Walnut Chocolate Chunk Banana Bread (V+GF)

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Sup, my friends?

Walnut Chocolate Chunk Banana Bread (V+GF) (4).jpg

So I’ve gotta say, after a few weeks of traveling and being on the go so much it’s been really strange to try to get back to sharing recipes again. It’s kind of hard to explain but, regardless, I’m really happy to be back in the kitchen.

I’ve been really in the mood for simple classics recently. I’ve also been really trying to come up with more balanced treats to share because I know personally I always feel better when I’m eating something that’s both nutritious AND delicious and I’m guessing you do too.

Walnut Chocolate Chunk Banana Bread (V+GF) (2).jpg

On another note, I’ve been messing around with video a lot more since going to the DLive event. Obviously that was huge inspiration but I’ve just been following in love with this alternate medium of sharing that I’ve only just started to explore. What I’m trying to say is don’t be surprised if I start heading towards sharing more video and less posts.

Anyway, about this banana bread, it’s super super easy and all you really need is a bowl and a stirring utensil. I wanted to keep the ingredients list as short as possible for convenience’ sake and, going back to keeping things healthy, I wanted to try using only the bananas for sweetness.

I have to say, this was everything I was going for and more. In fact, it just might be my new go-to banana bread recipe. Like I said, there’s no sugar, but there’s also no dairy or eggs, which makes it vegan, and I used spelt flour that stuff just sounds healthy, right? Of course, if you’ve got a gluten allergy I’m sure a GF flour would be fine to replace it.

Walnut Chocolate Chunk Banana Bread (V+GF) (3).jpg

Of course, what’s a banana bread without the add-ins? And when I say “add-ins” I really mean chocolate (duh) oh, and some nuts for crunch too. I’ve been eating on this bread for days now and I can’t imagine getting tired of it, but I guess we’ll see.

So without further adeu, enjoy the video and I hope you’re inspired to make this for yourself!

Walnut Chocolate Chunk Banana Bread (V+GF) (5).jpg

Walnut Chocolate Chunk Banana Bread (V+GF)


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 55 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour, 10 minutes
Yield: 1 loaf (about 12 servings)

A one-bowl, super simple, and delicious banana bread with no added sugar and it's completely vegan.

Ingredients

5 bananas, divided
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 tablespoon flax meal
1/2 cup full-fat coconut milk (stirred from can)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
2/3 cups chocolate chunks (vegan if needed)
1/2 cup walnuts, roughly chopped
1 1/2 cups spelt flour

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Soak the chia seeds in 2 tablespoons of water and set aside. Mash 4 of the bananas in a medium bowl with a large fork. Stir in the coconut milk then add the remaining ingredients (reserve about 1/3 cup chocolate chunks for top), including the soaked chia seeds, and stir until you have a thick batter.
Grease a 5x9 inch loaf pan and scrape the mixture inside and spread evenly. Top the batter with the remaining banana, cut in half, and the remaining chocolate chunks.
Bake the bread for 45-55 minutes until the top is starting to brown then remove and cool for at least 15 minutes before slicing.
Store in an airtight container.

My video is at DLive

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Hey, did you see my NEW YORK VIDEO?????

Oh, and did you catchall the other travel posts from my Canada and New York?


NEW YORK

  1. Travelicious NY: Grand Central Station & Time Square
  2. Travelicious NYC: 1ST OFFICIAL DLIVE MEET-UP!
  3. Travelicious NYC: Visiting The Met
  4. Travelicious NYC: Carriages, Disney, Broadway, & M&Ms
  5. Travelicious NYC: Steem Friends & Italy in New York

    CANADA

  6. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: City Sights + Chinatown
  7. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Whale Tales + Fisherman's Wharf
  8. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Castles, Gardens, &.....X-men?
  9. VIDEO! Travelicious Canada: Victoria, British Columbia
  10. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Craigdarroch Castle
  11. Travelicious Canada - BC Museum & Butchart Gardens

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Walnut Chocolate Chunk Banana Bread (V+GF).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Beautiful .. Wonderful work, creativity
Thanks for the recipe looks delicious
Great post..

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

That looks real yummy.. wonderful photo shoot!

@hms818 thanks so much for the kind words

Put it in the toaster and melt the chocolate. It'd be awesome.

Never get bored with the simple classic recipes! Thanks for sharing!😘

mmmmmm Yum yum! Looks like you need more Chocolate chips!!! lol
This looks awesome! I love banana bread!! 😋

Yes, ASAP! Haha, thanks for watching my friend @acromott.

Lovin the video!!! So nice to see you doing video 😁! Sad day when you run out of chocolate haha.

Yes, totally! Haha, thanks @alphasteem!

That looks so good. Anything with coconut and chocolate is my favorite!

I'm so glad you like it @vividessor!

really nice video i like this type of food.

That looks soo good. Gotta have those nuts!
Joy

Absolutely. Haha, thanks @sweetjoy!

Wow ! Looks so tasty and yummy !!

That looks great, I might just have 5 nicely ripe bananas for tomorrows project :)

That's wonderful! I hop you enjoy it @lakshmi!

Awesome video! Looks so good too 😀
Yum!

I'm so glad you liked it @still-observer!

Nice recipe! Coconut goes well with banana bread. I sometimes add coconut shreds when I make banana bread and it's delicious. What I also find it good is to use Nutella instead of butter, but I see that you don't even use butter. I guess the coconut oil in the coconut milk is enough?

Wow thanks for the recipe it looks so delicious I will try it :)

Wow...never seen anything like this before. Thanks for sharing!

You're very welcome @ibile. I'm glad you like it.

LOL love the plot twist at 0:48, didnt see that coming , no spoiler alerts here but WATCH TO FIND OUT !!

Haha, thanks @goldmatters!

super cool video. I hope you are able to do more of these

I definitely plan to. Thanks @noboxes!

Holla for yummy GF recipes!! I've always loved banana bread with big chunks of chocolate in it too.

Awesome to hear that you are thinking of making more video content! You nailed it in this video!

Oh, that's so sweet @coruscate. It's definitely still a work in progress because I'm still learning as I go.

Sounds great and looks great as well..

this looks realy nice

I'm so glad you think so @agatak!

It is so good to see your video and watch how you did this. So sorry you ran out of the chocolate toppings. That part made me laugh.

Bread just got better and you added most of my favourite stuffs there; banana, walnut and chocolate. So good to even notice it has no sugar added. Just perfect for me, too perfect even.

I could eat this all day with milk. I can imagine how my skin would be blessing me hahahaha.

This is good my friend and as always, super proud of you. Do have a great day. I love this style, video + text. More of this.

Thanks as always.

Wow, as always you flatter me. Thanks my friend @olamalium!

Anytime cutie.

love it! have a great week girl :)

You too @travelgirl! Thank you so much!

You got a 7.66% upvote from @upme thanks to @gringalicious! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

shame on you for posting this and me running across it cuz now i'm so angry i did not have this in my life prior! keep up the good work!

You got a 4.04% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gringalicious!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 5.36 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gringalicious.

mmm very nice and interesting recipe :)
huge banana & chocolate fan here!!
thanks for sharing!

@trayan thanks so much for commenting

I have never been a fan of vegan recipes but this looks extremely delicious!!

@jetseid I think you would like it, I hope you give it a try

That looks really tasty, thanks for reporting and sharing, I'm attentive!

@naconc thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post

I have to do it an d try it. It looks delicious. Thanks for the recipe...it looks very easy to prepare.

@milrosas thanks so much for commenting

Que rico buena receta, me gusta el chocolate.

Ok, so Vegan cakes I can just about deal with thanks to the Donut shop nearby selling exclusively Vegan (and bloody delicious!) donuts, but Gluten Free? I've yet to taste one where I couldn't tell/didn't mind. That said, if anyone's going to pull off that magic trick it's you! Might have to give this one a go next time my brother in law is heading down as he's GF!

@skiesandsports I hope it works for you, my family really enjoyed it

Awesome video and recipe. Would love to try it someday soon.

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Muy buena receta, Excelente fuente de energía gracias al plátano, al incorporarle chocolate de calidad aumentas su poder antioxidante y con el aporte de los frutos secos, es mejor dicho Perfecto.

how did friends my tea
54512.jpg

This looks delicious and health...ish, thank you so much for sharing!

@bradfordtennyson thanks so much for taking the time to comment

Very nice!! I will have to pass this on to my sister in law, she is gluten free along with some of my nieces and nephews. :)

@mrchef111 I hope it turns out well for them

Thank you!

So good creative and love to eat.

It looks very divine, I love your publications

what a fantastic and delicious video

Wow! So great to find a healthier version of such a yummy cake! Looks delicious! 😍

How could I not? Those pics are mouth-watering!

You give hard labour to cook delicious food and everyday you come with a new recipe. Great!

OOOoooo girl!! That V+GF always makes my heart go pitter-patter!! Thank you for the great post!

@ogc thanks so much for taking the time to comment