Sticks And Boxes....

in #community2 years ago (edited)

I don't collect sticks and boxes, but I like sticks and wood and artsy things.... among many other kinds of artsy things.

I can't collect every type of thing I am fond of, simply because I would have nowhere to put them and if you collect artsy things, they should be out where you can see and enjoy them, right ?

1.jpg

A long time back I saw someone show a photo and although they were not featuring them, they had a carved little box or two among other things on a table. I loved them and thought I needed a couple of those too !

I was attracted by the sun on this one and the warm gold-brown color of the wood.

20220312_115912.jpg

I bought both of my boxes off of ebay. They are not hard to find and most are relatively inexpensive. This one has a little bit of carving on all 4 sides and just a note about the hinged side, if you are holding the box while opening it and your finger is across the back edge where the top and bottom meet, it will pinch the fire out of your finger and make you say fun stuff !

20220312_094207.jpg

A view of one end.

20220312_094200.jpg

This one is lined on the bottom and I keep my Carolyn Pollack rings in it, which all of these are with the exception of the 2nd from the right that looks like big turquoise. That one is a faker ! ....but still looks good on. I normally only wear rings on my middle fingers and sometimes my thumbs. Weird... right ?

20220306_103718.jpg

This one is a little smaller and is pretty generic, but sweet.

20220312_115926.jpg

It is not lined and I don't have anything in it at this time. I didn't really buy them for storage, but I mean, they are boxes, why not put something in them? Maybe later.

20220306_103835.jpg

Now for my sticks ! Two of them are walking sticks and one is a cane.

20220312_093609.jpg

The center one above I bought very cheap at a local department store named Rose's. It use to be quite a good store before Walmarts and Kmarts came to the area. Now, it is more like a Dollar General atmosphere, but department store sized, with clothes and many other items. I think I paid $7.98 for it, but that was at least 7 years ago, so don't hold me to that. It has a hole with a leather or vinyl tie going through to put over your hand, so when you are out trekking, you can't drop it on the ground if you lose your grip somehow. I wasn't sure if I would ever use it when I bought it, but I liked it and it looks neat leaning in a corner. 😃

20220312_120256.jpg

The next one is a handmade cane. I bought it used at the local Hospice Thrift store. I loved it as soon as I saw it with it's two toned wood and smooth surface and grabbed it right up without hesitation.

20220312_130640.jpg

I wondered who made it and what kind of wood it was. I don't have the answer to either.

cane top.jpg

I would love to know what kind of tree this came though. As you can see, it has two totally different colors of wood in the same limb/branch and it is not pressed or separately formed. Although it has it's share of scratches and dings (some of which I caused).... it is very hard and solid. When I bought it, I didn't really buy it to use as I needed no such thing at the time, but August 2020, I hurt my knee and for a while it came in VERY handy ! If anyone that reads this knows why kind of wood it is, I would love to know.

20220312_120131.jpg

Last, but certainly not least, is my Tramp Art Walking Stick that I also bought off of ebay. Tramp Art... don't you love that term? That is what they called it. I have had it several years now too. It is hand carved and the thing that made me HAVE to have it was how they had inserted marbles into two sections of the handle without piecing the stick together from separate sections.

marble stick 1.jpg

Cool... right ?

marble stick.jpg

I let the daylight from the window shine through so you could see better. I was about to say I let the sunlight show through it, but it has been cloudy and windy all day here so far (YUCK!!)..... but still, just the natural light worked pretty well.

marble stick 5.jpg

.... and one more. It also mostly just leans around the house here and there, making me happy when my eyes cross it and of course now and then I have to pick it up and admire it's marbley funness close up again for a few minutes. This really is a true piece of art. tramp art... .folk art... tramp folk art.....

marble stick 6.jpg

Like I said in the beginning, I don't collect sticks and boxes, but that doesn't mean if I saw another that I really liked I wouldn't buy it.

I used a B&W filter just for the fun of it. Like always, it accents the designs and on this one, also the pineapple design from the blue lab blanket that the boxes and sticks were on.

black and white.jpg

It's 3:00 pm now. I begin to think on doing this post about 10 am. Since then I have taken photos I thought I would use, went net surfing on artsy things about numerous items, eaten a thing or two.... and in general stayed totally lost in the net although I assured myself this would be posted before noon, after all, it is NOT the only thing I need to do today. I then decided I didn't like most my photos and did some again and again... and just one more. Arrrgghhh..... I couldn't get out of it all. Finally though, I am done with it (I think !).... and I hope you liked my sticks and boxes.

I also hope you are all doing well and that your hearts are happy.

Love you !

Jacey

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks a lot ! 💛

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Tramp Art is a new term for me. Luckily I have access to the internet and could look up what it means.

This almost sounds the upcycling in the lingo of today. The marbles within your walking stick are a very inventive idea. Do they move at all or are they stationary?

The light must catch these if you're out and about strutting your stuff.

These walking sticks look so nice and smooth, they must be a pleasure to use or even simply gaze it.

The Tramp Art term was new to me I thought when I first saw the marble stick online. If I had ever heard it before it was long ago and I had no idea what it was referring too.

The marbles are mostly stationary. Some of them will spin round if you try to twirl them, but they are pretty snug. It looks like to me that some of the clear finish that sealed the wood surface is on some of them.

I haven't really used it outside, so I don't know how much the marbles would pick up the light.

They are pretty neat, or I thought so.

Thanks for stopping over !

They are all beautiful, @jacey.boldart!
I research the type of wood... nothing!!!
So when you find out, do not forget to tell me.

Thank you !

I've looked around the net a little bit a few times, but haven't found anything I thought was right either. Maybe one day !

I voted this comment as the post was a day too old.

Oh thanks !

There's always a way... right ?

That is pretty good having one collectable ( the wood box) hold your other collectable (rings) lol!! Kind of double dipping on the hobby as it were!

I didn't think about it like that !