Day 35- Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest - Prize 112.497 SBD

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

steem size (11).png

Day 35

party white.png

The Contest prize is growing every day!!!

We are grateful to our contest sponsors. The prize is now 112.497 SBD!!!!!

Thank you so much @kaerpediem for your generous donation!!!!

Please you all, make sure to visit our sponsors ever so often and give them some love!!

party white.png

Eliminated players

All here.

party white.png

Some Fun Selfies from Yesterday

So many of your selfies were great!!! This is a random pic and yours will also be here someday 🤩

See if you recognize each other's faces.

20180617_110716.jpg

Jun 17 2018 9_18 AM.gif

IMG_20180617_183949.jpg

annefrank.jpg

IMG_20180617_001747.jpg

34-selfie.png
See if you can list all the names 😊

party white.png

If you haven't checked the Daily Prompt yet...

Prompt: mold

party white.png

Remember you have 24 hours to drop your selfie with you freewrite link into the comment section.

Looking forward to seeing all your beautiful faces - or masks - every day 🤪

Your selfie + freewrite must be posted by 8 AM Pacific Time on 6/18/2018

I know that many of you are in timezones where that might be a different date already. Use a time converter to make sure that you enter on time.

If you are late - you are eliminated. No exceptions.

This contest is for Registered Players Only. Registration is Closed.

But there are many fun activities at the Freewrite House - check them out!

party white.png

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  
Loading...

Guys, I don’t know how much longer I can do this… so close, yet so far away.

Super high effort selfie right here. Yay.

Photo on 6-17-18 at 1.42 PM #2.jpg

———
We’re all (basically) made from the same mold. “Carbon-based life forms” is what you hear in sci-fi movies, I guess. But, you know—skin, bones, blood, muscle, whatever else. I’m a materialist at heart, and I can’t say I see much of a difference in what makes us keep going every day, though some of us choose to stop at some point. It’s sad, I know.

I was going to go somewhere with that, but I don’t have much to say, really. This competition is starting to drive me a little crazy. It’s a fundamental flaw in me as a human being; I have a hard time committing to anything for very long. Well, it’s not so much a commitment problem. It’s more of an attention problem. I get SUPER into whatever I’m doing, and then the amount of energy I can put in starts to wane. I found this site and it was a good thing to fixate on. Comment more! Do more! Enter more contests! You can make a few cents here and there. It’s so addictive; the allure of getting something for nothing. Well, rather, something for something you have always thought was worth nothing. But the idea of getting nothing for so much something is a great deterrent to quitting something like, 35 days into it.

Someone told me yesterday that it’s “scientifically proven” that if you do something every day for 27 days, that it becomes a habit. This was in the context of getting in the good habit of working out. I’ve worked out for 27 days straight before on more than one occasion, and I’ve done this for 35 and the habit seems to be wearing off, and I can’t say I’ve worked out at any point over the last week either. Am I the only one who is starting to wear out? I know there are a couple of people in here who have written a freewrite a day every day for like a year at this point, so I’m assuming this is no biggie to you, and please accept my most sincere praises that you’re so dedicated.

Sorry to be so cranky today; it’s misdirected frustration, and I apologize sincerely to this comment box and anyone who has reading it if my negativity has infused your day in any way.

I have such a commitment issue when it comes to doing stuff to. Even things I don't Have to do, if it becomes routine I struggle. Years ago when I first moved to SD I started to a Monday night Drunk Poets society at this local bar, and it was just to get myself out to read for my first time. Literally a 5 minute walk and and hour and half of having drinks and reading poetry and by the third week I started to feel like a chore haha. To go and drink and read poetry hahah. So I totally get it. i'm surprised I made it this far in this, but I've been so depressed that i just have this as like my one thing to do as a very simple, can't fail because its not being judged outside of the doing, maybe 25 minutes tops plus some extra reading, mini solid lifeboat in my weird wobbly day to day lol. And yeah some days my brain has nothing cool to say, like its just blank , which is a weird feeling for me too. And don't worry, your bad attitude didnt rub off on me ;)

Aw, I'm sorry to hear you're going through so much, and I'm here to talk if you need a sympathetic ear (as cliched as that sounds). I figured based on what you've been writing that it's been a hard time for you. I actually have an easier time doing stuff like this when I'm depressed too, as counter-intuitive as that sounds. I can dedicate myself to a project because it helps drown out the noise and makes me feel like, maybe I feel awful inside, but at least I have tangible accomplishments. It's generally unsustainable though. :/

Yeah, it isn't sustainable, something has to change. It's been a very long few years, lots of crap, so need to shake it off. I'm on my way to Bali today for a month to cry in the temples and write for a video game project, and my bf will be moving out while I'm gone. I can already feel a huge weight . I don't think its cliche to offer to chat to someone you empathize with, and i may take you up on it, It's always nice to know. And Same with @freewritehouse... If I wasn't leaving I might take you up on chicken therapy lol

Hugs to you. Do you want some chicken therapy? I have cute little baby chicks to watch :)

I can dedicate myself to doing something for a long period of time, as long as I don't hit a 'goal' persay. Like losing weight, I can stick to it for months, but as soon as I hit my goal, I can't stick with the diet/fitness routine anymore. At all. Or if I want to write a book or chart something every day for 6 months or whatever, I'm great until the SECOND I reach my goals, then I'm done and can't seem to stick to it ever again.

I wanted to do this just to force myself to write every day. The freewrites seem to give me really good jumping off points for longer stories and that is what I've been wanting to do. I want to write longer stories and publish ebooks, so I thought this challenge might at least force me into the habit of thinking about creative writing every day. It has been doing wonders, but I'm kind of feeling distracted by it at this point. I keep wanting to go off and do other types of writing, but we've come this far, I don't want to quit!

BTW, an old boyfriend told me a similar thing with the '27 days' in that if you said something x amount of times your brain would believe it. He wanted me to say "I love you" to him that many days in a row to prove that it didn't work, because he thought it would.

Ha. I think my comment is longer than my freewrite.

Eeesh... that "I love you anecdote." Oof. I'm sorry to hear that. :/

I actually feel what you're saying about the jumping off point. For days 1-20ish of this I was like a writing machine. I was writing so many cool little short stories that people were enjoying and I didn't even realize before this that I was capable of writing fiction! But I think I'm starting to tap out now that it's feeling like a chore, and that creativity I had at first is starting to wear down. I really want to keep going so I can show myself I can complete it. I just don't know if we're too far away from the end that I could really consider this the "home stretch."

Right? I hear you and keep wondering if I should just move on with my other writing projects. I just think "But I've put all of this time in already!"

Believe it or not - I can relate. Personally, I go in spurts. I get deep into something and become a mini-expert. Then, I go on to the next thing. Often, I come back to something but hate the routine and upkeep.
I am actually surprised that I have done the daily prompt for that long. But if I wouldn't start something new around it - like the freewrite house or this contest, I think I would give up. Anyways, I put the 50-day limit because there is no way in the world that I wanted to administer this thing for longer than that 🤪
I think a lot of creative people are that way..... Just saying :)

I think you're right. Most of the creative people I know have those "mini-expert" spurts and get to 90% completion on the projects they start, and then really struggle to get to 100%.

Yeah, you really locked yourself into this one, huh? :) I have a much easier time sticking with something if there are other people depending on me. I'm sure I would have a much easier time getting to day 50 here if someone else was relying on me to do it.

One day at a time...

Yep, me too. To such an extreme that my poor husband just tries to keep up. He is always unfailingly supportive, but he'll really start to get into something and then I'm just, "Oh, yeah. I don't want to do that anymore!" (Like he learned all about set building, lighting and computer stuff for the theater I did, the plays I wrote and directed, even joined the local community theater board of directors... That was one of my longest lasting things, I did that for almost 8 plays, but the last two I knew I shouldn't have done and thus the whole experience was so awful that I don't even want to ATTEND anything at a theater anymore! I find that I have to listen to myself on these things and I'm not good at that because I don't want to 'just quit'. :/

I'm also not very good at balance!

You can do this!!! We are almost there... 💕💖 💓 💗

I know... it's just... like, two more weeks. Two weeks is a long time...

@malloryblythe In a blink of eye.. two weeks will be gone ❤️

OK. What is it with Americans and the letter U? What have you got against it? Mold is a town in North Wales. Mould is the stuff you get on bread or on walls... ;)

Actually I proposed to my wife in a pub in Mold on our first New Years Eve together (took another 12 years before we got married!)

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@felt.buzz/actually-it-s-a-bit-weird-and-unbelievable-a-five-minute-freewrite-big-bird-37

We Americans spell it mold. Mould, means an object for shaping, die casting things. :p

I know! Mould is spelt Mould in English English (both meanings spelt the same)

lol yup. So confusing for kids learning to spell. :)

Same here - it is accepted to be spelled either way for both 😄

You have no idea how confusing all of this is to me! I was bad in English before I came to the US - but all the English I learned was British English. My husband says that I speak English with a German/British accent LOL
And forget about spelling...

How cool that you proposed to your wife in Mold. the wondrous places a prompt can take us!!

My wife lived in Hope (it is a village!) not far from Mold

That is great!!! I think living in Hope gives you a better chance in life ❤️. 😂

A moldy proposal. Hmmm. Is that why it took 12 years? 😉😂

Just ignore me, I'm being weird today.

😅😅😅

Hahaha I love it.

wow, thats just dayummm awesome .... and no mouth open ... the finger really works with this! hehe

A VERY brief recap of our experience with black mold and losing our home: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@byn/when-life-gives-you-lemons-make-lemonade-when-life-gives-you-black-mold-get-the-hell-out

My selfie is me holding the photo album pages from when we lived on the bus (after we lost everything else in the moldy house) Other than the photo albums that our parents had, these are the first photos we now have of our kids/family, because we lost all of the other things we had to black mold.

*If this selfie doesn't count, please let me know. I'm assuming that the point of the selfie is to prove that we're doing a different prompt/photo each day that goes along with the contest.
day-35-selfie.png

Also, may I say that I have NEVER taken so many photos of myself and it has actaully been a positive experience for me. So much so that I'm thinking about writing a post about the whole thing. It's weird. I've avoided photos of myself like the plague for most of my life. And yet these photos of unkempt, just me being me, are not bothering me in the least. Hell, in this photo I'm in my bed head/slept like a rock on NyQuil in my bun without fixing it in the morning and I STILL like it.

Anyway, my anti-depressant is apparently working, because although I still have no energy physically, I'm talking nonstop and feeling at least emotionally ready to DO ALL THE THINGS!

oh noooo that is the worst and i just wanna cry about losinng a homme to mold.

It's all okay. All's well that ends well. <3 Thank you though.

@byn very true! past is the past.

YAY. all still here. Those selfies are @brisby @felt.buzz @elizacheng @improv @ashley2u and @eroticabian :) soon we will reach day 50.

Yayyyyyyyy , I'm so happy !!!

I was thinking about the fungi Mold for my freewrite but also want to incorporate the mold where it gives shape to thing. So I tried to add both into freewrite.

IMG_20180618_104336.jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@iamjadeline/mold-or-a-newborn-s-cast-5-minute-freewrite

We had the same idea!

Submitting my Day 35 freewrite!!! Yay!!! We are all going STRONG! 15 days left to go. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@elizacheng/freewrite-day-35-selfie-freewrite-celebration-contest-mold

Wow I admire your bathroom. Mine is quite moldy especially the ceiling where the above bathroom leaks.

Sad to hear :|
But yeah, it's definitely not that much of a problem with you, as it is with the leaking bathroom upstairs from you. Until that's fixed, I guess there's not much you can do.
But thanks! :3

Loading...

there's that note again hehehee

Nope nope I won't. Haha.

Different Starbucks napkin than before. I swear. haha

@tristancarax muahaha thats friggen Classic!! much love, eagle

It takes a lot to create something new each and every day.

@tristancarax it seriously does and i thought i responded to this one already? are we repeating?? hehe

I only see this comment under the one I left so maybe, but it doesn't look like it to me.

I'm the worst at keeping fresh food in our fridge. I have a need to store and keep all of our leftovers so that I'm not wrongly throwing food away and then wasting it. But mostly, the poor leftovers are just ignored and then of course, get moldy. The most difficult part are the poor containers I store them in. I feel bad for misusing them, so I can't throw them away even if they're only a dollar from the Dollar Tree...it's the principle! So then they sit, out of commission, for days being soaked in baking soda.

I thought living in a tiny home with a tiny fridge would help. And I guess it has...I mean, I can only mold up one or two containers at a time now! 😜

no more chickens? Give them the leftovers instead of storing them :)

It's so funny you would say this! I just gave the chickens the rest of the salad...I was so excited I thought of them! Haha

Here is my freewrite in mold, I promise there is no black mold included.
CYMERA_20180617_194818.jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wandrnrose7/the-genetic-blend-day-35-selfie-freewite-celebration

This is a short freewrite because my brain kept freezing while I was writing it. I guess I was thinking too much about gross mold even though that is really not what I wanted to write about. I felt like I was writing about some merman or something that was a bit mildewy after all his time at sea.

They broke the mold when they made you
That lean physique all lean sinew
The sweat that glistens on your dark tan skin
You’re so at home in that body you’re in.
That body, that hair, that bright blue eyed stare
The way that you have so much to share
And when you turn your attention to me
You give me your all, you let me see
The real you that you hide when others are here
You don’t let them in, but you keep me near.
I love that you share your entire soul with me
Your heart and your love for eternity
The way that we fit, makes me not want to roam
You make me feel like I’m always at home.
In your arms, by your side, doesn’t matter where
My love and my home is when you are there.

And here is a "mold" of my boobs for my selfie!
35-selfie-mold.png

Loading...