A Post That Is Not About A Puppy

in #communitylast year (edited)

kona.jpg

Happy Sunday !

I woke up an hour earlier than I meant too when my weekday secondary alarm when off. I turned it off and snuggled back in. Luckily, I drifted back to sleep, just like I was hoping.

An hour later when the alarm I meant to set went off, I snoozed it a couple of times, just because I could. I was all warm and cozy and there was no reason I had to be in a hurry to jump out of bed. Then for a few minutes I lay there mulling over what I might do today, the things that I really should be doing and the things I might just like to do instead. One of the things I should be working on is packing up my Christmas stuff.... yeah... that's right. It is not spread all over the house anymore and no trees are still up, but most of it I carried back near the holiday storage closet and it is in a pile there. It needs to go back in it's boxes and the fun puzzle of figuring out how to fit it all back in the closet nicely needs to be done.

For a moment, I pictured myself throwing it all into black trash bags and throwing it out. I even picture the beloved glass ornaments crushed to smithereens, never to be dealt with again. That could be done SO fast, but alas, you and me both know that was just one of those comical bubble thoughts that is never going to happen.

With that thought vanishing from my head, I rolled out of bed.

Gotta luv mornings like this... right?

Oh... and the puppy? That is my younger sister's new puppy, her name is Kona. Isn't she adorable? She is half miniature Australian Shepherd and half standard size poodle. Who thought to mix the two?, I have no idea, maybe it was an accident, but, there it is. I just put her here because she's so cute and because I had no idea what photos to fit with my Sunday morning ramble.

I wasn't in the mood for coffee (what ??).... so I grabbed a can of Sunshine to get my morning started. It's nicely orange flavored (clementine) and has a little caffeine to boot.

20230402_090911(1).jpg

Sunday . ... the day that most of the times includes a trip to Mom's house with some sort of fun food that I pick up for us to have for lunch. On the rare occasion, I will cook something to take instead and once in a long while, she will have been inspired to cook something herself. However it goes, there is always good food and a good visit.

Today though, she was invited by my sister to one of her great grandson's birthday party, whose birthday was yesterday, so my Sunday is open, the whole day just for me and however I choose to spend it.

I have a mental dilemma about it though that was rolling around in my head, a tiny family injustice in my opinion, for what two cents that is never worth to anyone but me. 😀.... I thought maybe I could put it behind me if I just wrote it down and if I am going to write it.... then why not here? I mean, who else am I going to tell??? LOL

Now the way I set that up makes it sound like a LOT more of something than it is. No one else is giving it a second thought, unless it is my brother and he is so mature, he would never let it be known if the thought crossed his mind. This injustice though is to him.

My brother's 64th birthday was Friday. On a normal basis, the nearest weekend to mine or my siblings birthday, Mom will ask us what kind of birthday meal we want and then she and the rest of us put that meal together, usually as a Sunday lunch. If it is your birthday meal, of course you don't do any of the work, you just show up, have a good birthday meal that includes your favorite dessert (not always a cake, it can be whatever you want).... and a nice family birthday visit. So, today should have been the day we put together my brother's birthday meal. My Mom had even asked him what he wanted and he had put in his order.

THEN .... sometime after that, my sister invited her to the great grandson's party and my Mom somehow accepted. When she told me last week, I told her that I thought we were having my brother's party then, but she said that since the grandson's birthday party was the same day, my sister would not be able to come if we had my brother's party. .... ok..... well, to me, then unfortunately she would just have to miss this one. Now I'm not saying that sassily like it sounds. I love my sister and I don't love my brother more than her at all, it's just that, sometimes as your family grows and two things should be at the same time, you have to choose and you have to miss one. To me, this should have been one of those cases. The way I see it, from a step back, is that the great grandson's birthday party was given precedence over my brother's birthday party and to me that was not quite right.

Now I know we adults give over many times to things for the kids and I'm not saying we shouldn't be mature enough to do it most times, but now this has caused another dilemma. Next week is Easter weekend and we normally have lunch at Mom's then too. My Mom offered originally to my brother to have his birthday meal last night since she is going elsewhere today, but my brother already had something to do, so that didn't work out. Then somehow since we are getting together next weekend, it was suggested that we could just include my brother's birthday with Easter !

OK

So all week I'm thinking we are going to have the meal my brother requested for Easter, even though it is not a traditional Easter meal, which is truly totally fine. I'm thinking on what part of it I should offer to bring and all that.

Then yesterday I talk to Mom on the phone.

I find that now, on the backside my sister has suggested instead of Mom doing a lot of meal prep (which is a true thing that needs to happen)....that we have a covered dish meal where everyone just brings one dish and we throw it all together for a feast. In general, I'm not saying that is a bad idea for a meal at Mom's, however, my Mom has already asked my brother what birthday meal he wanted, he chose and.... where does that come in now? It is not my brother's fault that his birthday was bumped to Easter....LOL.... so now he doesn't get his requested birthday meal either ????

I know if you have read this far you could be thinking, well, he's a grown up and there will be plenty of food and a good visit and..... yeah, yeah, yeah, I know all that and there is some truth too it, but still, where is there a hint of celebration for his special day in all this now?

Family stuff sometimes gets to be a challenge as the family ages and grows, there is no doubt. Add to that my Mom being the matriarch of the family and the fact that she is becoming less able to think things through and can be manipulated (not intentionally) to see things the way of whoever is presenting it to her. I sort of don't understand why my sister, who invited her to the other party, didn't see this. I also understand she may have had to miss my brother's party and Mom couldn't go to the other party with her and all that, but look what a ripple effect it has caused. Now, there is no semblance of a focused celebration for my brother.

Although it is not a huge deal in the grand scheme of life, I just don't think this has gone as it should have. I also know, like I said above, it is just my opinion ... .for what 2 cents that is not worth.

We all need to be celebrated once in a while though, no matter how old we get.

So there you have it, my Hive vent! I wonder if I will really stop thinking about it now. LOL....

sigh

I hope you all have a happy day, wherever you are and whatever you choose to be doing.

Love you ! Mean it !

Jacey

Sort:  

Congratulations @jacey.boldart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 450 posts.
Your next target is to reach 500 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the April edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

That is a bizarre but incredibly cute looking mix of dogs in one!!

I thought so too !