You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing Eyes on Hive

in #contest11 months ago

Great initiative! I only wish firstly that it had been around for the last couple of months (so I’d be a hundred bucks richer) and secondly that it didn’t require people like yourself offering a reward to get others off their ass to actually do something!

There is an interesting psychology at play on a platform that rewards people for actions and it seems that as time goes on, people want more for doing less (or perhaps that’s just the way of the world). Surely it’s in everyone’s interest to promote Hive and more specifically their efforts on Hive as much as possible without being offered an explicit reward but thank you again for doing so, if that’s what is needed then it Will certainly help us all in the long run.

I don’t think many people are even aware that you can see the top viewed posts and even fewer that they can view the insights page to see the performance of their posts.

On that note, just watch out because the ‘top daily’ category doesn’t always register. There was an issue with it late March/early April but the team managed to fix it pretty sharpish.

Cheers

!BEER

Sort:  

One of the biggest problems with gamification is that if the "game" aspect is not well designed, you can encourage a kind of tunnel-vision where everyone is pursuing certain metrics nearly completely, while pretty much entirely neglecting others that may be just as if not more important overall.

In that sense we just have to continue to iterate until we have a "game system" that encourages exactly the kind of growth that we want to see.

Hi, I am seeing how your posts are always close if not quite at the top of the top viewed posts lately. Do you mind telling me where you share your posts, or otherwise if you know how you get reliable traffic?

Do you ever share your posts on Reddit?

I share a snippet of the blog I write on Hive on my domain here.

https://t20-head-to-head.com/

My site gets pretty decent traffic (15k visitors a day) on a number of the stats pages I create there and I encourage people to click through to the blog. Most of my sites traffic comes via search engines but users can subscribe to my site and get updates every time I post. That means I have a hardcore following off chain who can deliver about 150 views per blog here on Hive.

Site stats from yesterday. You can see the blog post at the bottom.

IMG_3482.jpeg

March to May is the peak time for my site as it coincides with the IPL.

Unfortunately, the big subs for cricket on Reddit don’t allow users to promote their own sites or articles from anywhere that isn’t an established news site.