Iglu-Dorf Music in DLUX 360° - snow sculpture

in #dlux3 years ago (edited)

Orchestra.jpg

It has taken me a while to get this post out. I had to do a lot of retouching of these images to make them in some way usable. Even now, I look at this as a proof of concept and not a finished experience. I hope to invest in a better camera for this type of thing (we'll see how the bull run goes) for now these are images that I shot of the 2013 Davos Iglu-dorf using my mobile phone and a 360 camera app. The resolution and lighting are not great but I hope you will get a bit of a more immersive experience than just seeing the flat images.

I wrote a more in-depth post about this project here if you would care to read it.

Dlux

I am using dlux.io to present these images. It is another of the ever-increasing Dapps utilising the Hive blockchain and I must say, I see a lot of potential with it. I am no expert or even know what the whole thing is about but when I saw that you could play around with VR within it I thought I would lend my support to its development through a delegation.

Vr and Ar are going to be a big part of our future, like it or not and I see it as being the next must-have gadget like the mobile phone. The Facebook is trying to corner the market with their Oculus Quest 2 which is amazingly cheap compared to the competition. To the point where I believe it is anti-competitive. Of course, remember what they say 'On the internet, if you are not paying for something then you are the product'. It seems that Facebook is now trying that business model with VR. Sucking up all your attention to sell to Wish.com and the CIA and I find that quite scary. Democratising the Metaverse is in all our interests and so I like to see that Dlux is now trying to give more choices.

So anyways, take a look at my igloos and let me know what you think. I will be back very shortly with a new year of Sand and ice Sculptures from 2014.


View in VR @ dlux.io

Sort:  

Vr and Ar are going to be a big part of our future, like it or not

Why wouldn't we like it :D I've played some VR games with youngest (who saved up for a year and bought himself one of the slightly cheaper headsets, those things are not cheap x_x), it's so much fun, and he actually geta a fair bit of exercise in when he's playing Gorilla Tag XD

AR I'm fully expecting stuff like this to become as normal here as they are in my head-universe ;D

Hope you can get a better camera for more coolness in the not too distant future!

Seeing the way people are already distracted from the real present world by mobile phones I do kind of feel scared about this new reality but as a technophile, I also find it quite exciting and am already wanting to buy one from productivity. I hope that in the future there will be places where we can escape and be just present with those around us.
!ENGAGE15

Online worlds are every bit as "real" as meatspace ones; I guess some people prefer to be present in those ones. Being present with those around us is super easy, I think the entire problem is ridiculous fomo which is ironically exactly what causes people to miss out on pretty much everything.

From my days of playing FPS computer games, I know how easy it is to get lost in the virtual world. I found my way back to the 'meatspace' when I had my son. When he gets a bit old I hope to start travelling in the digital realm again.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Really happy to see you post this. Dlux.io is very interesting and so many possibilities. It gives an experience of being there in a more tangible way. How many photos in total did you use to produce this?

I think it has a lot of potential especially when I can get my hand and a VR headset. Interestingly some of my first works in sculpture were 3D graphics and it is much cleaner than rolling around in sand and ice all day.

I used my phone and an app that I could rotate my phone around and it would auto stitch the images together. The resolution is pretty awful and the seams were all torn and misaligned now I think I would just use my SLR camera and stitch the pictures on a computer. Watch this space.
!ENGAGE20

A VR headset...I like the sound of that! I find it really interesting that you started with 3D graphics. Yes, much cleaner than rolling around in sand and ice, LOL. Do you find it faster to produce a finished piece in graphics or sand/ice? (in a general sense that is)

I see what you mean in terms of the quality of the images. Still though, there's still that experience of dropping into the space, sort of being there in it. I'm interested to watch where you go with this.

When I was in college I used computer graphics for part of my work. I was told by the lecturers that it was not valid. In those days computer programs were very clunky and I had to learn by trial and error. It was not a great experience.
I still use 3D programs today (Mainly Blender) for design and play. They can help a lot but I much more enjoy getting my hands dirty and work with real materials. That said, I think the interface of VR would be much more intuitive for me and literally one up a whole new world.
!ENGAGE20

Thanks for expanding on what I asked. I'm doing a lot of looking at what people say about their art, how they work and their preferences. My background is all, as you say "getting my hands dirty and work with real materials." I see benefits and drawbacks to both ways of working but lean towards getting dirty as my preference. I haven't tried out Blender, but currently looking at that to learn more.

What you've said about the older computer programs being clunky and that VR interface would be more intuitive for you, are good points. It's the "interface", having more fluidity and naturalness occur with that. I suppose that's more along the lines of integration. Lots of things to consider. I appreciate the dialogue.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

WOW! So cool!😃

Thank you. I hope to improve the quality when I do my next igloos.
!ENGAGE15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.