THE BLESSINGS OF STEEMIT CONTINUE TO FLOW

in #community7 years ago

The potential of this community is incredible!


Not only do many of now know people all of the world, some of us have also been stopping by! I got to hang out with @xtrodinarypilot (& family) and @jed78 the last time I went to Texas, and @vcelier even came all the down to visit with his grandson @narucelier. It sounds like some people will even be participating in a STEEM B&B as we move forward.

A while ago I mentioned how cool the #homesteading community was getting around here. Not only have a bunch of homesteaders in my general area been joining, but worldwide the numbers are growing as well. I'm still periodically sending out garden seeds, and recently, I even struck up a plant swap with another homesteading steemian!

THE GREAT ELDERBERRY SWAP VIDEO

BACKGROUND STORY

I had came upon a post from @flemingfarm about harvesting elderberries. We already have tons of elderberry plants, but his variety was very different. The ones around here are a deep, dark purple color, while the ones that @flemingfarm had were a cool light blue color.

@papa-pepper elderberries

@flemingfarm elderberries


Photo Source Fleming Family Farm Post

After reaching out to @flemingfarm about a potential swap, we were both very excited. Though it was only 9 days ago that @flemingfarm made that post, now we both have cutting from each other potted at our own homes!

In case you missed either of the recent posts from @flemingfarm on this swap, here they are:

BONUS: GENEROSITY

So, the actual deal was a straight swap, elderberry cuttings for elderberry cuttings. However, people don't aways play by the rules. When I opened my package, something else was inside it!

Mongolian Giant Sunflower seeds! Now this was a cool surprise! I had just seen a post about how Mr. Fleming won GRAND CHAMPION at the Spokane County Interstate Fair with his 170" tall sunflower! When I saw the post, I thought, "How cool would it be to get some of those?" Now I know, it's very cool!


Photo Source Fleming Family Farm Post

Interestingly enough, the day that I mailed my cuttings to @flemingfarm was the day that I received mine. My package was already on its way when I opened the one from @flemingfarm, so I had no clue about the bonus seeds. However, I did something too!

I had taken a small handful of my Chinese Red Noodle Bean seeds to send as an added bonus. @Flemingfarm had grown some of these in the past, and was planning on planting some in the spring, but only had a few seeds left. How cool is that?

FREE, FUN, & BUILDING RELATIONSHIPS IN THE COMMUNITY

So, whether it is steemit as a whole community or those with specific interests like #homesteading, we have a lot of potential. From gifts, swaps, and sales, a lot of goods can be exchanged within our community. I've been so blessed to both give and receive during my time here, and I am still trying to get caught up on some shirts that I've been shipping.

Whatever your comfort level of interaction is, I'd recommend that you maximize it while you're here on steemit. Read, comment, and enjoy, because a lot of interesting, talented, and even generous people are all over the place in our community.

I'll keep you posted on how my cuttings do, but so far so good!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-elderberry-cuttings-from-fleming-family-farm



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Great wild fruits

I was a little distracted, when I watched the video, by the spider on your hat.

Really? I hope it wasn't the lost Black Widow from the other video!

Looks like some sort of Arrowhead Spider, but good looking out!

I love this place. I already have a couple of shirts that a couple of members designed besides my own designs, but I have gotten on decal and speaking of @xtrodinarypilot he just sent me another smaller decal that is on the way (post to come when it arrives and I figure out where I am sticking it) Plus another member sent a laptop computer to me with the original box and paperwork so my daughter could have because my granddaughter pour kool-aid all over hers and she couldn't work because of it, as she earns money using the internet too, But because she had just paid all her bills she didn't have the money to replace it. I was floored that someone I just meet a few weeks ago would do something like that. She said she was paying it forward because someone gifted her a better laptop. Yes I came for the rewards at first but I have stayed because of the community and the people. To me the internet is pretty much crazy, but steemit is that gathering place for those who are sane and care about people in general weather they are personally known or not. And that gives me hope for humanity. Looking forward to seeing your updated posts when these plants are grown.

Earning money with internet is always a good idea. Thanks for this!!! I hope you have a wonderful day! 😀 😃 😄 😁

@papapepper have you considered setting up a seed / cutting exchange? I have many things I would LOVE to barter / swap, but very few people see my posts. You could get something HUGE going. Just a thought!

I think so, but I'm not completely sure how. Within specific countries, the impact could be huge. I'll think on it some more and consider what we can do.

If you need help with behind the scenes stuff, let me know. I am pretty passionate about "guerrilla gardening."

Right now I have milkweed and red bud seeds I could send! Next year I'll be harvesting more seeds to share...food should be free.

My opinion on sending boxes to friends. If there is still room in the box, something can go in there.

Gift economy works! And people really feel good being a part of it.

The only problem with it is that it doesn't make any money for the tax man. Govern-cement wants to destroy happiness.

If there is still room in the box, something can go in there.

Excellent mentality!

Once steemian understands steemit, the post get better and more genuine.

keep on steemit @papa-pepper

If I had anything to swap I would. Your fruit looks delicious. Thank for sharing

Cool, thanks for that!

do you have mangosteen?

No. Probably need a greenhouse to grow it here.

great and good working my friend💖

That's pretty awesome. I don't have much luck with cuttings but I know yours will do very well. Keep us posted on your progress when they are growing. I love seeing fields of sunflowers growing they can get pretty big and it's great that you have some from some great winners.

I love the look of a field of sunflowers too, like a bunch of shower-heads bent over. Can't wait to get growing.

haha I never thought of them that way but I can see how they look like that too.

The greatest investment anyone can have...steemit

I want to eat it.. but I can only be happy to see the picture... :-(

I had no clue about homesteading until I started reading your posts. I am a rastafarian, so being self sufficient is part of that, but you take it to another level. Your karma is also dope to see. #salute Friend.

I used to know a few rastas in New Orleans. I've had about 5 sets of dread in my life, with the longest being 7 years, so I'd get a lot of questions in my days. Glad to hear that you like the posts man.

I never knew what elderberries were but I see them by the river often. Do you eat those like other berries? Or do they have another purpose?

They are incredible for the immune system, but parts of the plant can be poisonous. Many also recommend NOT eating them raw, but cooked instead.

I guess this kind of interaction is a prime example of the homesteading mentality...
It is the interest to do things our way, share what we can and help eachother out...
I recently found out that I am an urban homesteader and that it does not really depend on having acres of land but on having the mindset...

although I really would not mind having a plot of land to get my hands dirty I do what I can on my small balcony and in my kitchen

you can read up on my city homesteading here if you are interested:
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@felander/are-you-city-apartment-urban-homesteader-i-think-i-am

the interest to do things our way, share what we can and help eachother out...

Very good point! Also, I think that you are an urban homesteader, GREAT POST! (and thanks for the mention)

well, i would say (and I guess that most will agree) is that you are a prime example of the modern homesteader, combining blockchain and technologie with "going of grid" and you are a form of inspiration for a lot of us here on steemit in one way or another... so thank you

All this plant dont do well in Tropical Africa Nigeria where i am, however Pops pepper, you made me follow the Fleming Farm, sending you those sun Flower seed is outta this world and thank God you sent some Beans too...

But the Bond and fellowship makes me dumb, i could never imagine such Honest people meeting each other...

It is a very blessed thing to be a part of. Glad to hear that you are now following them.

And thanks to my first 10 Steem gifts back in March- The wildcard magic😊....Bless you and bless all the lil peppers and Mama Pepper

LOL - You still remember.

Absolutely Yes Pops Peppers😎

How exciting! Posts like this are fun. Nothing like seeing someone else enjoying something so fundamental (not sure if that's the right word). While this is in our future plans, we can only watch from the sidelines for now. Thank you for sharing.

I wish i had a place to do some growing of my own, living in a 2 room appartment right now.
Have a nice day!!

I like it , keep up 😊

That's awesome! Seed swapping and its capacity to help save seed varieties is the future!

So, the actual deal was a straight swap, elderberry cuttings for elderberry cuttings. However, people don't aways play by the rules. When I opened my package, something else was inside it!

Both of you guys put extra gifts inside, so both of you are equally guilty for not playing by the rules. LOL

LOL - Yeah, me too!

Wow beautyful thanks for shar i pholo you

I love this! Now I need to find someone that is willing to swap plants for some of my duck eggs and rabbits :) Thanks for sharing!

This is the best version of "pen-pals" I can think of, damn! Plant pals?? I love it.

I followed the elderberry swap with interest. I have an elderberry tree in my Florida back yard - probably a different variety yet again?

Great story.

hello @papa-pepper, once again wonderful article shared with us which is, about gardening, in detail you describe homestead.
yes you are right saying about steem it. your suggestions and plans are worth and guideline for juniors. i personally much impressed from your writing skills. keep it up.

I had @xtrodinarypilot on THE INTERVIEW in my last episode.

Cool! I'll check it out!

I really love seeing this! It shows what type of community we have and are continuing to grow here and it's truly inspiring. One of your first videos that I watched was another video where you opened mail from other Steemians. Through that video and my interest in the Steemit decal you received, I began talking to @raybrockman and found #steemsilvergold. For that, I must say thank you and just want to illustrate the long reaching effects a p ost can have in this community.

@papa-pepper, What do you do with your elderberries? We tried making jelly from our harvest, but it was a LOT of work compared to peaches o(or apples or grapes). We were using a special comb to harvest them but figured out there must be some trick to it. I dig up the plants and gave them away to make room for cherry trees which we've had more luck with. Thanks (as always) for publishing great content. Cheers, @rebele93

We like to make sure to have some around for health reasons, but tinctures and juice are always welcome!

The best way I have found to remove the stems is to freeze the bunches whole. Once frozen the berries pop right off the stems by jostling and shaking the bag or container. Makes is super easy and not nearly as messy as fresh berries.

Hey, @papa-pepper! Steemit is indeed an exciting community. The more you participate the more your experience grows. I am still learning here and I am grateful for all the helpful tips and hints people are willing to share.

You are right, the more me invest the greater the return on that investment is. It's not just posts or trying to get STEEM, it's interacting with people, real people!

Such a great idea @papa-pepper ! I cant wait until I get moved to the country and join in ! Lots of different stuff I really want to plant !Upped and resteemed! 🌱🌿🌾🌞🌱🍀

You've got some great Canadian homesteaders up there, so you'll be in good company!

That's great !👍👍👍

Seriously, you are an inspiration man! Fantastic Post! Enjoy the seeds!

Awe, thanks for that!

As a kid, I had access to a very large Elderberry bush that my brother was kind enough to share. I was devastated when someone destroyed it.

Oh no! That would be terrible.

I was heartbroken, thank you for taking the time to respond.

Can you grow a new one where you are now?

I didn't even think of that, I just relocated, I bet I could. That's a great idea, and here I was only thinking of how nice it would be to have a tomato plant or two next season. I was thinking too small. How many years would that take?

I have harvested limited numbers of berries off 2 to 3 year old plants (~1 - 2 pounds). Usually after 4 or 5 years they can be producing a fair quantity. Depends on the variety and location/environment they are in though as some will probably produce at different rates.

Thank you for taking the time to reply. I was guessing about five years. It's nice to know that 2 to 3- year-old plants can produce.

Love to see you doing good brother ! <3

People's generosity is what makes the world go around. This is awesome and best of luck to you both on your new adventures!

I really love to see what you have to say. Thanks for info

It was just a cool story about the steemit community connecting people with similar interests who can now bless each other!

Yet to someone that is a sort of a loner and homesteader beginner your an insperation. I had the land and a plan. Life gave me a beautiful pause yet my plant and trees are all still growing while in pause.

I really like your post, I will wait for your next post, because this post is very good

Cool, glad to hear it. The next post just went up!

Great to see you encouraging the community @papa-pepper, I come from a farming background, and love being in nature and growing things, especially herbs. I currently live in a small village in Thailand, where the ladies are out selling their produce every morning, and there smiles as they do what comes naturally are amazing. I think everyone should shift back to small villages and grow there own food. They would be a lot happier. ))

That sounds like a pleasant existence indeed!

Yes, its so simple with the internet, I can live anywhere and earn an income and have the environment I chose.. Its a bit like homesteading, living in nature and not actually having to be tied to ownership. But still have natures gifts..

This is really amazing! It shows you two are generous and kind to have sent bonus with the main package!
Thanks for the emphasis on friendship! Steemit is the new home for many of us.

It has become a great home for many of us! Thanks @smyle!

Y'all are like the unnamed mystery fella in Jack and the Beanstalk who gives Jack the magic beans. He's the true, unsung hero of that story, with his great generosity in trading legit magic beans for a non-magical cow. I hope he treated old Bessie well.

trading legit magic beans for a non-magical cow

You are right, that guy was where it's at! We should all be like him. Who wants to be a Jack or a giant anyways?

It would also be good to be the harp or the chicken. They're the workers in this scenario, providing real value to the world! (Though admittedly, gold eggs don't taste very good - at least they make good conductors!)

This is a pretty cool story. I really enjoy how community focused your posts are @papa-pepper. You did the right thing by replacing those stump grinder teeth, and a special gift in prize winning sunflower seeds comes back at ya around the corner. It's cool how steemit connected you guys, and now you'll both have plants that will remind you of this community as you watch them grow.

That's right! I think eventually I'll have a completely steem-powered homestead!

Wow nice wildfruits its my first time seeing them, great article again @papa-pepper if you like to visit my article too feel free https://steemit.com/homesteading/@julstamban/you-won-t-believe-the-benefits-you-ll-get-from-rice-hulls-husks-or-homesteading

I have followed you and will check your posts when I am able. Be careful promoting your posts like that, as many do not appreciate it.

Fruitful Dividends
sun divider.png
Seed exchange is where it's at!

Gotta love sharing, planting, and then eating! Thanks @otage!

I've done the same thing with folks I have met on a homesteading page on Facebook. We've become great friends and share when we can. Nothing is sweeter than sharing. It makes me feel good, I mean a deep down joy. Plus everyone wins!

Everyone does win! It's so much fun and so rewarding!

There are so many different plants and berries around, which makes life so interesting. I have a flea market not far from the house and many people go there and sell from all over the world. I love to find those gems that are great and can actually grow here in Florida. What is the biggest surprise you have received that was from another part of the world, but grows great where you live?

I'm just about to make a batch of elderberry syrup for the winter cold/flu season - I have to make do with dried elderberries for now, but this would definitely be a plant to cultivate down the line. That's a valuable one to have on hand, all right.

The swapping is great fun! It'll be great for you to grow some gigantic sunflowers next summer - the kids will probably have fun with those too when it comes to harvesting the seeds (unless you feed them all to the chickens...)

One of the things I'm noticing about the Steemit community is that if you can find a niche of people interested in the same things you are, it's a much closer-knit bunch than you usually find on social media. I really enjoy the interaction and the amount that's available to learn.

What a beautiful and inspiring story thank you so much for sharing. I joined the Steemit community last month and OMG sometimes it's just overwhelming how many great people and content is here to discover.
It's so addictive and I run out of time every day hahaha .

Once again an inspiring post. I have not been here for a few days and it looks like you have been busy @papa-pepper. So many post to read and so little time. LOL. It's all work here right now. Our fall sale is next week and we are almost ready. After that it's all steemit for us. Thanks for your work in building a wonderful community here.

I finally got around to answering your question. Post link here.

There are 2 pages
Pages