Went to Church and had my bike seat stolen.

in #creativecoin2 years ago

Lately, lots of good things have been happening to me and it's felt scary because life can feel like a struggle, so when nice things happen, we seem to wait for the next bad thing that would obliterate all the goodness and reset things to the 'normal' we feel it should be. So yes, I'd been waiting with anticipated breath for that counter effect on all these goodness and it came yesterday. It was not a catastrophic thing but not pleasant all the same.

I recently got admission into the University of Gottingen in Germany to study for my Masters. Then I got a bicycle, not a new one but a very good lady's bike on eBay and I've only ridden on it once. I was really happy the day I got it and at a good price too; 75 euros. At the back of my mind, I wondered if anyone would steal it. But my new Ghanaian friend helped me pick a good bike lock and it's been packed close to my student accommodation ever since the say I bought it.

IMG_20220405_115121.jpg

*photo of me taken by my friend *

Yesterday, the Pentecost church in Ghana located in Kassel, Germany held a combined service with the Gottingen branch and four of us representing the Gottingen branch went on a somewhat long journey by train to meet up with them. I rode my bicycle for the second time to the train station where I locked it with the hundreds of bikes there. I thought it would be safe but alas a surprise waited for me when I came back which was hours later. They say this happens regularly in Germany and well elsewhere according to my google search, so I have to look for ways to secure the new seat later. My new Ghanaian friend says he has two spoilt bikes and he will get a new seat from either of them on Wednesday for me. Hopefully it fits.

Well, this put a little dent on my joy but the good thing though is that I had the opportunity to ride his bike on the way back from the train station and had a new bike experience. Apart from that though, I had a nice Sunday at this church. It is my second time in church in Germany and in a Ghanaian church. Although I'm half Nigerian, I don't feel the need to look for a Nigerian church right now. Out of curiosity I might attend one but I think I want to be with the Ghanaians who have welcomed me so far. They sang in their Ghanaian language, spoke and preached in it too although for my sake and I guess for the other Cameroonian girl who came, someone had to interpret the sermon. It was nice to see them use their dialect freely in Germany.

IMG_20220410_111855.jpg

We were waiting at a bus stop when I took this

IMG_20220410_111742.jpg

This is at the Kassel train station. The other two people I went with can be seen to the left of the photo where the girl is giving the peace sign

IMG_20220410_151513.jpg

photo of the church after service

After the church service, they shared some food and I finally got to taste Ghanaian Jollof rice. For those who don't know, Nigerians and Ghanaians have an ongoing Jollof rice war with each country claiming they have the best rice.

IMG_20220410_172113.jpg

photo of the rice I ate

As a Nigerian too, of course I stand with my people and I was right. Nigerian Jollof is definitely world class. But it was nice to have the opportunity to taste something different and well I was hungry after such a long day, so I was happy to be rewarded with some free food.

I slept after eating until this morning even though I'd set several alarms to wake up because I wanted to write this post. I only made it by 5am, so here's the post documenting my Sunday and weekend in general.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

I've had things stolen from my bike. Usually I lose cheap things like water bottles, patch kits and tool kits.

I've wondered what compels people to rip of cyclists. It is not as if they were getting valuable goods. I suspect that it is some sort of psychological compulsion to rip off cyclists.

BTW, I've also noticed that theives like to target trailheads. I guess they like ripping off hikers.

Right? A thief is a thief, so some kind of compulsion. The seats can't possibly be worth much or the other little bits. Too bad there is no best method available for securing a seat at the moment and I can't insure the bike either since it's not brand new

Nigerian Jollof is definitely world class.

Verdict is here and we won! Lol

😀😀Easy win for sure

My wife had her bike seat stolen not long ago when she rode her bike to the mall for work. I don't get it either. It's not like you can sell bike seats on the black market for big bucks or something.

!hivebits

What's HBIT?
Success! You mined .9 HBIT and the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | about | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <><