You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Beautiful Disasters as an A^^hole Gardener

in #creativegarden10 months ago

I love your way with words. Your posts are always interesting/funny to read. I am a plant saver, if I have too many flowers or other plants in one spot, I have to find somewhere to transplant them.

My husband pulls whole plants from the garden, this makes me cry. I have to save its life and replant it somewhere even knowing it might not make it after he unmercifully yanked it out of the soil. I tell him that plants have feelings, he huffs at me. Sometimes I wish I could yank him from his home.

!ALIVE

Sort:  

@carolkean! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @myjob. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

Ohhhh I love you @myjob! A plant saver, rescuer, transplanter - a husband who pulls up plants and you take pity on them -
You know, there is a big school of thought on plants having feelings. My niece took an herbology course in Minnesota, founded by the author of a big fat book on herbalism (or founded by Matt Wood, who wrote the foreword to the book):

“The work of the herbalist is to understand the intricate patterns of Nature and how they are woven into the architecture of people and plants, to see them as mirror images of the Earth and cosmos, parts that contain the whole.”
― Sajah Popham, Evolutionary Herbalism: Science, Spirituality, and Medicine from the Heart of Nature
He works in tarot and astrology, and other traditions, so it may be a little suspect.
Or maybe the alignment of the stars, the pull of the moon, all that stuff does matter...?

@owasco, did I already send you links to the book?

I find it funny that someone with the last name Wood writes about plants.

Am I crazy? I feel so sad when I pull weeds, No, I do not replant them but wonder if they can feel it when being pulled. I feel as if everything is here for a reason and just because we do not understand what it is does not mean it is useless.

Am I getting too old and overthinking things?

I can not recall the documentary but I saw it on trees in a faraway land, some sort of animal will start eating the leaves and when they do this to one tree the others start producing a bad-tasting stuff in their leaves that the animals do not like to eat. I know this does not give details but I hope you can get what I am saying. The trees knew when one was being devoured and said, OH NO, you will not eat me. (those were my words).

YES, your world view (tree view) makes sense!
We impose order onto "chaos" (weeds) - or we impose disorder - depending on who's looking.
I love love love the studies on how trees communicate and conspire to help each other.
Matt Wood (don't get me started on funny names; Dear Abby listed a lot of unlikely names matching occupations, such as Mr. Coffin, the undertaker).
Considering how many non-native "weeds" have choked out my native pollinator plants, I feel no pain on pulling the weeds, aside from the usual pains of arthritis (and chigger bites, and poison ivy lurking unseen).
Long live the trees! (Just saw a documentary on the old sequoias being decimated for lumber)....

Oh honey if you sent me that link, I will never be able to find it again! It sounds great and I will order it.

Of course plants have feelings. I read a book The Secret Life of Plants when I was twenty, and have had no doubt about it ever since. It's pretty obvious if you just listen to them. Of course, we have to use senses other than our ears to hear their messages, because they appear in our brains as thoughts of our own. Plants have some highly sophisticated communication technology humans have been told does not even exist.

The Secret Life of Plants - how have I not read this yet? by Peter Tompkins, Christopher Bird, 1973

The Secret Life of Plants includes remarkable information about plants as lie detectors and plants as ecological sentinels; it describes their ability to adapt to human wishes, their response to music, their curative powers, and their ability to communicate with man. Authors Peter Tompkins and Christopher Bird suggest that the most far-reaching revolution of the 20th century — one that could save or destroy the planet — may come from the bottom of your garden.

Peter Tompkins was an American journalist, World War II spy, and best-selling author.
His best known and most influential books include The Secret Life of Plants, published in 1973, Secrets of the Great Pyramid, reprinted in paperback in 1997, and Mysteries of the Mexican Pyramids, published in 1976.

Only recently, I started reading about trees and their extensive underground communication systems (and healing each other). Makes that talking tree in Disney's Pocahontas seem less like fantasy.

I suspect true stuff shows up in fantasy, sci-fi movies, just so that we will think they could never really be true. When so much of it is! Matrix anyone?

Great insight!
The truth is best hidden in the guise of fiction...
Or, as you suggest, if you hide the truth in a fictional story, people will think, "Oh, it's just another fiction," when in fact... yeah.
Blue pill, or red?
Knowledge, or happiness?