Vegetable stock from kitchen scraps

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

Amazing vegetable stock is almost free at my house!

IMG_7765.JPG

As we cook, we keep our vegetable scraps. We have a gallon-sized ziplock in the freezer, and scraps like: onion caps, potato peels, carrot tops, beet-bits, the tiny little interior cloves of garlic, herb stems, and lots of other things get tossed into the bag. We're currently limiting the amount of broccoli- and cabbage-relatives because of a bitterness that sometimes appears, but for a long time we just used everything.

These are some carrot peelings I had leftover last week after making miso-glazed carrots. They went into the bag:

IMG_7726.JPG

Last night, I took a full bag out of the freezer, emptied it into the electric pressure cooker (we use an Instant Pot, but aren't cultish about it...any pressure cooker will do fine) and filled the pot with water. Here's what it looks like, in all it's unappealing glory:

IMG_7762.JPG

Then I added some bay leaves, pepper corns, and Mexican oregano leaves, and set it to pressure-cook for 40 mins and turn itself off.

This morning, I checked it out and this is what I found:

IMG_7763.JPG

At this point, I strain out the solids, squeezing and mashing to extract all the easy-to-get liquid without breaking down the solids so much that they'll go through the sieve:

IMG_7764.JPG

And that's basically it. It's hardly any work and this produced almost ten cups of stock!

The spices that I put in are different each time depending on my whim. And each batch is different. For me, that's good, but I can imagine people who care more about consistency and they might want to do things to normalize their mixture of inputs.

Sort:  

Wow! I didn't know we can do that. We've always just been throwing away our scraps. I will try this soon. 😊 Great post!

So simple to prepare.
This vegetable stock is a soup?

I have the sense that some people just drink stock, but for me it isn't a soup as much as the base ingredient for a whole bunch of soups.

I've seen my sister use stock for some Indian curries.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 17:38:10
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 104.60/200.00
Total Photos: 20
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank