Sometimes it becomes necessary to kill a tree, here's how to do it!

in #diy6 months ago

This tree was growing between two houses, and we hired it removed. But they left a 14 foot tall stump, trying to get extra cash for removing that too! It is still 3 foot diameter, and began growing out the top; so it had to be terminated.
IMG_20231105_154439498.jpg
I told my Son to run the chainsaw around the stump, to kill it. It didn't work! I decided to follow his cut to see why it didn't work....

We took another cut at it; and I decided to be sure that the cambien layer under the bark was CUT! I ordered a chain saw attachment for my angle grinder.
IMG_20231105_144412437.jpg
I found out why the chain saw didn't kill it. Most of the bark is about an inch thick, but this tree; had 4 inches of bark! It was an elm tree, and had been affected by some elm tree disease; so it became unsafe to leave intact.

I went to war with this bark:
IMG_20231105_152923020.jpg
Fortunately, the chainsaw attachment was up to the job! For a while, with a full faceshield for my regular chain saw; I became a sawdust submarine! I actually wore a mask (but I'm pretty sure the tree didn't have COVID) to survive the dust cloud. My eyes, behind a full face shield and glasses; still are dry from the sawdust I fought!

The reward is the sap running out of the cut:
IMG_20231105_154325952.jpg
The sap running out here was heading up to the new growth, when you see this; the battle is over, you won! To really kill this tree, it took a 2 inch wide trench; ten feet long to finally remove the cambien layer. This deprives everything above the cut of sap; which is the lifeblood of the tree! The tree will now begin to sprout from the base, so next year that will need to be removed too, but the tree will eventually run out of supplies.

If I had it to do over again, I'd wear swimming goggles; that was an amazing amount of sawdust! After it was done, it took a while to become human from the dust statue; by removing the layer of dust, to get back to clothes!

One less problem....

Sort:  

A lot of trees take to a process called "coppicing." It sounds like this elm will be playing that game for a while until you can get to the roots. Once the absurdly tall stump is firewood or a chainsaw sculpture or whatever you can do with it, the roots may need to be burned out.

It's a tough old bugger for sure! I plan to fight fire with fire. Now that it's cut, I'm going to put my mushroom plugs into it.

👍😁💗🤠🐾🐶🐾💙

How old do you think this tree is?As such, safety is a must for this to work. Have a nice day ..!
😍🤗☠️👷‍♂🗯

With elms I'd guess about 75 years. The majority of the tree was removed by crane last year, so it's pretty safe. About 14 feet left standing, which they wanted to add about half more cost to remove! I WAS going to use them some more, but instead ran them off! Very unprofessional!!!!

I may take my long bar saw, and slab this vertically, and use the lumber. 4 inch slabbed slices are easier to control and move. But first, it needed to stop growing!

👍🤔😳🤕🤠💙😆

To prevent it from growing, you must first remove its roots. When it stops growing, you will be able to cut it off easily and by doing it slowly, you will be able to cut it off completely in no time.

And I'm pretty sure you won't waste a single bit of it because you know how to use it.
👌👍🤘🙋‍♂🙅‍♂🤭😂😁

I like that idea, but she's too close to both houses to get to the roots. I plan to plug it with mushroom spore, and let them fight it out, after it's slabbed for wood. If I could get my backhoe in there, it would be root time for sure!

Besides, the mushrooms would be tasty, LOL!

👍💗🐾🐶🐾💙🤠🤔👌

sure. You're saying right
😂😂😍🥰😋

Hope the mushrooms work, it would cut the fight time down. But at least the tree is dead now!

👍💙🙏📖🙏💗🤠😋

Yeah i think it's definitely work.

This was a tough job brother. I know how tree stamps can be stubborn. There was a time my dad gave me an assignment to remove some mature trees from a site on which he wanted us to erect a new homestead down hill. I would cut the tree using an axe then proceed to dig out its stamp. This proved a little bit cumbersome.I thought of just digging the trees up instead felling trees then dig.

It's tough for sure! The more power that can be used, the easier the process. The axe is worst, but is also a sure method! Working on a hill is harder too, glad you didn't get hurt!

Be blessed!!!

👍💗🙏📖🙏💙🤠😋

The same thing happened to me when I lived in Argentina, there were two trees called elm trees in the dividing wall, they were 14 metres high and the neighbour next door was going to build, there was no alternative but to remove them, but everything turned out well, when they fell they could have broken a house but everything turned out well.

Greetings @smithlabs 😀

Trees are nice, but they can be a risk for sure! When the get into narrow areas, it is more dangerous. They came in with a crane, and lifted, while they cut off that piece. Once lowered into the yard, they made short work of each part.

I'm glad you guys got lucky, and no houses were damaged!

Keep on on prepping.

👍💙🙏📖🙏💗🤠🤔

I will do so! Hug!

We need all the smart people to survive to rebuild after!

Be blessed!

👍💗🙏📖🙏💙🤠🤔😊

It is true, intelligent people who are awake to the truth.

Most intelligent people are aware now, of the danger we all face!

👍💗🤠🐾🐶🐾👌💙🤔

It's true, and many are waking up...

Thanks for reposting!

👍💙🙏📖🙏💗🤠🤔😋

Most welcome dear.

Glad you liked the post!

👍💗🙏📖🙏💙😳🤕🤔

Welcome

Shared on X

Thanks for the share!

👍💙🙏📖🙏💗🤠🤔😊

I think I love this method.

Where I come from, they use salt to kill trees permanently

Salt is good, but this one is large enough to leave a large dead spot from the salt needed. I plan to add mushroom plugs to attack the stump in the spring. I hear good things about mushroom breakdown of stumps! I'll need to slab out the upper part first to be safe from collapse later, too close to both houses....

👍😭🐾🐶🐾🤠💙😋

Looks like an old tree? 100 years old?

Old, but not sure how old. I guessed 75 years, but a core would give a count for age. I have one on the homestead that is 5 feet across, and oak; that's a lot of years on it!

👍💙🙏📖🙏💗🤠😁

oh man, 75 years. it's old very old. it must have seen many things.

True, lots of History there! The big oak on my homestead is 5 feet across, so it may be twice as old.

I wish the elm had been somewhere else! With the houses so close, I couldn't risk doctoring the tree either!

👍😭💗🐾🐶🐾💙🤠😁