The Old Dog Presents: The That Wood Has Character Contest!

in #contest4 years ago

When we age and the wrinkles form instead of saying that we look old we often instead hear that our face now has character!

The same is true with wood. It might be weathered and cracked but it can still look great, full of character!

Here Let me Show You!

Screenshot 20200417 at 07.00.29.png

I just love the look of this old weathered wood. To me it's art!

Screenshot 20200417 at 07.03.19.png
This wood isn't old and decaying. It's simply got character!

Now It's Your Turn! Here Are The Rules:

● Show me a photo of some wood that has character

● Post your photos in the comment section below

● The photo must be yours NOT one that you find on the internet.

● Maximum of 2 entries per person

● If you make a post promoting the contest I'll try and give it an upvote as well

● There will be at least 5 prizes of 2 Hive each!

● The contest closes in 7 days

If you like contests and would like to see more of them here on the Hive Blockchain please consider upvoting my posts. Contests help our community so spread the word!

Until next time,

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

20200417_091820.jpg

This is a picture of my deck outside. It really makes me question my behavior of walking on it in bare feet. I may need to stop doing that lol.

Super cool and really captured as art. You get it!

Yes please be careful in bare feet!

The That Wood Has Character - Contest Entry - A Visual Story (15 Photos)


An entry to this week's contest by @kus-knee

An evening walk at amazing forest of Curonian Spit, Lithuania. Very special forest and endless possibilities to get interesting shots. This time was just was shooting down with a vertical point of view. And at certain point and adding some fantasy those pieces of wood are not Flora anymore, but more like Fauna :D

Post production and color grading in LR only

Enjoy the closer look!



2020_04_07_388832.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@axeman/the-that-wood-has-character-contest-entry-a-visual-story-15-photos

Thanks for joining us!

I like to go explore the old railroad in my hometown and study all the unique whorls and grain patterns of the wood. There's lots of history and memory in this wood — think of all the sights and sounds that have passed by and been forgotten... (Photos are taken with iPhone 8+)

IMG_2157.jpeg

IMG_3707 2.jpeg

Thanks for this great opportunity.

I'd love to post a wooden game called "Ayò ọlọ́pọ́n" in Yoruba Language. An ethic in Nigeria, Africa.

This game was made for me by my grandfather, he's a carpenter and he got the small balls in the wooden board from his farm....

Here is the image below:
***I took the pictures with my phone, Redmi8.
IMG_20200417_134434.jpg

IMG_20200417_134540.jpg

Thanks once again for the opportunity given me to share part of our cultural engagement with the galleries.

Very cool! Would you believe that I had one of these games in Canada when i was a kid? It was about 1967 and my brother brought it back from Antigua which is in the Caribbean.

Waooo... For real?🤗🤗

It's quite an interesting game, which I love to play all day with my grandparents and siblings 😁

we have one, too. and some great pebbles go with it - one of the fave games of my growing baby when she was 5-6 yo.

Waooo... This is really lovely... I actually thought this game can only be found in Africa. Don't even knows it goes viral.

@kus-knee thanks for this nice contest

My entry: https://peakd.com/hive-146620/@libertycrypto27/questo-legno-ha-carattere-eng-ita


8fhkmn.jpg


L2x6rl.jpg


there are more photos in my post

Quite something!

This is from a post I wrote a couple of weeks ago. I hope you like it :)

IMG_6288.jpg

Simply superb!

Hi everyone, old wood in our rooms ... https://peakd.com/hive-122136/@adinapoli/cassetti-di-legno fondocassetto.jpg
mobile parteprima .jpg

Lots of character!

Hi there! This is my first time participating in your contests... I think. 🤔 Here's my entry!

Look at the Mouth of this Ghost Tree

Links: Busy / eSteem / PeakD / Hive Blog
Tribes: CreativeCoin / PalNet

Amazing......and scary!

Thanks for the nice entry!

Entry No - 1

A old aging tree log i saw by this swamp in a park i was taking a walk in aging beautifully with character 😊

a1x882.jpg

xp8p69.jpg

I love this old wooden pathway i saw while walking through a park it reminded me of a railway line in the Walt Disney cartoon movies leading into the magical forest 😊

Entry No - 2.

0atnx7.jpg

ye3uds.jpg

Your fish food face fantasy has been successfully transferred here!

Haha...lol 😆

My entry

IMG_20190417_081203346.jpg

I never new there were so many nice pieces of weathered wood around - some very nice photos shared!!

Here is my post: Aquarium Decoration
20200418-091252.jpg

I like it!

Great thanks!

Hello this is my entry, my publication not only has wood! It has a history, I hope you like it!

IMG_1580.JPG

![IMG_1579.JPG]

()

Source

I do! Your hope has been fulfilled!

Here is my Entry.

PC292015.jpg

That's a great shot!

There's wood working and then there's wood for working ; )

_DSC8773.jpeg

Blocks at the marina shipyard. These have seen a lot of boats over the years.

Lots of history there!

Yes! I have no idea how old they are but they are old old old haha :)

tddi54.jpg

this is my entry. check my separate post for more pics (it deserves more angles of view):
https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@qwerrie/tree-with-elephant-disease-plus-more-stories


this is an ordinary tree that grows in our yard. but it decided (a long ago!) it wants not to grow in a usual way (and I am not sure to state if this is dendro-disease or not). I'd rather assume, it is a whim, an excess.
it clearly envies to the baobab, and wants to grow in wide, to turn into a kind of barrel; here weep on it all these "bumps"

Very weird looking tree!

Taken from the window of abandoned house.
IMG20200417142124.jpg

IMG20200417142119.jpg

Great,thanks for joining us here!

My entry #posh
In the wood character contest this time, I will display a photo of old wood, ... https://peakd.com/hive-122136/@dwiazzahra/the-wood-character-contest
20200418_18295701.jpeg

Thanks for entering!

🤗🙂
Hello..!!
@kus-knee
My entry for: Wood Has Character
PB8ro82ZpZP2DJYqWdv8SjVQiQasiEcGctw3Jrh4b5JpqYUgTm3bMaAAjvxJv3ScLMzPxSoS8QKrTJDYw57LW51dYwTC8hz7YbP4k5mtF2JjH3En.jpeg

https://peakd.com/hive-148441/@annephilbrick/wood-art

That's a beauty!

🤗
Thank You..!!!
@kus-knee
Old wood is so cool an interesting..!
😊🙂

That would have been great form the Roorart contest!

Missed that one... but will try to be more on the lookout from now on! 😉

My entry contest wood character

20200418_18320501.jpeg
20200418_18321501.jpeg

Lots of character here!

Very interesting. I like the splash of color!

This is the wooden pole of aceh traditional house, this wood is hundreds of years old.
20200418_18301001.jpeg
20200418_21103001.jpeg
I hope you like it.

Interesting, thanks!

It seems like eye of crocodile!

Could be!

Hi, on our walks today in Cambridge we saw this tree stump in a churchyard and this fallen tree in Milton Country Park 🌳

115A1A9491AD43ECAB2C20E28FC49B95.jpeg

B8D53F734B6A47FE8CCFA8D077526932.jpeg

Thanks 🙏🏽

Thanks for the enTrees!

these are super!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

My first entry to your contest will be with photo from Namibia. Area is called Dead Vlei and it is desert area. Words desert and tree don't go along very well unless, that tree has a character, so he fights the battle and still lives!

p 33.jpeg

Great, thanks!

Looks good!

Nice idea for a post and contest, I do have a nice piece of wood that I plan to use in a new fish-tank I am planning to set up. Will have to make a post about it!!

I look forward to seeing it!

This my entry
The That Wood Has Character Contest
20200417_16460701.jpeg
20200417_16460001.jpeg

Very cool!

Here's my entry. Both photo clicks captured from backyard of our house.

IMG_20200417_163119.jpg

IMG_20200417_163014.jpg

Great, thanks!