Voluntary Japan: Thoughts on Death and Consciousness

in #death7 years ago

Memento mori. I think it’s time I face the fact that I’m gonna die, and figure out, in light of this cold, hard, factual reality, how I’m going to live.

Walking and talking. Sharing my myriad and diverse thoughts on the topic. Asking yours.


Alan Watts link:

Steemit article link: https://steemit.com/running/@kafkanarchy84/f5ltb-10-26-2017-shoegaze-church-and-thoughts-of-death-on-a-late-night-run

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Very interesting points you make. At age 81, I think more about death and how it will be. I have just lost a family member who was about 15 yrs. younger than I and he had suffered greatly over the past two years and was so afraid of how the end would be.
I remember reading an article written by the present Pope. I am a Christian but not Catholic and I remember the Pope saying in the piece that (paraphrasing) when death comes and we cross over that is when the real party begins. My main concern is getting out of this life with as little pain for me and my loved ones as possible. How I accomplish that I don't know. Thanks for sharing this topic and your thoughts as not many don't want to talk about it face to face.

Thanks so much, @team101.It certainly seems like, if we can make peace with, and come to terms with our own mortality and transcience, life can be lived so much more fully.

I’m reminded of the stage play “Our Town,” and the main character revisiting memories as a ghost—her birthday party, I think it was—and exclaiming in desperation that everyone was together and everything was so precious and beautiful, but everyone in the scene was caught up in their own world, and didn’t even really notice the beauty and preciousness of it all. Life. Love. The people surrounding us...

I left organized religion a few years back, but I cannot help but feel something beyond. There are experiences and impressions beyond words. Life is such a mystery. What do I know? I don’t even know how my brain is causing my fingers to type this right now. It makes me feel humble, and in awe.

Really appreciate your thoughts. God bless, and have a great day.

I was raised a Protestant and raised my family in that faith. Sometime I feel that organized religion can be a real stumbling block. After all people will be people. I just want to be sure the Master and I are on good terms!

Good morning friend! It's now about 7.46am in India... You may be come out for your job, and also I am also keep busy with my breakfast preparation, and then to have go to job.. Of course, we will not able to tell what will happen thereafter. It is 100'/,right, we are unknown how many minutes we left in our life...get to read such type of interesting post at starting of the day, really make my morning with more energetic.. Because, we should try to make our each and every present moment with a successful and happy way... Thanks for sharing your nice feelings.. Have a great day to you and your beautiful family👪

Thank you! Good morning, and you as well! Yes. Let’s be real, living human beings today. God bless you!

Welcome dear friend!

Very good points, thank you. It really is a balancing act each day betwen the things we should be concentrating our time on and the things we have to do to survive in this modern world. It seems that time speeds up as you get older. Thanks @kafkanarchy84

Thanks, @jbcoin. It’s always good to hear from you. Yes, it seems to go faster and faster...

Really happy I came by this post. This sort of philosophical content is what is needed in the world. So many people are lost in the meaningless void of attaining physical luxuries and self-gratification, forgetting the truly meaningful aspects of life.
Keep doing what you're doing,
My favourite steemit post so far :)
God bless

Thanks so much man. I really appreciate that.

Good morning friend! It's now about 7.46am in India... You may be come out for your job, and also I am also keep busy with my breakfast preparation, and then to have go to job.. Of course, we will not able to tell what will happen thereafter. It is 100'/,right, we are unknown how many minutes we left in our life...get to read such type of interesting post at starting of the day, really make my morning with more energetic.. Because, we should try to make our each and every present moment with a successful and happy way... Thanks for sharing your nice feelings.. Have a great day to you and your beautiful family👪

Thanks, @mehorab.hossain. I really appreciate that. I hope you had a great day! God bless.

Yeah..God knows where our destiny will take us..Feeling of loosing the family, close ones cannot be described ...But I think, as life has to go on, we have to move forward without thinking of the death.

I strongly believe that death is a place along the way, inextricably linked to this thing we call life. Like you, having lost quite a number of family members in the past several years, I too am thinking about this thing called death and wondering how much longer I should remain in this rat race called 9 to 5, waiting on a monthly paycheck.

The problem is that we see death as an end on one hand, and there is the fear of the unknown, so we try to preserve the material things that are in our lives.

Thanks for this expose. I really like your stuff. I will be looking at more of your posts.

I'm sorry to hear about the passing of your family members.

Yeah man. I don't want to keep running on this little hamster wheel generating power for people I disagree with. It's kind of a balancing act as we escape, hey?

Cheers man. Following you on here now, too.

Death is uncertain....no one knows when one die..but why should we think much about death..this is a beautiful life...we should live it as much as possible....

Memento mori. Second time I have seen this phrase in the last hour or so? Synchronicity?

I just think that it's a mystery. That's a fact. No one will ever get it figured out.

My mind is simply my processor, its not who I am. Whats happens? Don't know If I'll be able to process it once separated from my mind (dead)

Beautifully!

I love your post and love your life you are really awesome can you tell me your name?

excellent I invite you to go through my profile so you can observe my content and follow me .. greetings