A Dash of Sult N Papper 08/01/20> CONTEST : It’s on Now!!! $100 HIVE in Prizes

in #contest4 years ago (edited)

image.png

Here is the...

Here is the straight and skinny; tell us about your favorite “Family Tradition”.

Post your entry on your home page and drop a link back here in the comments of this announcement Dash to enter.

One entry per registered HIVE account only. Contest deadline for entries in 10:00 PM Texas time on 08/08/2020.

The prize breakdown looks like this:
 1st Place / 50 HIVE
 2nd Place / 30 HIVE
 3rd Place / 10 HIVE

There will also be two 5 HIVE prizes as well.

One of them will be for the “Best Appearing” post. By best appearing I mean the visual appearance of the post with formatting, pictures, subtitles, captions and such. Think: eye catching appeal that would draw a reader to stop and read it.

The other 5 HIVE prize I haven’t quite figured out yet so I’ll just call it the “Mystery Prize” for now because it is honestly a mystery to me what it will be given for. I just know that every time I do one of these contests I always think of something I would have wanted to add and this will allow me to do it.

Those two 5 HIVE...

Those two 5 HIVE prizes are independent of the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place prizes. Meaning an entry could win more than one prize. In fact, a really damn good entry could win three prizes in total.

This is a...

This is a writing contest for lack of better term. I encourage you to accent your entry with photos or even a video but chances are I won’t even look at the video. So tell your story about the family tradition in the text of your entry.

As always, I....

As always, I don’t have a lot of rules and hoops you need to jump through to enter.

Up voting isn’t required and neither is re-blogging this announcement, both would be greatly appreciated but not required.

I think that about covers it as far as the contest goes; if I forgot anything I reserve the right to change things but not very likely. I always throw that in there but I don’t believe I’ve ever had to do that. Good luck!

Now, I have...

Now, I have some other business to attend too. Like the weekly Saturday Hive Giveaway.

I just finished winning the 20 HIVE Friday night poker tournament, it only paid two places. So I’m going to give the 3rd, 4th. and 5th place finishers one HIVE each in this week’s giveaway.

@chops316 , @sevendst19 , and ( excuse me for a minute while I go see who finished 5th) ah… it was @coinbelly . That makes quick work of this week’s Saturday Hive Giveaway.

Now it's back...

Now it’s back to the drawing board for me. Not exactly a drawing board but it is drawing. I got two commercial projects in yesterday that need irrigation designs done for them so I need to crank those out this weekend on the computer.
Enjoy the weekend.

Until next time,
Sult

Photo credits: Sult N Papper

Sort:  

Morning Sult! I won't be entering this contest but wish all the contestants the best of luck. I have too many things on my plate at the moment. Things are heating up here, again. They are targeting churches now. The cathedral in Managua was fire bombed last night. Time to gather my chicks and batten down the hatches...

Oh dear Ceci, you are a strong lady, I don't know how you manage to keep your spirits up with all the atrocities there! Please take care xxx

Thank you @lizelle. From what I understand, things aren't that great where you live either. The way I see it, we have two choices: either we stay as strong as we can and soldier through or we curl up and let them get the better of us. I have no intention of letting them get the better of me, so I sodier on...

That's the spirit @cecicastor! We have to make the best with what we have at our disposal not so! Take care my friend:)

The way things are right now I can understand that you have your hands full. Good luck with gathering the flock.
If I need a tie breaker in deciding on judging I may call on you. Take care and thanks for all the support.

Prayers to you and your famiky @cecicastor

Thank you, @dswigle. All prayers and thoughts are most welcome.

Stay safe there lovely lady, keeping you and your fabulous family in our prayers. :D

God bless you all. :D

Hello @sultnpapper how incredible your initiative is, "venezuela present" counts on my participation ... and if it was a great tournament that took place yesterday on our beloved poker platform. I appreciate all the players who make life there. and your gesture of rewarding the finalists is admirable brother!.
Greetings and a big hug, see you at the tables.

Well thanks for stopping by today @yazp and I look forward to you sharing a family tradition with us in support of the contest.
We really do have a great group of people playing poker; very competitive group but everyone seems to get along real well. More people on HIVE need to check out and sign up to play https://brosinopoker.com The $100 HIVE tournament should be a good one today.

Each Saturday I give away some HIVE in my Dash. Usually it is only three folks at $1.00 a piece and I select them for various reasons. Being pressed for time when I wrote the Dash I was fresh off the poker game and since only two of us cashed in that game I figured I would just make it easy on me for picking this weeks winners by rewarding the 3rd, 4th, and 5th.
I think this is the first time I recall you commenting on one of my posts, so thanks for taking the time to read and comment. Very much appreciated.
Thanks for the hug, and see you at the tables as well. Good luck !
Sult

This contest looks very interesting and putting in front the family union in the harvest of productive activities. a way to show union values, because family is in many ways even friendships, let's do something good!

I hope you decide to enter, the more the better is how I see it @rafaelgreen . Thanks for dropping by and the support.

That's right I think it's a very valuable subject, I already left my entrance, and I put a world on it. I hope you all like it.

100 percent because Hank

I'm clueless to what "100 percent because Hank" means @enginewitty ? Could you fill the old Sult in just a bit?

Oh LOL! I gave you a 100% upvote because you have a sweet song I totally like in this post 😂

I am clueless, well maybe not , but was extremely tired and just didn't put two and two together at the moment. I'm was a big fan of SR and JR, so tired is my excuse and I'm sticking to it. Thanks for the support, you planning on entering the contest?
Sult

🥈 Your post was selected as #️2 this week on Post Up. Congratulations! You will receive a prize shortly. 💰

📌 Post Up - Thursdays 🕒 3PM & 🕚 11PM UTC

steemit odrau blue diamond line divider

You can listen and watch on mspwaves.com
To participate join the live chat in the PAL Discord

MSPHive-Waves-blinkie

Perfect Contest!!

I am already thinking :D

Well glad that you approve and will be entering I take it. Thanks for the support.
Very much appreciated!
Sult

I am sorry to disappoint you. I can not write a post. Every tradition is too painful to write about. I tried all week and I had nothing to write about. Tonight I figured out why all the traditions I grew up with did not spark a story in my heart.
HUGS

Well HUGS back to you @snook. I am so sorry. Never in my wildest imagination when thinking about this contest did I even consider this could put someone in a position like you found yourself with this contest.
I have another contest that was suggested to me and I would just about guarantee you'll not have that problem when that contest comes around.
Thanks and peace my friend,
Sult

It is okay!! I learned something from your whole contest. Something that I knew deep down but never really looked at it close to why I feel about some things as I do.

Are you left handed by any chance? Just really curios because I actually learned something from this contest too. Not just about the specific "traditions" but the people.

No, I am right-handed.

What a great initiative ! I'll have some fun writing this one 😊

I hope you do and I look forward to seeing it when you are done. Best of luck!
Sult

I love the idea of this contest, Sult. It's a little different from the contests we're used to seeing here at Hive, good thinking!

What a nice gesture to share your prize with the other players.

A big hug for you... See you at the tables!

Missypurple.

Thanks Missy. I like to try and do things a little differently and I hope you will consider entering.
Contests in my opinion should be easy to enter and with no strings attached for starters.
Thanks for the hug,
Sult

Post-Up-emoji-Discord-MSP-Waves

Than you for sharing your content with us on Post Up.

Thursdays on @mspwaves 3PM & 11PM UTC. Thanks for Posting Up!

Join us again next week.

Thank you for the invite and I appreciate you getting mine on, guess it was my lucky day all around. I will be coming back for sure.

I'm in! Although, as we are both Americans, I find other countries more exciting! :)

Upped and reposted

!tip

Thank you so much Sweetie, look forward to seeing your entry. You were raised in a military family if I remember correctly so there might be a family tradition coming from that aspect of the family? You don't have to answer that now, I'll just wait to read your entry like everyone else.
Thank You for all the encouragement and support!
Sult

I'm definitely in, looking forward to this topic! Thank you:)

I look forward to learning about other countries' traditions and SA is definitely one of those. I'd be really disappointed if the response is low because it seems to be a topic that is universal and people could write about it from first hand experience and knowledge, wouldn't require anyone to do any research at all unless they wanted to document the history of the tradition for longevity of it.
Thanks for all the support !
Sult

Well, you know I'm in. I'm thinking Monday, unless I decide I need a day this weekend. A day to do just the minimum to keep one of my neighbors from calling 911 to check on a body. :)

Thanks Sult. This ought to be fun.

I look forward to your entry Tom. I hope it is fun for everyone. Reading them, writing them and learning what is out there in other parts of the world seems to me would all be fun in their each way.
How many times did they come and not find a body while you were gone?

Ahahahaha. I told them I was going. The lady right next to me would miss Sam if he didn't come out once in a while, and the guy across the street and I look out for the whole block. He got the virus while I was gone. About 3 days after I left. 12 days in the hospital for an other wise healthy young man (40 something). He said it was awful, he was really sick. And his wife didn't get it, go figure.

You just never know about who will get and why when it comes to this virus. Our friend Pattie, who is battling stage IV cancer, had Corona virus back at the end January. She was having trouble breathing and just really run down.
Her doctor did chest x-rays and treated her like a potential pneumonia case. She fully recovered and it wasn't discovered until mid March when she went for some other tests relating to her cancer that she had gotten the Corona virus. I guess the antibodies showed up in blood test results in the March blood testing.
She is in Vegas right now gambling as we speak.
One would figure she would have ended up as "body count" given her weak state from the cancer stuff but that wasn't the case. Like I said , you just don't know.
Glad your friend recovered too.
Sult

Oh, no. Don't make me call in a Wellness check! I certainly will. Get those juices flowing and pen to paper. Take care.

Its been a long while but I will try to make it great idea

Glad to see you @brittandjosie and nice that you like the idea. I hope you do enter. When I do these contests I do them in hope of learning something new. I haven't a clue at what family traditions exist in other cultures and countries so I figured what better way to learn, right?
Did you hear that my girls have pet ducks now? We had four of them but one died just a week ago. They look like mallards but have blue tip wings. Pretty neat looking I think. 20200510-145507

Thanks for knocking me off of the bubble Sult.

No need to thank me Chops, bubbles aren't safe to begin with. Besides, better for me to have done it than Yazp. If I hadn't won I probably would have gone and found three newbies to give away HIVE to, at least two of the three selections are Kings.

🎁 Hi @sultnpapper! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Hi @sultnpapper! It took me longer than expected which I explain a little in my post then I had some trouble uploading along with another issue but ready or not..here it is! 🙂
https://hive.blog/gems/@deerjay/family-traditions-contest

Thank you for entering the contest, best of luck to you.
Sult

You are most welcome! 😊

Thanks to @bigtom13 !

Here's the link to my entry. Thanks for organizing this interesting memory trip.

https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@macchiata/family-tradition

Thank you for entering the contest, best of luck to you.
Sult

Well, sir. Here is my link. I'm pretty pleased with it. https://peakd.com/hive-114105/@bigtom13/family-traditions

Thank you for entering the contest, best of luck to you.
Sult

Thank you for entering the contest, best of luck to you.
Sult

Thank you for entering the contest, best of luck to you.
Sult

Thank you sir @sultnpapper

@isabelpena today is your lucky day. If you check your wallet you will find I transferred 9.00 HIVE to you. By clicking the follow button this morning on me that made you my 900th follower.
I have my own traditions on here and one of those is to reward the "hundreds" and "triple digit" followers with a token of appreciation.
Have a great day!
Sult

What a great surprise for me too, thank you @sultnpapper. I am very gratefully.

Hello my good friend, this is my entry:
https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@yazp/my-family-customs#
thanks for warning...
and happy birthday to your daughter, may God give her much health and happiness!

Oh ... uh that wasn't a warning... it was just citing an example. Believe me @yazp you weren't the only one who didn't enter officially ... and I hate for the readers to be missing out on reading all the entries.
Thanks for entering,
Sult

so i guess i'm not the only one distracted :)
My regards, brother!

Thank you for entering the contest, best of luck to you.
Sult

Thank you for entering the contest, best of luck to you.
Sult

Grateful, talking about a tradition made me travel in time and brought back very beautiful memories

not sure if this fits the contest but I figure why drop it in. thanks for supporting the community. https://hive.blog/news/@gregorypatrick/news-and-opinions-on-the-fbi-cover-up-of-child-trafficking-rings-and-some-political-philosophy-as-well

Well @gregorypatrick I don't think you took the time to read what the contest subject matter was about.

The contest was just share your favorite Family Tradition. Of course I could be wrong, unless you grew up in an FBI family or happen to be from a child trafficking ring family?
Then again it might be that you are from a family of philosophers and carrying on that tradition?

I'll take a look at it when I have time, but I'm going with my gut instinct and first impression from the title.

You are most welcome to retract this entry and submit another one because you heard about on the PAL pimp your post show and tried to support me as I recognize your name from the attendees.

I do an occasional contest every so often that are easy to enter and without many rules so feel free to keep an eye out for them. I do try to support the community and gladly accept your thanks. We are all in this together is the way I see it , and we each need to do our part to make it better and give back when we can.
Thanks,
Sult

No worries, really didn't have time to read the post fully. I didn't mean to bring down the spirit of the post and when i did read it I realized my post had nothing to do with what you were doing there, my bad.

Hi @sultnpapper Here is my link for the Family Traditions Contest. This is the first time I've entered one of your contests:

https://peakd.com/hive-148441/@justclickindiva/honoring-our-elders-family-traditions-contest-by-sultnpapper

Good luck to all the participants.

Thank you for entering the contest, best of luck to you.
Sult

Hi, I loved your contest and I decided to enter.
Here's my entry.
https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@eve66/family-traditions-contest-by-eve66
Thank you

Thank you for entering the contest, best of luck to you.
Sult

I made it with a couple of hours to spare.
Thank you for this contest Mr Papper/Sult, it brought back so many good memories of The Scot, the Frenchman and two Cape Dutch 'fraaie meisjes'.
Senekal fam 194748.jpg

Thank you for entering the contest, best of luck to you.
Sult

Thank you for entering. Best of luck to you.
Sult

thanks you its edited now.

All good now. Thanks.

@semeruco there seems to be a problem with your link. It is asking me for a "log in" and others who have entered using peakd I've been able to just go to without problem. Could you maybe look at this and try to correct it?
I'm not a techy type person so I don't know what the issue is, but I don't believe it is on my end because of the other peakd users links working for me.
Let me know,
Sult

Thanks, I'll correct that. I'm new to the site and I don't know much about how it works

Thank you for entering. Best of luck.
Sult

Gracias 👍🤗