Culture fun!

in #culture3 years ago

IMG_4386.jpg


I wish I was born American just to open that many gifts #lol

I'm an Asian with an American boyfriend. I think one of the most fun part is getting to know his family and the American family culture. Something I had never experienced as a Thai/Asian kid... This last month alone, I have joined in a few family events and had some fun...

A birthday with all family members surrounding waiting for me to open load tons of gifts all at once. This, I'm not quite sure. If it's a culture thing or I was just a bit too unfortunate #lol Though, it's just fun trying to find a gift that would light up the boy's day and not hurt my wallet. It also was so fun to see how excited he was to open all the gifts one by one...

Thanksgiving day was never really celebrated in Thailand as it's totally way too far from my culture. I love how family get together, making a big meal (HUGE turkey), and eat all together. This, I think we have it in Asian even more often, just no turkey attends :D Best thing is, the next day where all the products are on sale,

.. go Black Friday goooo!

Gift season! Christmas seems to be a big holiday or even the biggest one around. People are going crazy and whatever mails supposed to be delivered, seems like they're not arriving in time. I love shopping around this time period due to how much stuff is on sales starting on Black Friday. I don't think we have this crazy gift season in Asia, do we?


This past Saturday..

Decorate Christmas tree cake! Santa is coming to town and the kids are getting all excited! I always know there's no such thing as 'A real Santa' wait.. is there? but the kids seem to be working hard being good kids so that Santa will bring gifts to them on Christmas Eve. One of the fun activities toward Christmas is to make a Gingerbread house or build this pretty Christmas tree cake. How fun!! Wish we had this fun family day (for kids, mostly :D) growing up!

IMG_4369.jpg

IMG_4370.jpg

IMG_4372.jpg

IMG_4376.jpg

IMG_4377.jpg

IMG_4379.jpg

IMG_4383.jpg

IMG_4384.jpg

IMG_4394.jpg

IMG_4401.jpg

IMG_4402.jpg


Any of these days you had growing up?

Well.. I'm jelly! <3

Sort:  

I have had many moments like this! In Venezuela we celebrate everything and we are very familiar. I loved those images, my friend. The family looks very united, the children very happy and the food very tasty. In this Christmas season I think that is the dream of many people: to be around a table with beloved people. Beautiful festivities and hugs. ;)

Lovely! I'm jealousss :D Thank you for checking the post out as always <3 The kids sending some hugs to you :D

Qué lindo! Diles que igualmente. Te lo escribo en español para que los niños sepan que también hablas español y que eres una chica no solo bonita, también inteligente. Cuídate ;D

Aw! Graciasss jaja. Cuidate! <3