Meet the Longest Married Couple in America!

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Today I wanted to introduce you to John and Ann Betar, who hold the record for the longest marriage in the US!

In 2015 I came across their story online, and decided I wanted to pay tribute to the idea of enduring love for the music video for my song "Big Love".

The video is made up of the home video footage of the Betars. They were married in 1932 and it looks like they’ve had an awful lot of good times together. Cheers to them!

The video, like the song, is a tribute to deep love and surrender. It’s not a transient love. It’s not teen romance, a crush, or an infatuation. It is a wellspring of hope and possibility that lies dormant in the human heart until it is unlocked with will, commitment, and tenderness. When I saw the spark that is still so clear between them, I knew they were a living expression of the ‘Big Love’ I was talking about. This video is all them. It is culled from over 50 years of private family footage that they generously gave me to make this music video.

Young people are so bombarded nowadays by messages about divorce and the failure of long-term relationships. I hope this video creates a counter-argument to that outlook. I hope it encourages people to love, and hope, and hold on, until the very end.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

This is soo sweet! great song and what a lovely video to go with it :)

Thank you Melissa! Digging Steemit so far? ;)

Yes loving it! it's so awesome... and so much better than youtube hehe

Very sweet. The other day I saw an elderly couple while waiting for my doctor. She was very frail, then he held her hand and planted a kiss on her cheek. She smiled in a sassy way and all her force shone through. People overrate passion for me romance is a love that lasts

Love that image. Yes its inspiring when you see passion and romance combined and long lasting!

Enduring love and passion is not a dicotomy I have seen it. But time brings something else and more meaninful to the equation

We are 12 years into our relationship and both love and passion are alive and well!

15 here and same 🥀 nurture it and it will grow 🌸

We're a month away from 10 years. Got some catching up to do :)

Ha you'll get there!

were 10 years in December

You only have to get it right once :)

Screenshot_20180321-084357.jpg

Lovely! Dreamed of having this kind of relationship too. hopefully soon haha.
thank you for sharing. :)
#relationshipgoals. :)

Great message @benleemusic and pretty good song too! I love all the home movies and the smiles!

I love everrything about this. They remind me of my grandparents.. they were married for over 60 years, till death they parted. Now reunited. ♥ Thanks for this.. love the song as well. ♥- serena

That is beautiful.

Great song, great video, great story.

What more can you ask for?

True Love exists!

That is to show all the naysayers and all those"emancipated" people who claim all marriages are unhappy.

@bonniepiesse resteemed your post. This was a lovely tribute. Really nice upbeat original song. I like the positive message it sends out.. And you have a great voice. Nice meeting a fellow singer/music lover. Hope to keep in touch ~ Jack.