So I quit my 90k a year job to trade crypto and became a millionaire 7 months later

Yup as the title reads, I quit my 90k a year job to trade crypto full time. Now I know most of you are thinking this guy is an idiot and took a huge gamble, I am and I did but boy did I get Lucky.

So this is how the story goes.

In December of 2016 the was an attempt to scam me using bitcoin as payment. At the time I had never heard of it but instantly was curious. so I spent the next 2 weeks researching before I finally spent $1900 on some bitcoin. I spent the next 2 months learning about cryptocurrencies​ and how to navigate exchanges

In May of 2017, ​ I had begun my 4th month of crypto trading and struck gold. I had purchased a larger sum of Antshare/Neo before it rebranded and made a large sum of funds. At that point I spoke with my wife and she was willing to allow me 6 months to make it happen. So I went full nerd, I was getting up at 5 am reading everything crypto. On my break, I woul​d have different​ crypto related interviews playing in the background and it stayed like this for 3 months.

Fast forward to September, and this is where I realized that crypto isn't just about knowledge, it's about connections. I had come in contact with a now good friend @dream-o and we began to share ideas and trading tip. well, ​let's just say in one month I had tripled my years salary working with him.

Moving on to November/December I sat down with my wife and told her the exciting new, we could possibly hit 1 million by the summer of 2018, and she was super excited. little did we know, crypto was about to go bonkers. My portfolio started rising 70-80k every couple of days until it finally happened.

IMG_4295.jpg

We had broken a Million 7 months ahead of schedule. I couldn't​ believe it, I couldn't eat for the next 2 days I​ was that excited. Once the excitement wore down, I​ had to make a tough decision, Keep holding or secure major​ profits. We decided to pull 30% of our holdings and ride the rest out.

The reason we chose 30% was to cover all of our debts ( Mortgage, student loans, 2 cars and cc) and have a nice lump sum cash. After doing so, crypto decided to go for a 2nd round of madness and I found myself in the 7 figure crypto club again. So we took another 20% out, lucky for us this turned into a great deal as bitcoin plunged from all time highs to some pre-December​ prices. I have since restored some fiat into crypto and will be pulling soon as I only did it for some short term gains.

As of now, ​I don't do much day trading, I invest in ICOs and collect payments from my master nodes​. I have picked my long term horses and I​ plan to ride them to the end. If taken seriously crypto can change your​ life, but at the same time fools will lose every penny the own. Thank you for joining me.

There are plenty details I didn't dive too deep into but if you have questions comment and Ill answer below.
Also I had posted this before understanding​ how steemit worked and am now hoping it has a bigger impact and understandinf of I.

My youtube page: https://www.youtube.com/crypto2crypto

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

7 millions in one year is amazing :) what was your base investment?
also i know dream-o too ;)

it's 1 million in 7 months.... and the base investment was 90k, as written in the blog title

Base investment was $1900

No... his job was 90K/year which he quit, he didn't invest 90K

1 million in 1 year and base was $1900. @dream-o is a good friend of mine. Ask him how much this nutcase made home this year lol

ya definitely possible.. i saw my brother start with only 500 bucks and made it into 6k in just 3 weeks in december of 2017.. if he got in a year earlier he would be in the same spot too i bet!

Oh I believe it

amazing results ;)

You earned a follower and I don't do it very often. This story is different and so real that I just can't stop reading.

Thank you my friend, been a long journey.

Loading...

Thanks for sharing and inspiring. I'll check out your channel tomorrow. It's definitely true that with careful monitoring and quick reactions, we can build up the pots quickly.. but just a few hours of not paying attention can result in the reverse too in some cases!

By the way, I notice that you only have one witness vote cast - for Teamsteem - who I also vote for (we are on the same team, for sure). I'd be greatly appreciative if you would consider also voting for my witness server, you'd be helping me to help the community grow and evolve in helpful ways.

Thank you. And I’ll check you out for sure

I think i will buy Masternodes now .. lol

Good idea, avoid the scams

Good story.

Nice to hear your success story! I am in a similar position only I have not quite hit $1m yet and I did not have a job starting off (That is because I am only 17 y/o). I started with crypto a couple months before I turned 16 and it changed my life. I now live solely from my crypto earnings and quite comfortably. I now earn more than my household combined and am on track to becoming Scotlands youngest self-made millionaire! Thank you for sharing your story and I look forward to hopefully sharing my own!

This is also a great story. Congrats, kid. Be smart with your money, make it work for you. Enjoy it too because life is short, but don't waste it all either. More generic advice for the boy genius.

Congratulations my friend. At 16 I was spending all of my money on call of duty and Halo LOL. honestly congrats, I ask that you be wise and put a good amount away and strategically invest in things outside of crypto as well.

Wow! On the one hand, I'm very happy for you, and proud of you for seeing the opportunity you have with crypto. On the other hand, I'm suffering from old man jealousy! If only I had such an opportunity at age 17!!!

smart teen, keep it up

i have started following you just await when you shall post your story because i will love to hear it.

Gratz buddy, im right there with you lol No more work. lol

OMG dreams come true.. I wish I could be there one day.. started in may 2017 but made some stupid mistakes.. So i million is a dream.. I don't think it will happen..

We all made some tough mistakes, we just have to bounce back as quickly as possible and keep it moving.

Wow wow wow... Just wow.
I don't know where you stay anyway but down here in nigeria it's kinda bad when employers try to measure your value with academic qualification and size. I went sourcing for a job not too long ago could you believe I was offered approximately $15 when my data charges only is up-to $18-20 dollars. That's how people work for over 35years and go home with nothing!!

well crypto is a good market, atleast it pays you for your knowledge and time. And the best story is that I found it(steemit only) when my account statement was just $3. Thank God now I've diversified cos you can't lay all your eggs in a basket.

Recently I just took up a 3day class on crypto trading and I want to go to another soon. There's no limit to what you can achieve. BTW I'd love us to chat on discord @peterakpan1582, take care.

Wow! Amazing story! How much did you invest?

Started with $1900.

How much total did you invest? Did you put more money in later on?

Dude you have no idea how good it is to hear that someone that I talk to on steemit actually got to experience that. I keep hearing about millionaires being made by crypto but it's not real to me. What is real to me is to see that people with real life problems had there problems sorted out by their sound investment strategy.
It does my heart good to hear about your fortune and your timing for sharing it is perfect. More people need to share these kind of real experiences, particularly when the market takes a hit.

My man it has been one hell of a jouney and I hope It give you the desire to keep pushing forward with research and sound investing. Am I perfect HELL NO!!! which mean that this story can easily be replicated.

Thanks for sharing it man and also for the encouragement. I, like a lot of people in cryptosphere need every bit of it.

Seriously man. That's a good story. What are your holding for the long term? I'm so impatient when it comes to trading that I always get things wrong. So I'm a "fool" losing money. I'm still not negative but I'm not getting anywhere. Due to my impulsive trading habits, I'm loading stuff in vaults....Were you trading in shares before?

Long term holds are.

Ven
Nuls
Eos
Ren
Aph

Thank you! Not sure what REP and Aph are .

Hi @hashcash - man, you nailed it with your comment! (I feel exactly the same and gave you an upvote just because it is fantastic to see someone feeling good about anothers fortune!)

When did you take this screenshot? It looks like you gained the last $130k within 24 hours?

Of you stopped day trading, what will you do to earn money? Go back to your old 90k job? Or live from the future income from crypto? Or something different?

This was in December and that was one hell of a day. I was sitting at my CPU and my whole ports was going nuts, I had actually gone up 80k the previous day as well.

I stopped day trading, and currently Run 2 companies solo and partnered in a 3rd. Of the 3 the OTC business covers everything and the other 2 are very passive so I won't let them go. I was a Physical therapist previously.

I already had a feeling the picture was taken before. Otherwise you really would have been the best crypto magician ever. Being able to make such a big profit in a bearish market.

From a physiological view I find this very interesting. Cause I could conclude that you didn't really love your old job? However this would be a bit short sighted as I basically don't know anything about you. Perhaps this is a nice subject for another post?

Back to the day trading, can you describe in maximum of a few sentences what your tactics/strategies were?

If I claimed that this picture was recent I would welcome you to call BS 😅.

I actually love my job, but I have always been mesmerized theses types of markets so I had a blast making the move.

As for daytrading, I would scour the net for news, speak with devs and admins and track GitHub to get the jump on pumps. Also I always kept true to myself and took profits in a staggered method to never get left holding bags.

Congratulations on your saavy and luck! I hope when i have 100k tomimvest the market will still be so hot.

Im scraping together to buy the dip now

We don't always get out what we put into life, as much as we hope that to be true. In this venture, you certainly have as I haven't come across someone who grinds away at this stuff quite like you outside of the good developers. Thank goodness (you lol) for our telegram group and being a part of your journey, and you mine. #neverforget santa hat night. I am glad that one of the people who benefited from the small transfer of wealth has been you, you are a good guy and internet friend.

Sappy hundredaire turned thousandaire signing off

Hey man don’t sell yourself short. The research you provided saved me a ton of time and really helped advance the whole group.

And yes that Christmas hat night was hilarious, hopefully we can get back to those care free times.

Great story man! Thanks for sharing this. I like that you acknowledge your luck as well as the work you put in. Taking profits was such a great decision and had you not done that I bet this post would be very different. I will be following you and looking forward to any more insight you can share.

Thank you my friend, I know it was not all me and luck shined on me. Profit taking is a core principle that we all should follow but rarely do. Feel free to ask me anything anytime.

you are very smart and brave thats why you can become millionaire in such a short time, i know about bitcoin year 2013 but i am not brave enough to all in therefore i am not a millionaire yet

If you believe in something you need to go all-in

Thank you. I may be only 1 if those 3 things lol. Your time will come.

Congrats. I have known about crypto for a long time but never took the plunge on promising projects. Damn my conservative nature. Missed the chance for btc, eth, and neo early millions...

Looking for the next huge project. I will back up the truck on this one. Thinking maybe RVN, ICON, REQ, VEN. Any other ideas?

Well you are off to a good start with Ion rew and Ven. I would look into Nuls Ren Wan as well.

Wow congratulations, that's awesome

damn some good inspiration

Congrats! I found bitcoin in 2011 and was sold immediately. I mined on my gaming rig making approx 0.5 btc a day (worth a couple of dollars). Then the price spiked to $13. It may look like nothing today but at the time it was at least a four fold increase. I sold a load. Then the ethereum crowd sale came along. I invested and again sold it too early (but still at a significant profit). I cashed out a significant amount during the recent bubble (not as much as you) but I’ve done ok.
I now look at crypto as play money (although it really isn’t). If we have another 12 months like 2017 I’ll look at changing jobs and only working a couple of days a week!

I consider that I’ve done well from crypto but that the best is yet to come!

WOW that is a early start. Glad you were able to profit off of it at least, remember no one has ever gone broke taking profits. What was crypto space like back then?

It was pretty geeky and although I try to pretend, I’m not a true geek! I loved it. I felt like I had discovered something new. Trying to explain it to friends was really difficult. They all regret not getting involved now though.
There were no real alt coins, just btc, lifecoin, name coin and that was about it! I mined btc and later lifecoin on my gaming rig. Bought a second graphics card. Noisy, hot but I was pulling in 0.5 btc a day so I was happy (approx $1-3). I believed in the concept but didn’t see how far it could go (if I had, I would be very rich now). Still, no real regrets.
I like your dedication! Once you made the decision, you dedicated everything to it! Congrats on your gains.

Man those old gpus were rough. But sheesh .5 btc per day is unimaginable were you able to save any from back then?

Yeah I still have some. Nowway near what I would like but enough to keep things interesting!

When you say you were "Lucky," what that really means is that you got into the market before the big run up. Most everybody else that entered the crypto space just prior to Dec 2017 is in the hurt locker... although some folks may just be holding their own. A "Day Late and a Bitcoin Short" as they say! I am following you now (you are number 100) because you are lucky and might continue to be so. Good luck!

Thank you my friend. Being early may have saved my bacon.

I invested in BTC when it was less than $200 and bought two coins. I used it through Coins.ph to pay for our monthly internet service and phone loads online in the Philippines for well over a year before BTC took off. By that time, I was down to less than about $50 in real value. I just never reinvested. I consider myself to have the most expensive internet subscription in the universe!

I hope you were able to be teleported to where ever you needed to go with that service.

I can no longer afford teleportation service! 😢

Wow, this is great.
I got to know about crypto around the same period with you but couldnt invest because I was totally broke. It was until June last year I was able to scrap cash from everywhere. Today I'm not worth as much as 10k AtM but I'm completely self-dependent and living quite comfortably.
Last year of college.

If you are in the green then you are a winner. I’m happy crypto has given you this extra freedom.

Well done, sir. Just make sure you put aside some money every once in awhile to pay taxes, cover your living expenses and save for a rainy day. The key is to keep some of your profit and don't give it all back when the market turns down.

Thanks friend, taxes are pulled aside first then I divided everything else into categories. No need to be stupid with this new found wealth. Though I will admit fomo does get me from time to time.

Good to hear that. A lot of people got hurt when the crypto market declined and they didn't have the money to pay their 2017 taxes on profits they booked last year.

I heard this disaster from quiete a few people. I am not playing with Uncle Sam.

Very pleasant Sunday morning reading.
Thanks for sharing your experience with Steemit community.
Enjoy your life man!

No problem my friend

Great story . We all thought of doing it . How did tax season go?

Pretty easy. The rules for last year were pretty simple like kind trading were accounted for and moved on. This year will be different

Looks like you are doing pretty well in your Steem holdings... are you planning to up some more now while the price is down?

If it hits my buy zone I will double up for sure.

Interesting but how many lost money during this crash?

With bitcoin i never lose. No matter if the price is up or down Its always a win.

It’s a long game. You’ll have to be patient. And good people get lucky because they’ve good intentions

Bought in on fomo in dec 2017, still at about a 30% loss. Not as bad as my current movie pass loss though! (Hmny)

That will be fixed pretty soon.

Thank you for sharing this story; many of us wish you were in your shoes, but I know that I simply didn't take the opportunity while you did and it paid off for you - congratulations! And thank you for sharing your story, many people wouldn't even be that generous (but privacy makes sense especially from people you know, so I appreciate you taking that extra risk - the simple act of sharing!)

I guess I have a bit of a selfish-ish question for you... Have you considered or already donated to charitable causes you find especially interesting? One of my goals, if I did make it big, is to try to be more generous with say environmental causes - that way we can say bitcoin helped literally save the world! Haha - but if that's not on your radar or you're putting that off for later, that's okay too for any number of reasons

Hey hey I appreciate you taking the time to chat with me, and though I took a risk it was very calculated.

As for the charity aspect I’m big in helping the youth in my community. I sponsor basketball and football teams along with smaller inputs into the local science fair. I’m big on sports as it helped keep me steady as a youth.

Haha awesome, thanks for sharing your giving! That's a pretty cool way to support the local community, sports can likely help others like they helped you!

Oh I love it, I get to immediately see the results of my giving as they get to play in the tournaments. They are not the greatest lol but they are out there.

Awesome dude! That would definitely be a dream of mine. Or not even for me to quit my job, but be able to give my wife the option of staying home. Hopefully one day it will happen for us too. I'm curious if your overall worth includes your Steem account? I figured it probably did, but hoping it didn't so you'd be in even better shape, haha. Congrats again

Giving my wife that option was the number one objective and she turned it down LOL. We decided to open a business for her to manage instead, as we are without children and would have to much free time. I actually didn't buy my first steem until either feb or March​ of this year.

Hahaha, at least you gave her the option, wise decision so she wouldn't hold it over your head 😂

Ahh very nice, that sounds like such an awesome setup/situation y'all have created for yourselves. Gotcha, well I'm glad you did and made it here!

Incredible success! Im always curious how day traders with your kind of success manage capital gains taxes. Ive met a lot of people who got burned by taxes after trading frequently and not realizing the extent that their profits are taxed.

You will find out most are moving to Puerto Rico. I’ll be moving soon myself.

I quit my 90 grand a year job to redeem crypto full-time. Now I know most of you are thinking that this guy is an idiot and he took a big risk, and I did, but I did, but I did, but I got Lucky.

In my country the economy is on the floor, I've often thought about leaving my job of almost 14 years with a salary that is only enough for 3 chickens to dedicate myself to the world of crypto, but everyone has told me worse than idiot things, where should I start or what is the main thing to learn according to your recommendation?? It's a risky thing to leave a job for a business you don't run well, so what should I know? I congratulate you on your great leap.
Excuse my English, I only speak Spanish. I use a translator.

Well I would not leave unless I had a super solid backup plan in place. I personally had 6 months of bills paid, and the ability to get a job instantly if need be so I had little risk. Crypto is very unforgiving and I would suggest fuly commiting unless you knew you could handle months of bringing in $0

I watched many people go back to work from Jan-March due to the extended bear market and not having liquid funds available.

thank you for your response

Dreams do come true, congratulations!

Wow , I never wanted the story to end cause I imagine myself that way in the nearest future . It’s never too late to get involved and I’m in it already . Crypto is the future I always say . Cause I’ve seen it .

It surely is the future and im banking hard on that fact.

My ship just landed on the cryptosphere. Before steemit, i knew nothing about cryptocurrencies, all i used to hear about was bitcoin, it just felt like another language that i didnt want to know about, now i acquired bitcoin, steem, eth and eos, i dont trade, i just bought to hold however i will love to trade, i use open ledger, how do you suggest i begin? And congrats on your success so far

Welcome to crypto. And honestly researching and holding will take you further then swing trading. It may seem sexy to get those big gains sell and rebuy low, but you only need to be wrong once to ruin weeks of trading.

I appreciate you for sharing your story with steemit. I hope many people share their crypto journey on Steemit and we can together help the new comers onboard easily.

We’ll together make an more positive impact in many people’s life.

Keep up your good work and don’t get too greedy.lol

Thanks my friend I hope to never get to greedy, but life is funny sometimes. Hope we can make a great impact together on this platform.

Congrats!

I’ve done well with crypto as well. Obviously, not million dollar well, but if there’s another bull run like what happened last year, I should be able to be mortgage free at 40.

Glad you are doing well, being mortgage free was the first goal and we nailed that one. You will feel so free once you do it.

Yes, I can imagine. I’ve been talking about being mortgage free with the wife for years. I sure as in the hell don’t want to pay off a mortgage until my 60s.

Yea that’s the last thing you want

Very exiting. Im curious how did you make the majority of your money? Tradeing? Mining? POS?
Im really interested your an inspiration.

Trading and pos were my biggest earners.

If you dont mind what is your trading strategy? Are you a swing trader, day trader, or investor.
What coins were you pos.
Im doing pos with reddcoin and hyperstake, what do you think about those two?

I am primarily a holder, and my pos coins are Zcoin ark and pivx.

Rdd and hyperstake are not the best of prospects.

Thank you for the information I will look into those coins.

A huge congratulations on this success!

Thank you boss.

You are the boss here :p
I want a gift on this huge achievement :p

Wow for real!!, this success story made my day

Lol man thats some cool story to tell ! I really like stories where hard work meets opportunity = incredible results ! I really believe I will join the MM club soon enough, though I am far from this figure as of now but I am keeping the good work and things will definitely happen :) Thanks for this post ! Great story !

Thank brother. Keep with the good research and avoind pump and dump groups and things will pay off very quickly. I honestly feel we have barely scratched the surface of what crypto has in store.

This is insane and I love it! I need to go full nerd and learn as much as I can about crypto. I feel like I'm right at the edge of the rabbit hole and I need to dive right on in. The rest of this year is going to be intense!

Going full nerd opened a few doors as my research became useful to others and we would trade all the time. this allowed our growth to be more speedy and less hectic. remember to never put in more then you can afford to lose.

I have heard about stories of people leaving their paid jobs to joining the crypto train fulltime
Your success story within seven months is truly inspiring.
Congratulations!
I hope to contact you to learn some tips on succeeding in the crypto space

Always willing to help in any way possible. Just give me a shout and Ill see what i can do.

Oops! Don't know how to get to you for a private chat

It was nice reading this post. You told it in a way even I can understand. As I understand it is in the cryptoworld the same as over here at Steemit? If you know nobody you will make no income at all. If it comes to the cryptocurencies you jumped in at the right time plus you had someone who did support you so you could invest all your time to study what it is about and... you had money to invest.
I am sure you will find a way over here as well. I am happy for you and your wife the time and money you invested was worth it and it improved your lives. Thanks for sharing your story.

I am glad you enjoyed it. I am always sure to highlight both my luck and connections when telling my story as it was not all me. I hope you take this and run with it in your crypto journey.

I doubt I will end up with you. Might be that if it comes to it I have less energy (less time for sure) but I am interested, willing to learn and to find out how it all works out. Who knows my children have some benefit of what I learn/find out. Thanks again for the sharing.

It's great that you and your wife kept cool and took out part of the investment bits by bits. I know a guy who got a bit greedy and lost half of the investment due to the plunge.

Any tips on finding good ICOs? DYOR of course but as there are so many ICOs going on right now, it's hard to pick one. My strategy is to find trust-worthy investors and narrow the options down according to their recommendations so that I don't have to waste my time on shitty projects. Any advice would be appreciated!

Yea taking money out was easy as our initial goal was 300k and pay everytihng off. When we blew past that it was all cake from there. My wife is awesome in that she allows me to really explore what my brain can do within reason of course.

As for ICOs, it really boils down to 2 thingsL Tokenomincs and Usecase. Most people go for what is hype and will blow up on trading day, I prefer tokens that actually solve glaring issues. For example:

We currently have a problem with the MT gox trustee dumping on exchanges. Well Republic protocol is offering to create a dark pool protocol that would allow the dumping of mass coins on exchange and no one have a clue. I find this usefull in the long term so it is something I have jumped into.

Lucky you to have such an amazing wife!

Very interesting about Republic protocol. I just checked out their website but man... they have all those big crypto funds behind their back!

I totally agree with you that it's better to invest in the actual solutions rather than aiming for quick bucks. I've been mainly looking at remittance and bank-the-unbanked sector as they are something I'm familiar with but will keep an eye on protocols too. Thanks!

Protocols and platforms seem to be the best long holds as they are the most diverse. I am HUGE in a few top platform and do not plan on scaling back.

Will definitely do more research on them! Thanks again and wish you best luck🤞

Taking a gamble is a part of almost every victory.There are no self made millionaires that didn't have to gamble.It can be leaving your current job or school or investing your most valuable thing(time,money,effort)You can consider yourself as "self made man".You could've just keep working and live normal life like most people do(preety much above standards lol)Most people are to afraid to sacrafice something and this is the reason why they wont achieve anything huge in their lifes.

The gamble was made easy by solid hedges. It does feel good to know my family is self made but we still have a long way to go. No time to get comfortable in success.

That is awesome! No, I don't think it's stupid that you quit your job to trade crypto. You believed in yourself and you made it happen. A lot of people don 't have the guts to quit their job because they don't believe in themselves and can't fathom a risk like that. Props to you!

I hope all well goes with your taxes! I hope you re-invest in real estate or something stable haha. Anyways good luck and keep growing buddy! This is the only beginning of crypto!! @crypto2crypto

Only left because I knew I could come back anytime I wanted and that i had 6 months of expenses ready to roll, otherwise I would have stayed. Taxes are covered and as for real estate, I have been buying properties in detroit. Take some time and see the madness going on out there.

You are on a great path. Great job on your success buddy!!!

💪

By the way @crypto2crypto, any books or online resources you would suggest for learning how cryptocurrency works ? I would love to be able to buy some but have no idea where/who to look toward. I agree that learning about it well is likely crucial to making wise decisions with it. Any help is appreciated and thanks in advance.

Hey hey, Carter thomas and Andreas Antonopoulos, were pivotal in my early stages and I hope they can be of help to you.

you rock the faces off of mt. rushmore ! I will look into these. many thanks !

you are very welcome.

Great, inspiring post. I am just getting started in crypto currencies. I am 19 and only recently started earning decently to be able to invest a few hundred dollars in crypto every few months. Do you think it is late now to see returns like yours? What advice do you have for people like me who just started?

Take time research and avoid signal groups

Amazing stuff! Do you think we've passed that stage in crypto now? Part of me feels that 2017 was the breakout year and that we won't see such exponential gains any more

Man we still have a long way to go, we have yet to scratch it’s surface.

Hi @crypto2crypto. Thanks for this post man - I really enjoyed it and really well done on taking some profits at just the right time. I will be reading a lot more about your journey going forward! Would love to know some of your long term horses! (Have a few of them myself :) Anyway, thanks for the post man - and congratulations again!

Thanks my friend. It’s been one heck of a journey and some of my long horses are

Ven Nuls Eos aph Ren

Awesome, thank you crypto2crypto. Appreciate it. Will check them out. Some of my long horses are the steady earners bnb, kcs, Neo. Will be adding them all the time.

There are 3 pages
Pages