You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposal to pay Crimsonclad a salary + extra budget to get listings & general improvements to Hive's perception

in #dhf2 months ago

What about her day job?
Is she willing to give it up to focus full time on Hive.

Its a good idea but it needs to be run by her.

Sort:  

So, if you're considering daily hours as "full time," I've basically been full time here since we launched the fork :) I start my days from 5am-9, with some days starting at 3-4am if global meetings necessitate, work one to two hours over the course of the day, and then again do two to three hours in the evening from 6-10pm. This has been consistent for... well, forever! (It's midday for me right now) and it works fairly well as it allows for me to cover off euro and asia times where most of our exchanges, partnerships, and many of our events etc are located.

Some days, I put more work in on Hive in general, than I do my career. That being said, at this time, the proposal I would be making would not be for an ongoing salary, nor would it be valued at the actual amount that most of these tasks are "worth", as I don't think that's helpful to the chain. I'll further break down my thoughts on it to come, but until such time as there's a foundation or actual regulated way to formulate a position with set tasks and KPIs, leaving my job wouldn't do much to improve my "work" here while also basically making me homeless and removing my ability to drive the most value to the ecosystem with the greatest results for the least cost (which most of the time I try to make sure is by donation of my time.)

I don't know how you fit it all in.
Glad you are on-board with this.

Check the overall trajectory of my post history and it paints a pretty clear picture, lol 🖤

I think she already puts full time focus on Hive, as well as a day job, heh.

Full time focus (as well as a day job) does not compute. I don't want to down play the great things she has done, but if someone has a job, they are not 'full time focus' on something else.

You must not know very many entrepreneurs, single parents, or people who work two jobs then. It is absolutely possible to put in 12-16 hour days across two+ things. It's difficult, and not always long term sustainable, but it is beyond possible (speaking as someone who has done it).

I would never pay 9k a month to someone who already has a full time job on the hope that they will take this unsustainable path.

Ah, well sure—that sounds like a different argument though.

In most cases I'd agree with that idea.

In this case:

  • we've someone who's essentially proven they can handle the demand (3-4 years of evidence)
  • there's the 'backpay' context—those 3-4 years of working for free are kind built into comp I believe, but that's admittedly not explicit
  • there's the risk of losing this very valuable person to the unsustainable burnout. As a community we currently offer ~$0 to stick with us. The day job presumably offers >$0. It's a good idea to 'put in an offer' if we all think there's more value to be had here

There's some conflicting concepts in there, yes (handle vs burnout). Risk = she continues to take both on, can't, chooses the day job, and then doesn't give back the DHF funds. I personally think that's a very small risk, but wouldn't fault anyone for disagreeing.

Anyhow, @apshamilton's statement stands:

Its a good idea but it needs to be run by her.

And looking at the edit in the proposal, seems that's the way it's going anyway :)

I would say that my focus is indeed almost full time on Hive, but as noted in another reply to this comment, you can see my thought process on it. There are basically zero days that go by where I do not put in 7-9 hours a day, and I am always on call, to everyone, for everything.

In the idea of "a set monthly salary that is ongoing forever" a job's tasks, scopes, and reporting would need to be determined. I would need to have it nested in a structure that protected me as an employee. The way that I approach tasks now is that I take on whatever there is that needs doing that no one else will tackle, while having expanded and maintained all of our relationships since the literal inception of the chain.

So, being employed solely by Hive to be focused on Hive? No. But to say that the bulk of my daily focus isn't here, therefore not worth being accurately valued? Tough. We'll likely disagree on that point, but that's the lovely part about a DAO, and I am not looking to define a longterm position or salary because our ecosystem is not prepared for that either :)