Blame It On the Moon....

in #community2 years ago

Last night, after dark, I had not turned on the lights in my living room and when I went in there, I thought, "wow.... it sure is light outside, wonder where it could be coming from?"

I then went to the kitchen and when I looked out the window over the sink, my house was casting a shadow into my back yard ! What ?

I went out on the front porch and there across the sky above the pasture was the brightest, roundest, crispest full moon hanging in the sky like a giant headlight on high beem.

I took this photo and of course it was nowhere close to what my eyes were seeing. My phone camera is not good with bright moons, but I seemed compelled to take a photo or two of it anyway.

moon.jpg

It was pretty amazing to see and as I turned to go back in the house, I saw that there were also moon shadows on the porch as the moonbeams shown through the front porch rail. Of course it was MUCH brighter than my photo can show, but for real, it was so neat !

The whole time I was looking out the windows and from the front porch, the Cat Stevens song Moonshadow was singing it's way across my mind. Last night, if you had chosen to go leaping and hopping outside, your moonshadow would have been leaping and hopping with you.

moon shadow.jpg

No matter that my phone camera is insufficient for such photos, it seems I have still taken them over and over.

Above the sand dunes on the Outer Banks of North Carolina....

moon over dune.jpg

... and over the ocean at night...

moon over ocean.jpg

...across the street when the moon was shy and only showing a piece of itself.

moon 4.jpg

....and another night when it was being hugged by some clouds.

moon 3.jpg

.....other times, the moon is simply in a painting......

20210221_114733_HDR(1).jpg

Did you know that the moon affects our sleep? If you don't sleep well, maybe you should have a chat with the moon and see how you two can get on more agreeable terms.

It's Saturday night ! The day has been pleasant as I have done some chores around the house that needed to be done, while stopping frequently to do other things I simply just wanted to do.

I hope you are all having a wonderful day or night.... whichever it is where you are.

Love you !

Jacey

Sort:  

The moon is a bugger to get a good photo of!! I have had dinner experiences where I wonder why it is so bright and what is casting a shadow on my garden only to see a hugely bright moon doing the job!!

My phone takes decent photos in the daylight, for a phone, but it simply can't capture the night properly. I've seen some moon photos others have taken that were perfectly focused. It would be nice to have a camera that can do better, but of course I'm not buying a better on just for a moon photo.....

Don't tell the moon !

That will be the next marketing thing for mobiles, the ability to take perfect moonshots... It might like in crypto investors too 🤣🤣

If they could send me the link to install it in my current phone, I will greatly appreciate that.

I like to dream big !

Moon shadows are magical. It always feels so healthy to stand in them.

I'm sure all that ailed me before, was beamed out of my body as I stood in the moonlight last night. I'm just sure of it.