DIY Backyard Make Over Pt 2 How To Build a Raised Flower Box

in #diy4 years ago (edited)

Screen-Shot-2020-07-19-at-8-51-47-PM

Another weekend not shooting dope or smoking crack, but building a raised flower bed instead.

So if you didn’t get a chance to check out part one of DIY Backyard Make Over you can click here and catch up.
I explained how much I love spending time out on my back patio with my nose buried in my MacBook hearing the beautiful sounds conference calls in my Air Pods while breathing in the fresh air of the outdoors.

Now all jokes aside that is usually how it ends up, but I love to be outside. And my back yard was becoming quite an eyesore with improper drainage, patchy grass, flowerless flower beds, missing gravel, and a huge mud pit that my puppy would play in.

IMG-1083-2

As you can see it was rough.

E4-F9-C658-8-CF0-4699-B57-A-843-AB6-BD7-B97

But I was able to make a lot of progress, as you can see in my last post.

Screen-Shot-2020-07-19-at-8-08-07-PM

Even once I was done Baby (my pitbull puppy) was not happy and had me rip out the old flower bed. It was natural wood, which I like, but it was all rotten and needed to go.

Screen-Shot-2020-07-19-at-8-06-33-PM
I decided to grab a few 6x2 boards from Home Depot. While there I found these useful concrete slated cornerstones. They were extremely inexpensive and well worth it for the time they saved me. Another benefit of the concrete blocks were how I could drive a piece of rebar through them for added support of the box.

If you want to build one of these boxes it's as easy as cutting two boards the same length and two more the same width. Then slide the boards into already placed cornerstones while squaring up the corners. Once done you most likely will need to move some dirt around and do some leveling. Now that everything is level and square- drive the rebar through the centers of the cornerstones.

If you choose to do two levels high, as I did for part of my build, just leave enough rebar exposed out of the cornerstones in the previous step and then repeat the previous step.

Screen-Shot-2020-07-19-at-8-05-30-PM

Once you have the walls of your flower box done I would recommend adding a ledge. Not only does it really make it look a lot nicer, but it greatly strengthens it as well.

Baby said it was a must!

Screen-Shot-2020-07-19-at-8-04-29-PM

As you can see in this photo it just doesn’t look right without the ledge and I highly recommend It.

Simply measure the length of the entire box, cut the board, and screw into place. I had some extra 2x6's so I made my ledge two boards high, as you can see.

Screen-Shot-2020-07-19-at-8-03-56-PM

Now it not only looks like a flower box, but it truly is a flower box. At this point I could have started adding dirt, but I wanted to stain it. I used tinted wood stain. It brushed on easily and smoothly. If your doing this at home remember to go with the grain of the wood. I even used the wood stain on the concrete blocks with no issue.

Screen-Shot-2020-07-19-at-8-03-17-PM

Once the stain dried I started dumping in my dirt mixture.
One part manure, one part peat moss, and two parts cheap top soil.

IMG-95-B76-DE266-F2-1

It's important to mix it all up. If you add water it helps to ensure you have moist mineral rich soil ready for planting.

IMG-5917

It is recommended to use a shovel for this mixing step, however, a hyper puppy will work as well.

0768-FC9-B-6412-4536-BFBC-E15-DCE14-F601

The only problem with allowing Baby to help me on the project is she doesn’t know when to stop helping.

IMG-2466

I have found eventually she will just tire herself out. And it was just in time for me to run to the best place in the world- Home Depot for the hardest part of the project, picking out the flowers.

Screen-Shot-2020-07-19-at-8-02-37-PM

Now that the hard part is over simply place and space the plant however you desire.

Screen-Shot-2020-07-19-at-8-01-10-PM

Don’t forget to get approval from your boss before planting.

IMG-3017-2

Then plant away!

Screen-Shot-2020-07-19-at-7-59-46-PM

Now that everything almost is done there’s only two more steps.

Screen-Shot-2020-07-19-at-8-00-36-PM

Take a moment to smell the roses and enjoy your new flower box.

IMG-3201-2

And the final step... Take a well deserved nap.

I have found that after 10 years of heroin active addiction my mind focuses on one single thing, the next fix. If you can learn to keep your mind focused on new things and keep it busy in other areas then it will be easier to overcome addiction. It's my random projects like these that have helped me overcome my own addiction.

▂ ▃ ▄ ▅ ▆ ▇ █ █ ▇ ▆ ▅ ▄ ▃ ▂

Please visit my website or call 888-343-6693

Check out my Facebook or my Instagram

Hive Profile

If you or someone you know is struggling with addiction, please reach out and I'll do my best to help.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @solominer and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Well your comment got a 100% up vote for me as well! Keep doing what you’re doing guys!

We are currently doing Twitter and Hive giveaway. If you are interested, check them out.

Cheers.

Hell yeah I am! Im going to your page now to take a look!

This was great. I'm glad to see the hard work you put into the flower bed. It will last many a year and you and your boss will be happy.

My boss and I really enjoy it! We even have some vegetables in the small lower part.

Excellent. Self sustainance is one of the main reasons I would start a garden.

I live in the "city" down here in south Florida, but I would love a bugout farm!

Manually curated by goldendawne from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Wow this is great! Thank you so much!

Congratulations @recoveryinc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I love these updates!

Thank you @recoveryinc. You are doing great!
BTW, it would be very appreciated if you could support our proposal so we can keep up the good work!

Loading...