it was a gift card to a restaurant I knew they both loved. After covid started, it still includes a gift card for food, but usually something drive-thru to make sure it can be enjoyed without going in if they choose.

I try to put some other tangible item with the drive-thru cards. It can be anything from a homemade pinecone/peanut butter/birdseed feeder to another fun or useful doodad.

This year I accidentally came across a type of home fire extinguisher that I didn't know existed. It is just a simple spray can ! No pin to pull or large squeezy handle. I was enamored with the idea and it's simplicity.

Below is the existing extinguisher I already had in the house on the left and the new spray can on the right.

old and new exting.jpg

The classic one has a meter that you are supposed to check now and then to make sure it is still holding it's charge. They can somehow loose that charge over a period of time without being used it seems. Shame on me, but I had to google it to see how often you are supposed to check the meters and found that you are supposed to check them monthly ! Who knew? I certainly never checked mine that often.

old extinquisher meter.jpg

The older type is heavier and has a pin that you need to pull out before using it. It normally keeps you from accidently squeezing the handle before you mean too. In taking these photos I realized that this tag that gives you the fast instructions, is attached through the handle and pin. I had never taken it off, so if I had needed it, I not only would have needed to pull the pin, but cut off the tag first ! LOL... good grief, I had not noticed that before, so of course since I already know to pull the pin, I cut the tag off after I took this photo.

pull pin.jpg

That is one thing you don't need to do on this new spray can type extingisher and even though it is a good sized can, it is definitely lighter weight. I decided one of these would be a good thing to give to my siblings and spouses along with the drive-thru gift cards.

spray extinguisher.jpg

Here you can see close up that it has a regular spray can top. Hopefully you would never have to use it, but if you did, you would just flip off the clear cap and push down the sprayer.

spray top button closeup.jpg

Of course you remove the clear seal wrap that is on the can as soon as you get it so that it will be as ready as possible if needed. The thought also crossed my mind that it would be much simpler for children to use for those families that have children in their homes.

The cans do have expiration dates of about 5 years. I did see on a review though that one man said that in 2021 they used one that expired in 2016 and it still worked perfectly. I thought that was a pretty good testimony for them. They are considered a one-time use item.

spray can msg remove seal.jpg

It's funny how sometimes when I see something I have never seen before, I think it is new to everyone. Before Christmas and without telling my sister I was buying one of these for everyone, I asked her in a messenger if she had ever heard of such a thing. She said she had only heard of them recently and had ordered one to give to our Mom for Christmas as an "add on" to her main gift. My sister said one of her grown sons keeps one of these by the stove (in a cabinet of course) all the time. She then said she thought it was something she might would like to have. Shhhhhhhh.... I didn't tell her she had one coming and was hoping she might not buy herself one before Christmas.

After I gave them out, I found my brother was familiar with them and had exchanged the extinguishers in their home to this type some time before. Part of his job where he works is being a safety engineer, so he is up on all the latest in the industries on things like this. I told them if they already had too many to feel free to pass it on to someone they knew that didn't have one. He said he didn't think you could have too many. He is nice like that.

I also gave one to my Aunt & Uncle next door. When I went over, they were gone, so I left it for them and later when she called to thank me, she said she loved it. She said they had a couple of extinguishers, but they were very heavy and so stayed out in the garage ! She also said she thought she'd steal the idea for her own family as they were always looking for gift ideas that would be useful. It made me feel good

Anyway, just thought I would share. These may be very common in some places and we could be the last to know, but just in case YOU didn't know, you might be interested in this option.

Hope you are all doing well and that you NEVER have a reason to use a fire extinguisher in your home. 😊

Luv ya !

Jacey

Sort:  

Cool idea. I only have the old big ones. Just dont grab it instead of cooking spray. I know you posted your dad was a fireman. I am sure he would approve :)

As you can see the classic type I already had is not so huge as some I use to see, but was a good size that could still fit under the kitchen sink or somewhere the like.

Funny! certainly don't want to cook with it ....LOL.... Maybe don't keep it where other spray cans are kept.... or stick something weird to the top of the cap so you never grab the wrong one.

Yes.... you remember right, Dad was in the fire service. I also think he would approve.

Ooo, those cans look handy for the house. I might get a couple!

I thought they were quite a handy idea too. I ordered a couple for myself while I was getting them for gifts.

Aye they defo are!

I had to deploy one in my house one time! A person that was being transferred to Turkey gave me a box of whatever was in her utility closet. I put it on my washing machine and went outside to chat with a neighbor.

A day later, I had a fire from whatever was in the box. What??? Spontaneous combustion! WTH? Combustible materials self-heat to a temperature high enough for ignition to occur. It did. It is a story for a post, but, needless to say, I would never, never use one of those again. It took me forever to clean the mess.

Well, I would, but, I honestly don't want to!!

I do love these foamy cans. Cleaner and easier! Great post!

OMGoodness ! That's terrible AND scary ! Still, I'm glad you had something handy to put it out.

"They" do say the spray cans are an easier clean up. When it's a true threat of course, clean up is about the last thing on your mind.

People picture home fires more in the kitchen than anywhere else, but there are so many other possibilities. With all the electrical things we have these days and the such, you just never know. For cooks, small kitchen fires, usually on the stove were never a lot of problem, just throw a pot lid over to smother or sprinkle some baking soda across a grease fire also smothers it and puts it right out.

It is always best to be prepared though, especially when it comes to fire. Things can get out of hand fast in just the wrong situation.

Thanks for stopping over !