You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 35- Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest - Prize 112.497 SBD

in #contest6 years ago

I can dedicate myself to doing something for a long period of time, as long as I don't hit a 'goal' persay. Like losing weight, I can stick to it for months, but as soon as I hit my goal, I can't stick with the diet/fitness routine anymore. At all. Or if I want to write a book or chart something every day for 6 months or whatever, I'm great until the SECOND I reach my goals, then I'm done and can't seem to stick to it ever again.

I wanted to do this just to force myself to write every day. The freewrites seem to give me really good jumping off points for longer stories and that is what I've been wanting to do. I want to write longer stories and publish ebooks, so I thought this challenge might at least force me into the habit of thinking about creative writing every day. It has been doing wonders, but I'm kind of feeling distracted by it at this point. I keep wanting to go off and do other types of writing, but we've come this far, I don't want to quit!

BTW, an old boyfriend told me a similar thing with the '27 days' in that if you said something x amount of times your brain would believe it. He wanted me to say "I love you" to him that many days in a row to prove that it didn't work, because he thought it would.

Sort:  

Ha. I think my comment is longer than my freewrite.

Eeesh... that "I love you anecdote." Oof. I'm sorry to hear that. :/

I actually feel what you're saying about the jumping off point. For days 1-20ish of this I was like a writing machine. I was writing so many cool little short stories that people were enjoying and I didn't even realize before this that I was capable of writing fiction! But I think I'm starting to tap out now that it's feeling like a chore, and that creativity I had at first is starting to wear down. I really want to keep going so I can show myself I can complete it. I just don't know if we're too far away from the end that I could really consider this the "home stretch."

Right? I hear you and keep wondering if I should just move on with my other writing projects. I just think "But I've put all of this time in already!"