Sort:  

Yeah, I hear you. The lower STEEM prices, while great for those who have some money to invest, are doing a number on our ability to leave any kind of upvote. At whatever point the prices go back up and get above two dollars, I think you'll see some kind of change in what you're able to do. Unfortunately, who knows when that might be, right? So, we continue on, and hopefully accumulate as much of the SP as we can in the meantime.

As it is, no one expects any major upvote out of redfishes (or for that matter, minnows), so upvoting posts and comments that are already near or above the dust threshold is a good strategy. It's just tough to make much of anything in curation at the lower levels, so commenting as much as possible, posting 2-5 a week (maybe more depending on the traction you're getting), and getting into as many contests as you feel comfortable with is about the best way to go, I think.

I think you hit the nail on the head. I noticed a large increase in everything when I increased my engagement, and I've gotten lucky in a couple of contests as well, of course I entered a lot of them (engagement). I would like to buy a bit more steem but my wife is not quite sold on the whole crypto market yet.

I hear you about your wife. Mine isn't particularly keen on all of this either because it's not a tangible paycheck. So, I feel your pain. Problem is, who knows what the market is going to do, and quite frustratingly, the fate of STEEM is tied in great part to the rest of the crypto market. So, while that can be a comfort when prices go down, it's a drag when it comes to getting back out of the bear run based solely on the merits of STEEM. One of these days, maybe. So far, not much has seemed to phase it, but hopefully if not the upcoming Hard Fork, maybe when SMTs actually come, they will provide some separation.

I hope the whole market picks back up. Part of my wife's issue is I've basically taken on some consulting for crypto, some of which is vested in a startup which I can't touch for 6 to 12 months. She's skeptical, to say the least, I hope this deal makes a believer out of her.