My Mindset Before Trying Something New: Live Streaming on My iPhone!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

How do we get the courage to try something new? I filmed this video which is transcribed into this post just before trying Facebook live for the first time on my iPhone with the purpose of helping more of us discover Steem during the live streams. What I hope is helpful is seeing how I intend to do whatever it is even though the evidence may not provide proof that it will work. Note I have switched to the YouTube video link here instead of on DLive because the video did not go through correctly to the new @dlive database while the post did still appear on Steem!

My mindset prior to trying something new like live streaming on my phone!

When we go live online, how do we think beforehand? I told you I'm about to go live on Facebook, but I don't even have the Facebook app on my phone. I've never went live on Facebook on my phone before. I just expect I intend to. You see, my mindset, I intend to go live on Facebook on my phone.

Now, I realize it might not sign in correctly, that my phone might not work properly. I realize there's a bunch of things that could happen.

What I start with is a mindset of what I intend to do and I just expect that I will be able to do it, that if something goes wrong I will figure it out. This helps me to deal with the opposition, which is fear because there's certainly the fear there that I will put the Facebook app on my phone and they will blow me up with notifications, that I will do it and it won't work, that I won't look good or I won't sound good.

My mindset prior to trying something new like live streaming on my phone!

About everything you could imagine, not everything, like I haven't appeared naked in the middle of the internet or anything. I have experienced a lot of things going wrong in my time live streaming and it's okay. That is okay.

What makes all the difference in the world is having a mindset of I'm going to do this, I'm going to try this and let's see what happens. I don't think about all the things that might go wrong or could go wrong, or what people will think of me. I don't care what someone looking on there, seeing me live streaming on their phone thinks, good or bad: "Oh, Jerry's the best. Oh, Jerry's the worst." So what?

I'm here to do good. I'm here to make a difference.

What am I live streaming about? I'm just doing a really quick update. I'm going to start doing live streams every morning on Wednesdays at 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Eastern, which is Florida, New York time.

Now, what I'm doing is just going to put that out really quick. I used to think these kind of updates were pointless and what I'm learning is a little update is a big difference between none. I hope what I've communicated here is that I am starting in the same position you might be, where you have never done something before and it might look scary.

My mindset prior to trying something new like live streaming on my phone!

The mindset makes all the difference. I just look at it and say, "I'm going to do this. I will do this," and in my mind, I've already done it. I've already told everyone. I’ve already thought about what I was going to say on the video even though I don't have clear proof that I can do that in front of me, I just have faith.

I'm sure I can put the Facebook app on my phone. I'm sure I can adjust the settings so it doesn't totally screw my phone up again and I'm sure that I will be able to do a quick live video onto my Facebook page.

You see, that gives me the courage to try, and ultimately it comes down to trying because I can't decide whether it will work or not, but my mindset gives me the courage to make an effort.

So, if you have never live-streamed before, you have never done it a certain way before, you have never used a certain program, the main resistance that comes into play is fear.

"I'm afraid this won't work."

The nice thing is things that don't work give us guidance as to what not to do, which is just as helpful as what to do.

So, I'm going to do this video live on Facebook on my phone now, and I plan to do one on YouTube on my phone. I haven't done that before. I plan to learn how to do Twitter on my phone. I haven't done that before, and I'm excited to learn how to do these things because it's fun to learn and grow.

Things that don't learn and grow decay and die, and then get to be something else.

I'm enjoying being in this body.

I'm enjoying being in this life.

I'm enjoying continuing learning and growing.

I'm grateful to have the chance to do that here with you today in my studio and I'm honored you're watching this course. This technically is the first video of this course I filmed because the mindset is critical.

My mindset prior to trying something new like live streaming on my phone!

Even when I'm planning all these things out in advance, I realized I need to know how to live stream on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter to be able to teach that.

So, what I do is start learning how to do it, and then I teach it right away. These are things you can learn how to do, and then be showing people how to do literally even before you have done them before.

BAM!

Thank you for watching or reading this.

I love you.

You are awesome.

I hope you've enjoyed the video on what my mindset is before I go live when I'm trying something new I haven't done before.

Oh, finally.

One more thing.

There's always one more thing!

One more thing.

You might be thinking that I'm nervous, I'm scared.

How do I deal with that?

I pray.

You can pray or you can set your power of intention.

If you just hate God, "God's disgusting."

If you just hate God, don't worry about God, just pray and set the intention like, "Please let me do a good job with this," or "I intend to do a great job of this. I intend to help people with my live stream. What would I like to do God? Please help me be of service to you today. Please help me do good with this if I'm supposed to do good with it and if I'm not, well, then help me to change that."

You see it can get complicated.

"God, please help me. Thank you for the chance to live stream."

My mindset prior to trying something new like live streaming on my phone!

BAM!

That helps me to have my energy focused.

Nervousness is just energy that's not focused. If you really care about what you are doing, there should be some energy about it and if it's nervous energy, it just needs to be focused into energy of help, love and service, and prayer helps a lot with that.

Now, I'm actually done, but I'm going to talk for like 10 more hours in the other videos and posts!

If you found this post helpful on Steem, would you please upvote it and follow me because you will then be able to see more posts like this in your home feed?

Love,

Jerry Banfield with edits by @gmichelbkk on the transcript from @deniskj

Shared on:

Our Most Important Votes on Steem are for Witness!

Would you please make a vote for jerrybanfield as a witness or set jerrybanfield as a proxy to handle all witness votes at https://steemit.com/~witnesses because we are funding projects to build Steem as explained here? Thank you to the 6000+ of us on Steem voting for me as a witness, the 2 million dollars worth of Steem Power assigned by followers trusting me to make all witness votes through setting me as proxy, and @followbtcnews for making these .gif images!

Vote Jerry Banfield Steem Witness

Or

Jerry Banfield Steem Proxy

Let's stay together?

Sort:  

Greetings, Jerry

Very nice man. I think it's a good thing for you to tell us that you're nervous and afraid before you try something new, because we who do not have the skills that you most extrovert and who deal in this virtual marketing medium have, we think you're born with a gift for that.

However, from what has been said, it seems that the issue is preparation and coping with the problem, even though you are afraid you will face it. With that, over time this fear tends to decrease as you will have more coping skills.

Praying is also great, because it puts our soul in touch with our thinking.

Thank you and good night!!!

Lol "appeared naked in the middle of the Internet". I love you Jerry. I just voted you for witness. Only you and @Curie have my vote right now.

Screenshot_2018-04-17_11-57-45.png

When the time comes would you consider returning the favor and vote for me as witness because I'm working on a very important project and I hope you will want to support it. I have joined your discord server and hope to talk to you more there. Thanks for the inspiring video. I have the mindset!

excellent, thanks

Thanks for sharing valuable post.
I appreciate your every post.
Best of luck

@jerrybanfield i send 2 hours ago Transfer 1.000 SBD to jerrybanfield https://steemit.com/financial/@beckjoy/louisiana-mayor-s-proposes-government-backed-crypto-and-ico

#but not get upvote please vote or send back my 1.000 sbd

@jerrybanfield - this is your wallet pic see show my sending bid

I have not had confidence in the past to try new and potential mess in front of people so I have been holding myself for moving back to life from new opportunities. I could really relate to this post because you are doing things that you want to do. I'm going there and believe in the growth process. I could not get a video on live TV, but maybe I was doing something wrong? I was glad that the writing was up there to read up there. Bright post, so thanks for sharing your journey!

Hi Jerrybandfield, why you will be upset your song is awesome, we all love you and your song,best wishes for you, thanks to share your post.

i support post you
thanks

Really inspirational... Thanks @jerrybanfield

Is this a Live stream? I can't get it to load. I want to see what you have to say on this topic Jerry.

@acromott @dlive gave me an error when I uploaded this as a video!

Here is the YouTube version!

cool cool! I got to watch the whole thing.
Thanks for sharing with us Jerry!
Having a positive mindset going into live streaming is key!

Thanks for the YouTube link though I have to admit I will miss watching half of this on Dtube....that's about as far as I can get watching Dtube freeze your face into funny expressions...you are brave!

i want to buy iphone new version. i never go on facefook live.

Hello friend, excellent transmission good work, thanks for sharing successes

I am learning how to set intentions and just trust that everything is going to work out. I haven't had the confidence in the past to try something new and potentially mess up in front of people so I have been holding myself back from new opportunities to move ahead in life. I could really relate to this post because you are doing things that I want to be doing. I am getting there and trusting in the growth process. I couldn't get the video to play on dLive but maybe I was doing something wrong? I am glad that the write up was there to read through though. Wonderful post, thanks for sharing your journey so openly!
Ivy

@jerrybanfield dude you can do anything u can do all you motivate me and alot of other people to do alot good luck man i also have u nominated as my witness

Hey @jerrybanfield! I've been learning about mindset and taking action the past couple of weeks. It is a motivation for me to see people try new things. I've been thinking about doing the same thing, documenting what I do through video and audio but something's keeping me from jumping in. Thank you for making this post, it helps me move toward overcoming whatever that's holding me back, even if it is a little step towards that goal.

I guess now you've indirectly educated most of us by sharing your experience. Thanl you for doing that.

Most times the most difficult part of a task or adventure is starting. Once we have overcome that stage and started, we could then take on any other challenge that comes our way. thank you @jerrybanfield for this good post and the cool videos

Congratulations @jerrybanfield!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 8 with 740 upvotes

Hi Jerry-i am brand new here and just came across your very involved work here. I am a full time fine artist and am trying to share my art here. Would you please checkout my art here? I post only original fine art. If you like it and would like to help me in anyway would appreciate it greatly. Thanks. My name is Arthur Robins. Thanks for your help in advance.

I think you're quite right in what you say. Many projects do not achieve the desired success, because minnows give up easily with the first obstacles they face. For this very reason, perseverance is the first step towards success. Thanks to perseverance we can achieve our goals, we can discover that be persevering is not so difficult. he importance of perseverance to achieve success is that it helps us overcome the mental barriers that we usually impose and your post is a very creative way of explaining so real a virtue that many decide not to cultivate.
All people can aspire to be what we want but, to achieve this, we must dedicate ourselves to it, strive, persevere. And, if we do not succeed, at least we can rest assured that we will know we have put everything on our side and, maybe we can't having reached our goal, but we will have the satisfaction of having learned a lot along the way. We could not achieve our dream, but we will have achieved other subordinate goals that were on the way and that are also important. Many times the real success is in traveling the road, not in reaching the goal.

Nice write up
Keep it up

Welldone u did a great job hats off ☺️I like it

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment