What Kinds Of Businesses Would You Like To See Accept STEEM/SBD?

in #dpoll5 years ago

What Kinds Of Businesses Would You Like To See Accept STEEM/SBD?


STEEM isn't just a social media or investment platform, but a blockchain that can ultimately handle all kinds of transactions and activities. That has already been proven with gaming and gambling sites, but beyond that STEEM could be used for so much more.

What would you like to see on STEEM as quickly as possible? Choose as many as you want, or specify your own. This is by no means an exhaustive list.

Image source—Pixabay


  • Retail stores

  • Real Estate

  • Insurance (all kinds)

  • Bill Pay (rent, mortgage, phone, internet, utilities, etc.)

  • Grocery stores

  • Vehicles

  • Subscriptions (Netflix, Disney, etc.)

  • Services (home and car maintenance, legal help, appliance repair, etc.)

  • Lending institutions

  • Live Entertainment (sporting, amusement park, concert, theater as well as movie tickets, etc.)

  • Fast Food/Restaurants

  • Parking fees/tolls/drivers license, other municipal/city/state expenses

  • Other (please specify)

  • All of the above

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

I'd sell my artwork for steem / sbd in a heart beat, or my services as a photographer.

Hey, @holoz0r.

That would be really cool. So could you do that fairly easily now, or would you need something that doesn't exist yet in order to make it happen? Seems like anyone who had a STEEM account could just send you some STEEM directly to your wallet with personal mailing information, or if digital, some kind of existing download service once the transfer was made. Maybe I'm oversimplifying it. :)

Excellent review @glenalbrethsen and I think I would like to see Steem in all points!

Hey, @serkagan.

Looks like all of the above is pretty much the consensus winner. Probably a little too obvious, but I figured there might be some too that would be happy with just a few things going.

After the U.S. Monetary Reset, you'll be turning in your Steem for U.S. Crypto-Coinage, denominated in Dollars and Decimal Cents... We're so close now...
June 11, 2019...

Voted for

  • Retail stores
  • Real Estate
  • Insurance (all kinds)
  • Bill Pay (rent, mortgage, phone, internet, utilities, etc.)
  • Grocery stores
  • Vehicles
  • Services (home and car maintenance, legal help, appliance repair, etc.)
  • Live Entertainment (sporting, amusement park, concert, theater as well as movie tickets, etc.)
  • Fast Food/Restaurants

Hey, @chireerocks.

Thanks for participating in the poll. Looks like you found quite a few things you'd like to use STEEM for. :) Anything I might have missed on the list? I was thinking of a few myself earlier—like farmer's markets, or fairs and festivals—stuff like that, although I guess that could come under the general idea of entertainment.

Welcome and in my opinion and in my experience i saw that farmers want to stay away from the Technology because they live more natural life and they are more earth beings. So let's keep everything simple for them.

Voted for

  • All of the above

Hey, @saffisara.

Thanks for voting. Anything else you might want to personally use STEEM for that didn't make it into the options?

Congratulations @glenalbrethsen!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 6 with 60 comments

Hey, @arcange.

Nice! Anytime I can come to what Asher did on a post, I'm doing good. Seems like people were interested in participating in the dpoll, so that helped. I think we need more heightened awareness of the possibilities beyond social media, since that's where all the attention seems to keep refocusing on.

Voted for

  • All of the above

Voted for

  • All the above

I Think all kind of travels like airplane, train, boat and urban bus or metro must be included.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, @pataty69.

Thanks for participating. Yeah, all travel should be included, definitely. I wonder which would adopt things sooner—an airline company or a municipally ran bus or subway? I might lean towards a government doing it first, but probably not in the U.S.

Voted for

  • All of the above

Hey, @jeffjagoe.

Thanks for the answer. Did I leave anything off the list that you would want to see there? I've been asking some folks since there's bound to be something I didn't think of.

Looks like you’ve got all the bases covered!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I had like to say all but the possibility of all of them being accepted is low so if am aked to choose I will go for

  • Bill payment,
  • Brocery stores and
  • Netflix subscription.

Hey, @maxwellmarcusart.

Yeah, I figured some of you might be looking at it from a more practical or pragmatic standpoint, so I figured some would want to start out small with some fairly basic things, while others would probably just want it all and be done with. :)

I agree though. It's going to be a step by step process, but I think we can get there. It becomes like a snowball rolling down hill at some point. We just need to get the ball up the other side of the hill.

Yeah, taking everything at once would not be a good idea. I think it should be tested in some products preferably the ones we regularly consume.

Then, gradually, others could be added.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, knowing the hodge podge way things tend to happen here, I don't know that there would be any testing or trials or organized onboarding. It would just kind of slide on from wherever without much rhyme or reason. If that's what you mean, we're golden. :)

Oh if it just being slided on from wherevere without much testing, they wont be assured that it would be generally accepted.

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • Retail stores
  • Bill Pay (rent, mortgage, phone, internet, utilities, etc.)
  • Grocery stores
  • Subscriptions (Netflix, Disney, etc.)
  • Services (home and car maintenance, legal help, appliance repair, etc.)
  • Lending institutions
  • Fast Food/Restaurants

My business! (Martial Arts Center)

Hey, @wholeself-in.

Thanks for answering the dpoll question. I suppose I could have added a "My Business" or "My Product or Service" option. Good idea. :) Now, are you saying that your martial arts center currently accepts crypto?

No, but it's a goal. Currently we do not have enough wiggle room in our budget to experiment, because we'd have to convert everything to USD to pay our bills anyway. But I hope to start taking crypto within the year.
Dealing with taxes is a bit scary, though

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • All of the above

Hey, @von-doom.

Thanks for answering the poll. Anything else I might have missed? I tried getting the major things out of the way, but I know I didn't come up with everything everyone might want to use STEEM for.

The possibilities are endless really. If it can be purchased with fiat, I'd like to be able to pay for it in Steem.

I've heard @holoz0r speak in the past about the potential for Steem being used as a currency, even to the point of being able to pay using your upvote. Now that is an interesting proposition...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, @sparkesy43.

That could be a pretty powerful upvote! Well, cool idea, even if I'm primarily looking outside the reward pool at all of the rest of STEEM just sitting there. It would be nice to get it moving around and seeing if we can't bring in much more than what our social side is going to be able to accomplish.

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Hey, @dpoll.curation.

Thank you very kindly. Keep up the good work. And thanks @bluerobo. :)

Voted for

  • All of the above

Hey, @laqsking.

Thanks for participating in the poll here. I'm wondering if there's anything else you'd add to the list? I tried to be as comprehensive as possible but I'm sure there's got to be things I missed.

Voted for

  • All of the above

Sooner or later they will all have to accept it. I see no difference. You could buy a coffee or a sandwich for a few Steem but you can also buy a house, there is absolutely no difference if the business owner knows how to manage his or her crypto account.
Maybe you remember the Dutch guy who sold his house for bitcoin a few years ago.

Hey, @erikahfit.

I remember the pizzas, not so much the house. Regardless, I agree completely. Pretty much get one category of use going and there really aren't that many barriers after for others. I'm not sure how many will buy a house in STEEM outright, but that would be great if people could. Being able to get loans in STEEM for a house would be advantageous.

Voted for

  • Retail stores
  • Bill Pay (rent, mortgage, phone, internet, utilities, etc.)
  • Subscriptions (Netflix, Disney, etc.)
  • Parking fees/tolls/drivers license, other municipal/city/state expenses

In general I'd like to see everyone take crypto but subscriptions, parking fees, and other services that are digital or digitally accessible are good choices to push right now in these early stages. I am a retail that accepts Steem. I need to download a mobile wallet to have on hand in case I run in to Steemians while vending.

Hey, @nerdvania.

Thanks for answering the poll question and for the elaboration. I figured there might be a few who would look at the list and think it would be nice just get started with a few things. What's interesting about municipal types of fees/fines/and services is I can see them being among the first to adopt, and the last, based on where they're located. Some places probably are taking bitcoin as far as governments go. I'm sure it all depends on the feeling and general mood of the federal governing body and whether it's somehow illegal or not considered good practice.

So, I'm guessing you sell things like comic related toys, memorabilia, etc.? Have you had a lot of business in STEEM yet (or any other crypto for that matter?)

Voted for

  • All of the above

Hey, @newageinv.

Thanks for the answer. All of the above is pretty much the consensus, isn't it? I'm wondering if there's anything I left out that you might want to be able to use STEEM to pay with?

Voted for

  • All of the above

I will vote for all of the above

Hey, @adenijiadeshina.

Thanks for the answer. What about something I might have missed? Anything else you'd like to be added to the STEEM pay list?

I think I got most of the main ones but I'm sure there's bound to be something that the rest don't necessarily cover.

Voted for

  • All of the above

Hey, @d-zero.

Thanks for the answer.

Anything else to add as far as anything I may have missed that really should be on that list? Not surprisingly, all of the above is taking the day, but I knew I'd probably forget or leave something out that someone might want.

Voted for

  • All of the above

Hey, @loler555.

Thanks for the answer. Can you think of anything else to add? I've been asking others to see if there might be something specific they'd like to see on the list that I failed to get on here.

Not really. I just think that the city/country organized fees will never have a chance given to cypto. Countries would really rather prefer their currency has value.

Voted for

  • All of the above

Hey, @vimukthi.

I appreciate the answer. Been asking others if there something I didn't get on the list that should have been. Anything else you would add to it?

Maybe digital collectibles or gift cards.

Voted for

  • Vehicles
  • Subscriptions (Netflix, Disney, etc.)
  • Other (please specify)

Basically, online services, online stores, autonomous cars. But it depends also on taxation and the applied exchange rate. If I lose money because of the high exchange rate margins, or if I have to declare every buying transaction as a source of capital gain tax, I would better forget it.

Hey, @deathcross.

At this point, those are valid concerns, since if I remember correctly crypto isn't considered a form of currency, so who knows how'd they'd want to treat that. I guess we'd need to look at what they're doing with Bitcoin when someone uses it.

Ideally, though, there wouldn't be those issues. The online services and stores would just have the price in STEEM (even if it does adjust periodically), and there wouldn't be a need to worry about exchange rates. Unless I'm missing something... :)

Voted for

  • All of the above

If any kind of business accept Steem and/or Steem Dollars (SBD), then it is good for the Steem blockchain, for these cryptocurrencies, and for the users of these cryptocurrencies.

Hey, @xplosive.

Thanks for the answer and the elaboration. Totally agree. I think once a few key businesses start accepting STEEM, opening up an account/setting up a site, whatever it takes, then we'll see more money rush into STEEM than we will otherwise.

Voted for

  • Subscriptions (Netflix, Disney, etc.)
  • Live Entertainment (sporting, amusement park, concert, theater as well as movie tickets, etc.)

Digital goods. Online marketplaces.

Hey, @bluerobo.

Thanks for the answer.

re: online marketplaces

I think that pretty much describes it all, because pretty much every major brick and mortar store has an online presence of some kind.

re: digital goods

That would seem about the easiest, right? I think we just keep going and have pay for the drone to deliver my groceries to my backdoor. :) Okay, frondoor if that's preferable.

Voted for

  • Bill Pay (rent, mortgage, phone, internet, utilities, etc.)
  • Grocery stores
  • Vehicles
  • Services (home and car maintenance, legal help, appliance repair, etc.)
  • Live Entertainment (sporting, amusement park, concert, theater as well as movie tickets, etc.)
  • Fast Food/Restaurants

Hey, @maxer27.

Thanks for participating. I think you hit most of the big, regular use cases that people would have for STEEM. Even paying for half of those things with STEEM would be amazing.

Voted for

  • All of the above

Hey, @abbak7.

I appreciate the answer. Anything else I missed that you'd want to add? There's bound to be local or personal or individualized things that I failed to put on the list and it would be interesting to know what those things would be. :)

Voted for

  • All of the above

Hey, @axdx.

Thank you kindly for the answer. Any other things that didn't make the list you'd want to have STEEM pay?

There are endless opportunities. However, it can also work for providing universal basic income to the masses.

Voted for

  • All of the above

Hey, @dragonblades.

Thanks for answering the poll. Very much obliged. I wonder if there's anything that I didn't include in the options that you would like added. Something individualized or local to your area that wouldn't naturally fall into any of the other categories?

My opinion is that steem must the basic electronic coin or even replace the debit / credit cards. A steem card (or phone like apo) will be awesome so we can buy everything we want fast and easy.

It will be interesting to see where this all goes with crypto, because I would guess that we would get away from any types of cards or even apps, but somehow just punch in an encrypted code or something. I'm not a fan of biometrics per se, but that could be a path we head down when it comes to any kind of payments, including crypto ones.

Voted for

  • All of the above

When you can buy groceries with crypto we have made it mainstream. 😉

Hey, @pjau.

That's pretty much it, isn't it. It gets to the main grocery stores, and it is pretty much all over but the shouting. :) It would be cool to see a sign in the window next to the VISA and Mastercard saying We Accept STEEM. :)

Might also confuse people that think steam is spelt with two E's. 😜