An Old Flame

in #communitylast year (edited)

Happy Sunday !

Last night I was once again stuck in the fun files of family photos. We have so many over a few generations. I didn't mean to get stuck there, although I should never be surprised when I go in for a photo and come out hours later,

I was looking for some photos of when my siblings and I restored a vintage truck for my Dad. I didn't find those yet, but I found lots of others that took me traveling down memory lane.

I don't know how young I was when we had our first bonfire in our yard. We called it a Weenie Roast and it was usually in October. When I was a child, we would have to scour the local woods and fields for kindling and fallen branches in order to make it happen. When I was 20'ish, my folks moved to a house that has several acres of woods around it, so after that, there wasn't much hunting needed. After a while there, it became a habit all year to put brush and fallen limbs that needed to be cleaned up in a pile where an October gathering would be, so at first there was always a huge bonefire, that slowly burned down to a pile of glowing embers where we would roast weiners for hotdogs (with all the trimmings waiting of course).... and then we'd roast marshmallows afterwards to simply eat right off the stick or to make s'mores with. I always liked mine nicely toasted on the outside, to just eat right off the stick... well... after a minute or two when the inside of the marshmallow was no longer the temperature of molten lava. Oh yum yum !

DSC_0404.JPG

Along my photo hunting journey I came across these photos of one of those fires. Fires are so fascinating (when they aren't burning your house down or the such). I'm guessing it's a primal somethingorother.... but for whatever reason, they are fun to start and watch and play in a little.

DSC_0405.JPG

I thought they'd be fun to share so I pulled them out on my desktop file so that I could get to them easily for a post.

DSC_0410.JPG

Such a wonderful pile of warm embers, perfect for cooking whatever you can put on a stick....and to keep warm by on a brisk October evening.

DSC_0408.JPG

Coffee !... I love coffee. I didn't use to love coffee. I only started drinking it around the age of 41'ish. I didn't mean for it to become a daily habit, I just slowly got drawn in when all the different flavors started popping up. Vanilla coffee was the tempter that drew me in. All these years later I have tried many flavors and eventually started drinking some nearly daily.

I usually keep about three kinds going around here. Variety... spice of life.... and all that you know. One time years back I tried Starbucks Veranda because it was called a "Blonde Roast" and was not supposed to be as harsh as the Starbucks signature blend. I am not an avid Starbucks fan, although I certainly have been there now and then through the years, mostly with a friend or out of town family member where we would meet for a leisurely visit over coffee and maybe even shared some vanilla bean scones or a piece of lemon pound cake. When I saw and tried the Veranda though, it was just a bag of ground coffee from the grocery store shelf. I liked it and bought it for the rotation for a while, but eventually it faded away, replaced by some unknown NEXT coffee that I found and liked.

I was putting in my online grocery order to be delivered yesterday. I decided to check out what types of coffee they carried. I came across the Veranda that I hadn't had in a few years and decided to grab a bag. Hasn't coffee gotten expensive !! I had looked in other places for some that I have currently kept here the last few years and couldn't believe how much they had gone up recently for bags that were less than a pound....maybe 12 ounces. JEEZ-LAweez ! Now, at this moment in my life, I have the money to buy what I want on this type of level, but that doesn't mean prices don't still matter. I thought this was not a totally bad deal though comparedly at $12.48 for 18 ounces. I was a bit surprised that for the Starbucks brand, it was still cheaper per ounce now than the other ones I've been using. Go figure !! Anyway I decided to get some to add to the rotation here and just made the first pot this morning.

veranda coffee.jpg

Yesterday after it got here I was surprised to see that it was described as "Notes of toasted malt and Milk Chocolate". I won't swear on it, but I don't think what I was drinking before by the same name had anything about chocolate included in it. Am I remembering right? I don't know ! It was ok though, because I do love me some mocha coffee. I was very happy on my first sip a while ago, nice firm coffee flavor with mocha hints in the background. I like it that way. I never want mocha/chocolate coffee to taste like hot chocolate first with barely a coffee flavor background.

I might just keep it around for another while.

viranda close up.jpg

Although it is half past noon now, I am still sipping some of this while I am making this post. I didn't get up early and I didn't start the coffee early either.

I'm not going out to Mom's today. I wasn't sure if I was because my trick knee has been fussy all week and using my walking stick for balance assurance for a few days has now caused my neck to hurt if I stop taking the Advils... .LOL... getting old is fun ! ...and quite a challenge at times. I had not decided if I was going to get out today or not, but Mom called last night and had been invited to a musical performance that includes one of my cousins who is a pianist and teaches musical performance and stage presentation at the local college and one of my past SIL's sisters who is a professional singer, so she won't be there this afternoon. Because of that, I no longer had to make up my own mind ! Gotta love that !

Ok... I know you"re dying for some more of my drivel, but this will be all for now. I don't want you overdosing on some Jacey this morning.

🤣

Remember now, I love ya !

Jacey

Sort:  

Drivel. Sweet, I didn't even have to ask. 12:30 you said, does that mean you put this together in three hours?

Hello. Oh, and I call it FieBucks.

I dunno what time I started it !

Riebucks 😄

Hey !

Yes, variety is the spice of life! But when it comes to coffee.. I am a coffee, cream and sugar gal, hehehe!
!LADY 😍🌺🤙

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jacey.boldart and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (5/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

When I first drank the flavors, they were always well sweetened. When I started drinking regular coffee at home and work, I wanted to put just a hint of sugar and I liked it that way, but twice I quit because I didn't want to drink something daily that had sugar in it. Each time I started back drinking my coffee black and the last time I did, I have never put sugar in it again. I have bought a liquid creamer now and then, maybe once a year. My fav is the amaretto flavor. I haven't done that in a long time though. If I want that flavor, I just put in some real amaretto... just a dash of course. :)

I will have to try that Starbucks stuff if they sell it here. I like the sound of Toasted malt and Milk Chocolate. Yo uhave reminded me, I must get uploading some of my pics from yesteryear to keep them safe!

I know I have told it before on some post, but one year my older brother took Mom's photo albums and my grandmother's album and scanned ALL the photos from them. He was an avid photo taker himself and had taken many photos of our family gatherings through the years. He did share discs with his siblings and Mom when he originally scanned the albums. When he passed, his son put all the photos he could find from my brother's computer and multiple external hard drives (my brother saved them in about 3 places "just in case")... onto separate hard drives and gave us each one the next Christmas. It has been amazingly fun to have computer access to all of those photos and the good thing is that if one of us loses ours somehow, there are multiple other copies that can be copied again.

Of course you would know, as my Mom is currently trying to go through a bunch of her house-load of stuff to clean out, sort, throw out and give away things, She has found another box or two of family photos that did not get in on the original scanning. I was hoping my younger brother would say that HE would take on scanning those in as well, but so far he hasn't. I will probably be hooking my scanner back up soon and I will probably offer to do it. What a pain in the rumpus ! ... but it needs to be done.

I know everyone likes different tastes in their coffees or teas, but to me this Veranda is pretty good. It doesn't hurt that as a bonus, these light roast coffees have more caffeine that the dark roasts. Gotta luv that !

It is a pain in the chuffter but it's awesome having them online or at least safe from harm. I have all of my past twenty years or so on a bloody external hard drive and I keep meaning to upload them to a cloud service. Just so that is something happens they will be there.

So I'm glad you reminded me, in doing it right now!

Happy to be of accidental help ! 😊

Having a bonfire is always magical time!

Cant go wrong when Starbucks is the cheaper option!

I want to vote this post but it is too old. I will vote your comment tho...

Bonfire's really ARE magical !

Now there is something I never thought I would see, when anything Starbucks was the cheaper option. My other coffees weren't real fancy, but their pricing has skyrocketed like so many other things.

No worries about a vote. Good Lawd ! with all you've got going on these days, it's a wonder you have time to come here at all.

As always though, I appreciate you stopping over. :)

I am so very behind on everything! Sorry!

Starbucks is cheaper than regular coffee? Since when??? Heheh I never check the price of coffee, at least not for comparing one against the other. Mostly because FiveBucks has always been more expensive. :) I aqm thinking I might have to start. Everything is going crazy in the prices.

Drivel? Never! It is real life.

I remember bonfires much the same, but we did have a couple a season. We must have had lots of sticks~ The hotdogs were the best outdoors, weren't they? Marshmallows were always done on the end of a long twig, sometimes, mine would try to start a fire. My dad always rescued it. I feel like I had the best childhood - ever. Warm memories to look back on.

Thanks for that this morning. 💚 Happy St. Patrick's Day!

Happy St. Pats !

Believe it or not the Starbuck's ground, bagged coffee at that moment was cheaper than what I had been buying, well, cheaper per ounce. Maybe it was a sale or something and I didn't notice.

Fires are fun, as long as you give them the proper respect. Oh.... if we only new when we were kids how to savor those moments. I need a do-over !

No sorries needed. I haven't even posted in over a week...LOL... I don't have much to talk about it seems.

Oh ! and thanks for the tip !

I am lucky to post once a week anymore. Seems everything in life wants a priority. It must be something in the water. People may comment now and again, but, seems like posting is less and less from the people I know, including myself.

I bought the Starbucks this week and am happy to report, it was cheaper than my usual. What?

I hope life is treating you well! Enjoy the rest of your week!

!PIZZA