@Marblely Thursday Favourites - Favourite Subject in School

in #contest5 years ago

image

I liked a lot of subjects in school. In primary I took part in a one off programming class where you instructed a turtle to make various shapes which I adored.

In high school I enjoyed the design and techology class and the cooking class regardless of the fact that I have absolutely no talent in either of these areas. I think they passed me out of sheer pity.

I poured my focus and energy into Chemistry and English and fell more in love with Chemistry than English.

I've always been an avid reader and in high school that made English a natural choice because it was mainly learning the different ways people can express themselves through the written word and projects where you tell the rest of the class what you liked and why about books that were interesting. I also found short story writing fairly easy.

Writing a short story under exam conditions is an entirely different experience and it did kill off some of my love for the field. I also experienced my first severe writers block on a year long project to write a short novel.

It's strange because with science the pressure and the cramming just helped me to learn more interesting things, there would be this feeling of when the exam is over I want to learn more about how that works or where this can be taken, however with writing the pressure and trying to pin down ways to quickly produce a story that met the criteria just sapped all the joy from the subject.

In the end that transition in favourite subjects has shaped who I have become as I went on to do science and then pharmacy at university rather than become an editor or novelist.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

TeamAustralia Slim Banner

SB_new.png

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing with us :)
Oh wow, you got to do this in primary?

programming class where you instructed a turtle to make various shapes

That is so cool! Which programming language was that?

I agree with you. Writing short stories in exam conditions does kill the joy of the subject and the pressure and cramming of science, on the other hand makes you want to learn more :) For me, I learnt physics through imagination and experience of facts, e.g. the Newton laws and how they can relate to real life which makes things so much easier to understand.

May I ask, what is the photo showing? The buildings look really cute :)

<<< what she said ... hehehe

It's a minature Tudor village in one of the botanic gardens in Melbourne.

I don't know the name of the program but you were a little green turtle and you put in instructions to make spirals and squares and other shapes. The instructions were 16R turn 90 16R rpt 4

In the end that transition in favourite subjects has shaped who I have become as I went on to do science and then pharmacy at university rather than become an editor or novelist.

Thats a great journey and without All those steps you wouldnt be who you are now today. Lifes route is not what can be predict.
Have a great saturday
Gr.
Britt

I guess your favorite subject will really play a big role on choosing what career you want. Thanks for sharing!

Life takes interesting turns. Thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you.

This post received an upvote with x2.5bid.
Follow @haccolong to get randomly free upvote every day.
Thanks for using the service and your waiting @team-ccc !