DEAR STEEMIT ASK WEEK 3 IS ON! 10SBD PRIZE POOL! SHARE YOUR ADVISE AND WIN!!!!

in #dearsteemit7 years ago (edited)

EARNING THAT 'FOLLOW' (1).png


Dear Steemit is a weekly contest in search of the best advise on a given situation.

A call for help from a fellow steemian was received this week. A troubled artist is struggling to decide on which to prioritize- immediate needs or investment?

Read on and help out 'Never Thought I Could Be An Artist.'

Dear Steemit,

My spouse and I are in dire financial straights, and have been for several years now. I'm disabled and unable to work, and unable to collect disability due to things not relevant right now. Thanks to Steemit, I've been able to make a little money. We really need all the money we can get, but I think I should buy a drawing tablet as soon as I make enough money for it.

My reasoning is this: I've been trying to draw for most of my life. For a brief period as a teenager, I was kinda halfway alright at it. But that quickly went away for whatever reason. I've desperately wanted to be able to draw the beautiful images in my head, as well as the characters I write. I always wondered if digital art would be easier for me than using analog materials. Since coming to Steemit, I've been using a poorly-functioning Samsung Galaxy Note II to draw digitally. My art has drastically improved in just a couple months. At this point, I'm mostly held back by the limitations of my device. I'm still learning, still getting better, but the device I have to use to do it is starting to really hold me back.

I feel like, if I can get a decent drawing tablet, that I can make more money overall, and probably at a decent rate.

But we have things we need to get taken care of as soon as we can.

So, Steemit, I leave this question with you: Should I buy a drawing tablet as soon as I possibly can, or should I spend my SBD on things that we need really badly but haven't been able to take care of for months on end anyways?

It'll be a risk, but I feel in my gut that this risk may just be worth it and could pay off well.

Sincerely,
Never Thought I Could Be An Artist

EDIT: Additional info from the letter sender.

Hello again.

I feel the need to explain a little more.

I’m not asking about getting an expensive tablet. Or an expensive computer to go with it or anything. I’m just fine using my obsolete laptop and free art software. I’m asking about buying a $44 monoprice tablet. (Finances are tough enough that that’s a big investment for us.) I have spoken with my spouse. My spouse thinks we should do it. They have watched me try to draw for almost thirteen years, and they are amazed by how quickly I’m improving. But I’m still very unsure and want to do the right thing. I do not want to buy a used tablet because I have had terrible luck with used electronics, and that’s not a risk I want to take because I need it to make money.

Some of our needs are very necessary, but we’re unable to save up enough for them in a reasonable amount of time. (Repairing our only vehicle, as buying another -- even used vehicle -- is not a reasonable option at this point in time.) My spouse thinks that we can repair the vehicle sooner if we put the money into a drawing tablet first.

I have been practicing drawing by hand since I was a child. I do not improve. I stopped improving a long time ago. To the point that my heart has been aching for what I’m not able to put on paper that’s in my head. But with digital art, I’ve been improving by leaps and bounds, and I’m starting to be able to put the images in my head on a computer screen.

My device is very limited. It’s very old, and it doesn’t work well. There’s no fixing it. It’s just old technology and the hardware has died twice. Technically my phone consists of two dead phones that were scrapped and combined to make a single almost-working phone. The screen sensitivity is starting to give out, making drawing become more difficult. I’m afraid that this phone is not going to last much longer, especially if I keep using it so much like this.

As for my disabilities, I’m chronically ill and I suffer from constant agonizing pain throughout my body. Because I’m under forty years old, it’s damn near impossible to get any medical help with my pain. (Pot is illegal where I live. I don’t want to completely screw over my chances with doctors yet.) I can’t go out and work, and not for lack of trying. I’ve tried working at home, but I’ve had no luck with that, either. Steemit is the best thing that’s happened to me.

As a roleplayer (on hiatus due to a lack of decent roleplay partners) I know how much people are willing to pay to have others draw their characters. So I feel like I could very well start making a living that way if I can continue to improve.

While I love my spouse and respect their opinion on this matter, I’m afraid that they might be trying to encourage me and help ease my severe depression, as being useless and not contributing weighs heavily on me. I want to make sure that if we buy this tablet, we buy it for the right reasons. Not because my spouse trying to make me feel better.

As for the person suggesting my spouse joins Steemit…yeah, that’s not going to happen. My spouse is very antisocial, even on social media. They make maybe three Facebook posts a year. My spouse just isn’t the type of person that can easily do something like Steemit.

Sincerely,
Never Thought I Could Be An Artist

Share your thoughts for a chance to win. Here are the things you need to know:

  • A sticky situation will be posted once a week (Sunday/Monday) and contest will run for 7 days from posting.
  • To enter the contest, simply COMMENT YOUR ADVISE or
  • CREATE A POST on your page about the topic, and put in the comments here the link for the post.
  • An UPVOTE is a MUST to qualify.
  • A RESTEEM is highly appreciated, but not a requirement. This will also help increase the reward pool for the succeeding weeks.
  • PRIZES totals to 10 SBD, broken down as follows:
  • 1st Place- 5 SBD
  • 2nd Place- 3 SBD
  • 3rd Place- 2 SBD
  • Winners will be announced on the 8th day from contest posting.
  • 1st place will be chosen by this week's letter-sender and judge!
  • 2nd and 3rd will be chosen via MOST UPVOTE COUNT.

If you find this worthwhile and would wish to support the project, please let me know, this is ALWAYS welcome!

Comment your thoughts on this and upvote! Resteem would be much appreciated to help increase the prize pool for the succeeding weeks.


True to the spirit of the Steemit community, I am excited to see finally, Dear Steemit is starting to be a venue to positively discuss possible solutions to a given challenging situation. Steemit's very own advise column, where all of us take part in counseling!

Most of us may have found ourselves in a position where we have to make tough decisions, and we seek other's counsel to help us in our decision-making. Dear Steemit aims to be a venue for this- the scenarios may be real-life experiences, or theoretical, that most people may relate to. If you have a challenging situation to share and would wish for the Steemit community's advise, feel free to message me via discord or steemit chat, username dreamiely.



Need advise? Most of us do.
Share some insights? Most of us can!


Steeming happily ever after,

Dreamiely.PNG


19531671_10154756361095922_109565872_o.png


19495746_10154756361000922_461384570_o (1).png


Sort:  

The first thing I'd do in the writer's situation is sit down with the spouse, and take some time to go over the list of things they thought they needed badly. For each item on that list, figure out what they've been doing in the absence of said item and determine whether or not they can continue coping in that way. If they think they can continue coping for a while longer, then the item isn't needed THAT badly; money that would've been spent for that specific item can instead go towards saving up for the new tablet. On the other hand, if the determination is that the couple can't continue coping, then there is a genuine need that should be taken care of. Money should be prioritized to addressing genuine needs first before saving up for the tablet.

Unfortunately there is only limited information about the writer's situation. We don't know what kind of disability they have, how it affects their everyday life, if there's stuff in their home that's broken and needs to be repaired, etc. If more information were available, respondents to this post would be able to provide more specific advice or guidance.

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

Excellent. Given that the spouse supports making this $44 investment, I say that the artist should go for it. Here are some additional ideas:

  • If money still needs to be saved to purchase the tablet, are there micro-crowdfunding options available?
  • I'm aware of several illustrators who have gone to Patreon and utilized that as an extra income stream; perhaps the artist should look into that.
  • Would the artist be willing to post some of their past work here on Steemit? It is possible that exposing their work to Steemit might impress someone enough that they'd be willing to order some commissioned art. Bonus points (and cash) if the artist and prospective client can work out a deal that involves two versions of the same commissioned artwork; one made from the old tablet and the other from the new one.

Hi, This is indeed an interesting situation. Here are some things to consider while making your decision.

How proficient are you with your drawing skills? If you are a beginner and just trying to hone your drawing skills, then I would say no. Spend your money on your bills and practice drawing with a pen and pencil. You seem like you may have some experience so...

How proficient are you with photoshop/corel and any other digital editing software? There is a big learning curve here.
if you have a little experience that will help but learning everything these programs have can get frustrating.

On the bright side there is a tutorial for just about anything and if you are confident in your skills, then I say go for it!

That is unless....
You really should use that money for the cancer medicine.

Thanks for the continuous support and participation @doctorcrypto! The letter sender will have a big reveal once the contest ends. Stay tuned ^_^

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

This post received a 4.3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @dreamiely! For more information, click here!

Steem happily ever after ♥

Yep! Steemit is made of stuff same as that of fairy tales ^_^

First off, I'm sorry that you're in such a situation. It's difficult to deal with having disabilities on top of being short on money. That aside, here's my take:

We all have needs but it's important to also realize that needs are defined by how much importance we give it and so, our level of adjustment depends on the weight with which we define a need. Example, with the vehicle. Is it possible to commute? Or would repairing it be more cost-effective? It is the little things that would help you decide, ultimately, if those other needs should come above the need for a tablet. But be it that your spouse thinks it's a good idea to buy a tablet, it is also important to talk about the reason for your partner's agreement. Yes, it could be that your spouse is trying to make you feel better. But isn't that a good reason, regardless? After all, if you're suffering from pain and depression, it is also a weight on the minds and hearts of the people around you. It might be that they want to help you but they cannot help any other way. They might see the tablet as a long-term investment. How? For one, if it makes you happy and eases your pain, it puts them at ease enough to be able to concentrate on other aspects that need to be seen to. Another important point, as you mentioned, it can help you earn money thereby earning back the money it cost to buy it (as well as earning more after recovering the cost) and potentially be an additional source of income to help with the other needs.

Evaluate the other needs, too, as I mentioned with the vehicle. Consider if there are other alternatives in dealing with the other needs. Then compare it with the tablet (you've already mentioned you're not going anywhere with the paper and pen approach). If guilt and being selfless are holding you back from evaluating effectively and logically, understand that it is difficult for your loved ones to see you struggle and perhaps seeing you happy (and productive) in the long run is a need for them, too.

Best wishes :)

hi 'Never Thought I Could Be An Artist'

i have read your letter. Hopefully reading twice is enough to try to put myself in your shoes.

The message that i am receiving are the following:

  • your current physical disability makes working at home the best option and Steemit community is ideal for you

  • you got the artists' hand and eyes to create digital arts which you want to continue to cultivate and add beauty around you. And with that same skill generate continuous income for you and your family

  • you got a supportive spouse encouraging you to have a better digital toolkit

💡So should you need a new digital tool? Yes, specially you mentioned your current device is nearing the end of its working lifespan

💡Can you still create digital arts now using your existing tools? If yes, keep creating and keep sharing.

💡Is getting a new device a MUST? if yes, then go for it.

💡When will i get a new device? My suggestion which works most of the time is to walk to your wall calendar and encircle the exact date you'll get it. For example, if the gadget cost 44 dollars, aim to set aside 1 dollar per day. Then after 44 days, together with ur wife, purchase the gadget. Assuming you start setting aside 1 dollar today, you would have 44 dollars on August 23, 2017. The duration i set is just an example.

I look forward to see your creations. All the best 🌄

I would say it's a matter of perspective. My brother is a super talented artist. I actually got him a tablet on Christmas of last year and he is really just now learning and utilizing the drawing tablet to its full potential. Also depending on the tablet you buy some require additional software. If it were me I'd try to find something that has it all. When he draws he also uses a hand sleeve as screen sensitivity can be an issue. I would say if its a necessity vs. want situation, cover your necessities first or you will find yourself further behind. I am in no way suggesting to not to follow your heart. Art is a skill and I am truly inspired but the things people post on Steemit. Trust in the Steemian Community, we are here for you. If you are willing to share your identity on Steem, I will follow and upvote. I think everyone deserves a chance. Resteeming this post! Steem on!

Hi @travelnurse, identity reveal will be made once the contest ends. The sender opted to remain unknown during the contest run. Thank you for the support and participation!

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

I understand this situation a hundred percent. The only difference is I'm physically fit and have a permanent work. Although the pay is good, and together with the funds I'm cashing out from Steemit, sometimes it still doesn't cut it and I still have to earn more. I have the same issue. I only draw on paper, an entry level phone, and a laptop that was borrowed (i don't have a touch pad i only use a mouse); I could really use a device that has a pen so that I can draw better, but finances doesn't let me buy one. Here's what I can advise. Set your priorities first. I feel you're an amazing artist, the medium only helps with the art; it's the heart that makes it. It's you who make the art, not your gadget. Some artist try to be resourceful and even go over the limits of their medium. If you can make it with what little you have now, it will hone your skills. You don't need an iPad Pro or a Surface to create art. You just need a creative brain, a heart for art, and tons of perseverance. Time will fly and you won't notice you have a workstation of your own. A big Wacom and high end PCs. Be brave, don't stop drawing, you'll make it with flying RGBs and CyMgYs (don't know if that's right). Cheers!

Thanks for the participation and support @deveerei! Stay tuned ^_^

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

Parang gusto ko na din ng pen-tab. Napanood ako ng reviews sa YouTube.

Not sure if you're religious or not. If you are pray about it first.

So here's my opinion:
I would say since you have communicated the need for a tablet with your wife, and have looked at the financials, if she's ok with it, then you should go ahead and buy it.

Some of the most weathly people started out/or were in a similar situation like you at some point. The road block 99.9% of the time is going to be financial. However, if you truly believe that your skills are progressing as an artist and buying this tablet will help take you to the next level, then it's completely worth the risk! You mentioned that you aren't quite 40 yet. This is perfect, because you're still young enough to where even if you loose on this investment (I'm almost certain you won't), then you'll have plenty of years to make up for it!

I know some people might mention you need to take care of things by a list of prioritizing. Although I do agree that the tablet is on the lower list of priorities right now, I do believe that in the long run, if taken seriously, your ROI I'll more then pay for the tablet, and help pay for other necessary items as well.

I hope this helps, and God Bless!

I would buy a cheap used Graphic-Tablet and pay the bills from the rest of the money. After you earned some money with your art, you can sell the Tablet for nearly the same price you bought it and buy a better one.

Thank you for sharing your inisghts @c-c-c!

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

I often tell myself I am going to start doing something, like last month I told myself I was going to start running every morning then I thought to myself

well if I am going to be running every morning I need to buy myself a pair of running shoes, and I need to buy myself a heart monitor ( like a fit bit ), and he'll I also need running shorts.

So in my case this was my mind trying to make excuses why I should not run. If it was me I would not worrie right now about the tablet I would just keep doing what I was already doing and take care of the important stuff in life first. I would get a tablet when I knew I could afford it with out a doubt. Hope my advise and insight helps hope you figure it out.

Prioritisation. As with all things in life, a need needs to be attended to first and foremost, depending on what that is.
As for your future tablet:

  1. You can either get a cheaper one that can do something similar to what you have in mind.
  2. Get your tablet, payable by installments.
  3. Make a post about it here so members can pitch in. Ive read of a few members getting a laptop this way.
    Remember though that if you do get your tablet now, future earnings will still depend on people buying your art. As with any investment, risks are there, it can provide you more than you need or vice versa.

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

I guess we have in common situation I need to think wisely for the best solution.Im also in very much need a single mom of 3 I dont have a proper income and depend online I used to have a good RTW business but ruinned because of too much trust.Im only using a poor starmobile android phone to steem and very slow pocket wi fi and this very old too slow laptop.I know I can make more money online if I have faster internet and faster gadgets because I have a lot of online jobs but I prefer to prioritized my kids needs and our basic needs than to buy faster gadgets and for faster internet connection.

So my advice is to prioritized the most important needs.When the income is good like if you start to earn 100 dollars a day here at steemit then time to buy new gadgets but for now we just need to be patient and keep working if the gadgets are too slow.Believe me all of our sacrifice one day will be worthy.I believe that here at Steemit theres success! just stay possitive...

Upvoted! :)
My opinion: Since the wife already agreed with it and thinks that it is a must to buy the gadget, the main focus should be in getting the money to buy for it and not on thinking whether to buy it or not.
You can try to sell things that you do not need anymore or a garage sale if that will be possible. You can also try lending or borrowing money from friends and promised them to pay it little by little. It is also an option to buy a second hand gadget so that it will be cheaper but of course make sure that it is perfectly working and will suit your needs. Good luck. :)

Hi there, Never Thought I Could Be An Artist,
First of all, congratulations on making significant sums on Steemit! It's a dream and a goal for many of us!
Nextly, do you and your honeybunch agree on this? Will you both support whichever decision you come to? That is one of the most important factors that needs to weigh into your choice.
Lastly, I read a steemit article recently about technological obsolescence. The relevance to your situation is that it is likely that there is a 2-year old piece of equipment out there that you can buy for a fraction of the cost of a new one, that will serve you just as well as a new one would.
As long as we're thinking outside the box, I think offering your services as an artist in exchange for the funds to purchase this piece of equipment might be exactly the thing that you could find support for on Steemit. Many of the more prominent users offer #steemgigs to designers and artists to help them improve the quality of their posts. Perhaps one of them will give you an advance so that you can have the best equipment available to do a job for them!

Good luck,
We're all making it up as we go along,
@improv

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

Thanks. With that new information, I whole-heartedly endorse the idea of getting a tablet. A $44 tablet that could turn around your finances is absolutely worth the risk. I'm a smart, creative problem-finder, and I'm having difficulty concocting a scenario in which it is the wrong choice. GO FOR IT. Buy the thing and use it! I hope you succeed beyond your wildest dreams.

IF YOUR SPOUSE IS RATIONAL ENOUGH to understand your intentions. Sit down together to discuss when he/she is in a mood for a conversation of this nature.

  • Make a list of your (you and your spouse) spending priorities.
  • Draw a backup plan with respect to how you can buy your drawing pad later even if it doesn't make it to the priority list or does not make it to the top of the list(if you can't afford to purchase it right now).
  • If you are 200% sure that you can start making money right after you get the drawing pad and START DRAWING. let your spouse know this, so that you can both include it on your priority list or prioritize your drawing pad over other expenses.
  • Be sure that you have clients waiting to get and pay for your services before you place all your bets on getting the drawing pad. you will be more frustrated getting the pad and not making money with it ASAP. Therefore, if your spouse is not a GREEDY person that would exploit your openness to discuss the issue, make sure your spouse is in on how you spend whatever you currently have. Why is because YOU WILL STILL HAVE HIS/HER SUPPORT EVEN IF THINGS DON'T GO AS PLANNED. You don't want to bear the consequences alone.
    If your spouse can cover pending or other expenses while you get your act together towards earning through drawing. Then you can go ahead to get her permission and let him/her know the TRUE POTENTIAL BEHIND what you intend to do and how it would benefit you both. Don't force him/her to agree or force your decision down his or her throat.
  • If you can start making money immediately from drawing, you may buy the drawing pad and begin work immediately. However, make sure you have a plan B on how to take care of other urgent expenses that your current budget does not cover.
  • Finally, how to spend the current bufdget you have should be a joint decision made by you and your spouse.
  • Checking if you can actually make enough money to contribute to the sustainance of your family through drawing. Scale your potential income from drawing against other means through you can make money.
  • make sure is not just a temporary hobby that makes you feel better about yourself, but something you can actually make money from.
  • Respect your spouses' opinion about your decision. Remember you're disabled and he/she is probably the only support you have. You might not want to get on the bad side.
  • I understand your intentions to support your family, but make sure your ego is not involved, allow room for mutual understanding and decision making.
  • I am wishing you a success, fulfillment, and prosperity in whatever you chose to do for a living as long as it doesn't put anyone in trouble.

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

You have the support of your spouse to buy the new tab. Please do so. One fact is true til this day. You need to invest money to make money. I completely support you investing in an asset, not a liability, that way you can make money continuously to assist yourself and your family.
good luck with getting clients. Regardless of the kind of tab you buy, if you don't grow your client base. you might get stuck as well. With that being said get the new tab and worry about getting clients. Good luck mate!

Depends on what the things they need that they weren't able to take care of. If it's related to health they should prioritize. But an investment for better or high quality work output is also essential to get more financial leverage in the months to come.

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

invite your wife to steemit too this will atleast double your earnings and you can easily buy that drawing pad :)

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

As I am also an artist. I will suggest to buy a pen tablet as soon as possible. If budget is your problem you can go for Wacom Tablets, they are cheap and performance is good. It will improve your creativity and soon you will be earning a handsome amount with your artworks.

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

It is really very tempting to take risks, especially when our gut-feeling says "go ahead". As they say: "high risk, high returns". Or losses. Who knows?
We do not know the whole situation of our letter sender but based on what has been given, I would say, hold on just yet. Finish your obligations and slowly save up for the tablet. And yes, there are establishments that can offer such devices on installments so that can also be an option. Remember though that the installment amount will have to be included on your expenses calculation for a period of time until the term finishes. So they have to make adjustments on their budget. Then again, the income he may earn from his artworks using the device may be enough to pay for the installment or even support other household expenses. Possibilities are endless. We just have to exert a little more effort.
Hang in there, my friend. You'll get there. Best of luck!

Hi, additional info provided above by the letter sender, please check it out ^_^

Right, with that I would say "go for it" because you seem really confident that you can easily earn back this money from your commissioned works. You should not feel guilty because your intentions are good and would not spend the money for any luxury. That is an investment, a tool required for work. Most importantly, you have the support of your spouse so stop breaking your heart and get that tablet. 😉
Best of luck!

I just saw the awesome comment you left on my youtube video and felt like thanking you. You seem to be doing good on Steem. I love this contest. Steem on my friend!

Yay, THE BLING!!! Lol.
Yep, I'm doing ok, the community has been great so far! Thanks for stopping by! ^_^

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dreamiely from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 2.39 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @dreamiely.