Creativity And A Sudden Flood Of Ideas

in #creativity6 years ago (edited)


Sometimes when I create, it’s difficult to get new ideas. But more often than not one idea leads to the next and I can catch a new idea every hour.

A flood of ideas.

For example, the ideas for the last 5 or 6 posts I wrote came to me suddenly, sometimes while I was writing one post. Sometimes when I was re-reading the last one. Usually I find new ideas when listening to inspirational podcasts.

It doesn’t always work that way. I have to think harder when the subject matter doesn’t move me. Then it can feel forced. But when we are talking about creativity, I get very passionate. I guess this is what helps me suddenly find new ideas. Or maybe the other way around - new ideas find me.

Then there is the question of retaining ideas, not losing them.

Have you ever had a curious idea come to you and you would be walking with this idea entire day but then suddenly forget and when the time comes to create, you can’t remember it… It’s very frustrating.

That’s why I carry my notebook with me whenever I go. Sometimes I can draw Pinky and Spiky comic strip while waiting in the car or when others would simply scroll the phone.

But I guess even better way would be journaling. Sort of writing a diary. Then I would be able to write down all those interesting ideas and later act upon at least some of them.

I have tried to start writing a diary more than once but failed to continue. You probably know that feeling. At first, when the enthusiasm is high, you write every day but after a week or so, it becomes a drag, sort of one more thing you have to do with your limited time and you quit.

One diary writing technique that cartoonist Lynda Barry teaches might be easier to pursue. It only takes 7 or 8 minutes. In your notebook, you list 7-8 things you did in the last 24 hours for 2 minutes. Then list 7-8 things you saw in the last 24 hours. Also for 2 minutes. Then write something you heard someone say for 2 minutes. Like a sentence or two. And the last 2 minutes you spend drawing a picture from those previously listed ideas with something you did, saw or heard in the last 24 hours. That’s it. That’s only 8 minutes and you have your daily diary entry.

I think I’m going to try to start this type of diary again. But I have to figure out where to write it. It seems like it should be a larger notebook than the pocket one I use for drawing my comic strips. But then the problem is that I won’t be able to carry it with me wherever I go.

I’m lazy. I like to have everything I need within arm’s reach. So we’ll see which one works best.

Then I’ll always have something to choose to create from.

A sudden flood of ideas.

Do you write a diary? How often do you experience this flood of ideas? Let's keep this conversation going in the comments.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

My diary is Boring but I write for the habit

I think most diarys can be!
But I admire your habit development.

It simply helps me process the day, capture the moments.

Add some drawings for more excitement...

Haha, upvoted!!

Good Idea Buddy!!!!!!!!!!

Upvoted and resteem by kryptonia ID blogjeremiah

Congratulations @grv6124 ! You received a 1% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 101 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

Upvoted and followed already by rubelynmacion
Cant be resteemed. Tried many times

Hello, @organduo You talk about a very important issue, because sometimes we run out of ideas. In my case, I also charge my notebook, I look closely at what surrounds me, I observe people, I read, I like to listen to others and there are moments when ideas arise. We live in a world full of so many wonderful things just that we should be alert. A hug

Focused and alert! Present in the moment...

Flood can destroy the whole world

Or it can revive the dry soil. 😊

Thanks for nice info. Check out this Kids making things seriously doing fun,

i started to write a diary about 8 years ago and only first page of it has 3 lines .. never opened that dairy again

I know how you feel. What if you only wrote down 1 important thing that you did, saw or heard every day? This takes 30 seconds... And in many years it will be a pleasure to look back at your own life.

Hahahaaaa....i think this is funniest reply so far

Precisamente a veces a mí me suele ocurrir lo mismo y es algo que me suele ocurrir a menudo, en realidad es algo bueno porque mientras escribo las primeras palabras, voy recibiendo mas y mas como si alguien estuviera poniendo esas palabras en mi mente y que precisamente coincide con lo que ya había escrito... Es algo inspirador y pienso que si intentara pensar las palabras no me saldría con tanta fluidez como me sale al recibir las palabras.

I wrote diary a long ago, but the mistake was I had been writing the failures of my life. Finally, I left writing it at the end.

Failures are the most difficult to write but the most interesting to read.))

You have shared a different angle ... great

I love diary writing. But now love photography.

how come?! how did you make 410$ writing this post? What's the secret?
And for sure, thanks for sharing, such an interesting info posted... voted!

It's not a secret: bid bots... Just look at the top votes.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.vidaspinkevicius.com/blog/a-sudden-flood-of-ideas

I believe this is the original author, but would be good to get verification.

@organduo if you can make a reference on your site to your Steemit profile, that will help verify yourself and avoid these messages (and ultimately flags).

Thanks for stopping by. I actually was about to vote for@themarkymark as a witness but got distracted while looking for my keys.

So anyway, yes, vidaspinkevicius.com is my site and I will add links to my profile on Steemit (I've done the opposite, actually - vidaspinkevicius.com is listed on my Steemit profile. This post is a re-post of my previous article there as cheetah pointed out. Are reposts by the same author allowed?

PS Just added links to my Steemit profile on my site.

But @themarkymark copy pasting is plagiarism..how does mention source going to help? The post even voted by @buildawhale even the post is not whitelisted

Posted using Partiko Android

You can't plagiarize yourself. If it is his blog (which I have done research and I believe it is), then it is not plagiarism, it is syndication.

Ohh i see....that post he posted somewhere as well....got your point👍....took me by surprise as i stop my self from curating on chetah voted content.

Posted using Partiko Android

I do a lot of research when blacklisting people, cheetah just looks for duplicate content which is great, but not always a sign of "plagiarism".

Ohh good to know...thanks for helping me out...else I would have posted a post on it 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

The problems is that Author published this blog his own sites and then here..
this is the problems cheetah caught it as copied....

Oh, I know why, just saying if he is verified, it won't happen.

This is Bot called Cheetah actually it makes for find out copied content and down vote them... his speed is superb!!!!

But bad luck Vidas Pinkevicius Sirji has in trouble...

Don't worry Sir @organduo we are here to support you using comments...

lots of comments and upvotes will make this cheetah away.....
@amusdnom

I really not sure what you said, but Cheetah is run by SteemCleaners, and if they have proof someone owns a third party site they can whitelist the site for them.

Cheetah is not smart, it's got one job. Find duplicate content. While 99% of the time it is the result of plagiarism, sometimes it is not. It takes a human to make that decision.

Yes I also said same things..
that cheetah is down voter. and can down vote if one violate the steemit rules like copy pasting from third party site...

Thanks for doing so much for the community here. Just voted for you as a witness!

Thanks :)

Firefly?

Aww Firefly, such a brilliant series, but I can see why it was pulled.

Actually, outtake from Serenity :)

Serenity was the ship. Is there an additional series? BTW, this has got to be my favorite series of all time.

Hey man,

thank you for the witness vote!

The drawing is actually really creative. I love it!

Can you contact me on discord, if you have an account there? therealwolf#2442

Thanks for doing so much to the community. I have added you as a friend on Discord.

Hi @organduo I'm a bot, and wanted you to know that I've upvoted and re-steemed your post to help you with your promotion efforts! -exp

where there is will there is way , similarly where there is creativity , there are ideas and these ideas bring new changes and new challenges, let face everything together

Excellent point!

Well, I don't keep a diary but most times I have a flood of thoughts. I spend most times in my mind and this gives the chance to conceptualise my thoughts. One thought leads to another thought and most times I don't even have the time to jot them all. Sometimes I even get distracted because while I'm trying to jot down an idea another cuts in.

That's what artists do - they live in their minds... Congratulations! You are an artist!

lol, thanks very much.

I also do not keep a diary but it's good to keep one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, maybe just writing down one or two ideas for starters...

great post with great thinking

perfect👌💎

Posted using Partiko Android

perfect👌💎

Posted using Partiko Android

I am an idealist and a day dreamer. Your flood of ideas reminds myself that when I watch, listen or read something, it leads me to imaging of something else or new ideas related to this subject.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm happy for you! If only we could figure out an efficient system for remembering those ideas, then we would become idea generators.

Hi dear please help me....
my mother is admitted in hospital , she is suffering from cancer.
Please donate some money for my mother's cancer operation.
Presently I an in deep trouble, please help
I will try to refund your money in future.
ETH - 0x5b3157e4c8c21e6aaedb4a54175f11c1f0fb1250
BTC- 3Ac1c8Zg7oP9UQinoDRFvcSV76AGJoFm4Z
STEEMIT- @ramjee121

Oh yeah the FLOOD! That's the best. I just wrote about a similar thing. When that creativity wave comes you ride it. I do keep a physical journal and through Steemit it's a bit of an online journal but I'm keeping it real and refined :) I keep all my stream of consciousness writing for myself and jam on the bigger ideas here or create with them.

I love the physical notebook approach. Somehow keeps it real.

And you can put things in it that inspire you or are keep sakes. Happy journaling <3

You really making me wish I'd do it.

I hope you do ..and then make a post about it haha!

My problem is not a lack of ideas, it's too many to ever do anything with. I keep a note book and use an app on my phone to record ideas.

NB. The Cheetah thing: It is your content so there is no reason why you should not reuse it on another of your sites. However, what you have to do is organise your posting so you publish on Steemit first.

Nick

I'm glad you found what works for you. Then you can use your creativity to the fullest. And you're right about posting on Steemit first.

Hey @organduo, thanks for posting this and I particularly liked the diary idea. I use something very similar to this with my lil notebook and have also made this post about other successful ways to enhance creativity.

All the best to you,

Phi23

Thanks for stopping by... I wish the diary idea would be easier to apply on a daily basis.

I liked this post and enjoyed reading it. Yes, I can agree with you about writing a daily dairy and how it can be monotonously a drag at times. But I think your ideas mentioned are doable. Thanks for posting this and sharing it.
Have a nice day @organduo.

Thanks for reading and happy journaling!

Certainly, you're welcome @organduo you as well. Thanks for stopping by with your comments. Have a wonderful day, ok?

I can strongly say that you are a creative person and I like your writing the most and want to read more from you. Actually, creativity is a very special gift of God to some special human being. Those people, with creative ideas, can make the world the heavenly one.

Agreed! The world would be much better place to live if everybody created and shared more...

This was a good read. Im currently struggling to produce material nt because the lack of creativity. Its the lack of time that has me in limbo. I have so many ideas and things to blog about but I stay tackling life that it leaves me no room. I will try to get back in the swing of things soon. Thanks for giving me motivation

#circleoffriends

Yes! Creativity always finds a way. How about writing just for 15 minutes a day for starters. Surely you can squeeze in that much...

Only kind of related, but Daniel Pink wrote in his new book When that creativity comes to most people in the afternoon because you’re a little mentally tired at that point. When you’re “mental guard” is lowered, there’s more room for new ideas. Just a note that for most people these ideas will probably come after lunch.

I also think that diary idea is super interesting! Definitely will try out that technique. I feel like I forget my ideas a lot of the time, but that if I had the opportunity to come back to it and build on it I might have something special.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, try to carry a little pocket notebook with you all the time and scribble things on the go.

For me it's with music. When the ideas arrive I cannot stop writing them down for hours straight. It can be so intense that I end up with a migraine because it feels as if a channel opened within me that needs to translate a message into melodies from another world. That's the closest way I can describe it. Then of course comes the silence and nothing arrives, cold duck.... those periods are also challenging.

Ups and downs... creativity is like that. But make sure you take a rest every 25 minutes or so. And don't forget to breath when you write... Hopefully this will reduce the tension.

Great advice!

What an interesting way to make a diary, I like the idea.

Yes and most importantly, you will never run out of ideas to write about here on Steemit!

Nice article

Posted using Partiko Android

I tried writing a journal several times, but I leave it for the reasons it mentions. For me, inspiration or a sudden flood of ideas come to me at night when I'm almost asleep. In those moments I only reach my cell phone and write the main idea in a message and I keep forming the idea in my head to sleep. The next day, I remember almost everything when I read what I wrote on my cell phone.

Does the use of the cell phone late at night disturb your sleep in any way?

Good idea

Great article!

Great concept and organized writing. I am a big fan of this and want to read regularly.

@organduo
Hi dear please help me....
my mother is admitted in hospital , she is suffering from cancer.
Please donate some money for my mother's cancer operation.
Presently I an in deep trouble, please help
I will try to refund your money in future.
ETH - 0x5b3157e4c8c21e6aaedb4a54175f11c1f0fb1250
BTC- 3Ac1c8Zg7oP9UQinoDRFvcSV76AGJoFm4Z
STEEMIT- @ramjee121

Looks like made by a kid but its actually cute and i think it is a meaningful one.

Yes! We should do more of the things that kids do. More play, more creativity, more fun, more laughter...

Very nice postflower-3140492__480.jpg

@organduo amazing post by you sir i highly appreciate you i wanna ask you something can you please post on article specifically to the types of sources from you the gets the ideas of writing your articles i know you have mentioned some of the ideas in this post above but can you please help other writers like me who are struggling to grow on this platform

Thanks for reading! For starters simply document your day... What you did, what you saw, what you overheard other people say. Sometimes it's really funny, especially, if you add a drawing as an illustration to your thoughts.

Same sometime its happen with me also

Posted using Partiko Android

This is great. Write down those ideas so that they won't be lost forever...

Use your phone's note. It's been useful to me in my writings too...

nice piece.

Thanks for this idea. I'm glad this works for you.

Yeah... Thanks to you too

nice post i write diary related to my goals everyday

Wow! This will definitely improve your chances of reaching and exceeding your goals one day.

Creativity is the act of turning new and imaginative ideas into reality. Creativity is characterised by the ability to perceive the world in new ways, to find hidden patterns, to make connections between seemingly unrelated phenomena, and to generate solutions.

Thanks for the reminder about creativity.

You have got a really creative mind and sharing it with others is really inspiring.

Thanks. The good news is that you can do the same.

I must confess that keeping up with documenting my every-day's activities in my diary is quiet difficulty, but i always make out time probably by 11:00PM daily to summary all those activities in a simple form. As regard creativity, sometimes the flood of ideas just come rushing in so, what i do to avoid loss of these priceless ideas, is by always carrying along with me a small piece of writing material everywhere i go and documenting any influx of ideas as it comes for later use. Wonderful post, keep it up!

light-bulb-1246043__340.jpg

Nice illustration. Become the light you want to see in the world!

Very nice poststock-photo-rose-682043602.jpg

I i’ve been keeping a journal since I was about seven or eight years old. It is second nature to me now. I truly believe it is the reason why became a journalist. I was always observing my surroundings, recording my feelings and generally just being curious about the world. I always encourage people to journal, because until you take your thoughts out of your head and put them on paper, you don’t really have a clear picture of exactly what you’re thinking.

I recently started sketching after over 40 years of saying that I could not draw. It was a major major major experience for me to actually sit down with paper and pen look at something and begin to draw what I saw. This is one of my first creations.

image

It is my Beloved Whitaker Bayou in Sarasota, Florida where I live. I often sit and journal on my dock. I had been looking at the scene daily for almost a year. Until we become more disciplined and take the time to allow our creativity to rise from within us and let it spill out, coloring blank pages, we can never truly see the beauty of our potential.The other day I answered a question that I know many of us have pondered.

https://www.quora.com/How-can-I-put-my-mind-to-something-I-have-always-wanted-to-do-but-have-never-made-an-attempt-to-try/answer/Francesca-Simon?share=81c901c2&srid=hnjko

Creativity is s goldmine. We have to dig deep, power through the darkness letting our curiosity be our flashlight until we begin to see the glint of golden moments shining in our minds. Then we need the discipline to sit down, spread it out on blank paper and revel in the riches of self discovery!

Inward and Onward!🌹

image

#TogetherWeGrow #SarasotaRo

Curiosity is the key! Thanks so much for your drawing of the rose. Don't stop!

I i’ve been keeping a journal since I was about seven or eight years old. It is second nature to me now. I truly believe it is the reason why became a journalist. I was always observing my surroundings, recording my feelings and generally just being curious about the world. I always encourage people to journal, because until you take your thoughts out of your head and put them on paper, you don’t really have a clear picture of exactly what you’re thinking.

I recently started sketching after over 40 years of saying that I could not draw. It was a major major major experience for me to actually sit down with paper and pen look at something and begin to draw what I saw. This is one of my first creations.

image

It is my Beloved Whitaker Bayou in Sarasota, Florida where I live. I often sit and journal on my dock. I had been looking at the scene daily for almost a year. Until we become more disciplined and take the time to allow our creativity to rise from within us and let it spill out, coloring blank pages, we can never truly see the beauty of our potential.The other day I answered a question that I know many of us have pondered.

https://www.quora.com/How-can-I-put-my-mind-to-something-I-have-always-wanted-to-do-but-have-never-made-an-attempt-to-try/answer/Francesca-Simon?share=81c901c2&srid=hnjko

Creativity is s goldmine. We have to dig deep, power through the darkness letting our curiosity be our flashlight until we begin to see the glint of golden moments shining in our minds. Then we need the discipline to sit down, spread it out on blank paper and revel in the riches of self discovery!

Inward and Onward!🌹

image

#TogetherWeGrow #SarasotaRo

I i’ve been keeping a journal since I was about seven or eight years old. It is second nature to me now. I truly believe it is the reason why became a journalist. I was always observing my surroundings, recording my feelings and generally just being curious about the world. I always encourage people to journal, because until you take your thoughts out of your head and put them on paper, you don’t really have a clear picture of exactly what you’re thinking.

I recently started sketching after over 40 years of saying that I could not draw. It was a major major major experience for me to actually sit down with paper and pen look at something and begin to draw what I saw. This is one of my first creations.

image

It is my Beloved Whitaker Bayou in Sarasota, Florida where I live. I often sit and journal on my dock. I had been looking at the scene daily for almost a year. Until we become more disciplined and take the time to allow our creativity to rise from within us and let it spill out, coloring blank pages, we can never truly see the beauty of our potential.The other day I answered a question that I know many of us have pondered.

https://www.quora.com/How-can-I-put-my-mind-to-something-I-have-always-wanted-to-do-but-have-never-made-an-attempt-to-try/answer/Francesca-Simon?share=81c901c2&srid=hnjko

Creativity is s goldmine. We have to dig deep, power through the darkness letting our curiosity be our flashlight until we begin to see the glint of golden moments shining in our minds. Then we need the discipline to sit down, spread it out on blank paper and revel in the riches of self discovery!

Inward and Onward!🌹

image

#TogetherWeGrow #SarasotaRose

There are 2 pages
Pages