You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 35- Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest - Prize 112.497 SBD

in #contest6 years ago

Believe it or not - I can relate. Personally, I go in spurts. I get deep into something and become a mini-expert. Then, I go on to the next thing. Often, I come back to something but hate the routine and upkeep.
I am actually surprised that I have done the daily prompt for that long. But if I wouldn't start something new around it - like the freewrite house or this contest, I think I would give up. Anyways, I put the 50-day limit because there is no way in the world that I wanted to administer this thing for longer than that 🤪
I think a lot of creative people are that way..... Just saying :)

Sort:  

I think you're right. Most of the creative people I know have those "mini-expert" spurts and get to 90% completion on the projects they start, and then really struggle to get to 100%.

Yeah, you really locked yourself into this one, huh? :) I have a much easier time sticking with something if there are other people depending on me. I'm sure I would have a much easier time getting to day 50 here if someone else was relying on me to do it.

One day at a time...

Yep, me too. To such an extreme that my poor husband just tries to keep up. He is always unfailingly supportive, but he'll really start to get into something and then I'm just, "Oh, yeah. I don't want to do that anymore!" (Like he learned all about set building, lighting and computer stuff for the theater I did, the plays I wrote and directed, even joined the local community theater board of directors... That was one of my longest lasting things, I did that for almost 8 plays, but the last two I knew I shouldn't have done and thus the whole experience was so awful that I don't even want to ATTEND anything at a theater anymore! I find that I have to listen to myself on these things and I'm not good at that because I don't want to 'just quit'. :/

I'm also not very good at balance!