You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: VOTING NOW CLOSED - Foundation Structure Proposal Election - UPDATE: NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED

in #dpoll5 years ago

I will NOT BE VOTING on dpoll because I have NO IDEA HOW SECURE it it is. Why do we need to compromise security in order to vote? Make dpoll work with keychain or find a new voting method.

Sort:  

I will discuss a way to gather non dpoll votes with the working group. I imagine we can also find a way to allow other inputs.

That would be great. Thanks!

Hey, I just realized, you already trust your posting authority to many other dapps. You aren't compromising anything that you haven't implicitly given up already (trust-wise).

Note also that dpoll doesn't even ask you to grant posting authority. (this is wrong, stricken out. steemconnect asks for it, and you still have to trust steemconnect. dpoll's app itself doesn't have access)

Steemconnect is the trusted mediator here, and as long as you trust steemconnect, there's 0 reason to distrust dpoll. Just want to throw that out there.

And you can immediately revoke what little authorization you granted as noted in the parent comment.

How difficult would it be to spoof steemconnect? I see a pop-up that looks like steemconnect and I insert my key. Next thing I know, it does nothing and it's too late to revoke it. I HATE using my actual steem keys all the time.

Yeah, I understand the point. But actually even this is fairly difficult because the popup will show the URL with the cert, and you can be sure that if you trust steemconnect, it is fine.

But anyway, we are discussing it.

IF everyone is careful and not in a rush.
It is too easy to get careless and lose everything. I prefer to be paranoid about such things.

If you have steem keychain or any other way of assigning posting auth temporarily, I have something for you if you haven't voted already. See here

Looks interesting, but what do we do with it? Not all of us are coders.

Do you use steem keychain? The first step has a link where you can add the posting authority as in the screenshot. Otherwise, I would need to dig into alternatives for doing it (if you already trust steemconnect you can just use steemconnect though)

There's no code involved, just button presses. Any particular step that is not clear? I can fill in more details. Or would be good to see a video of someone doing it... Hmm.

Posted using Partiko Android

Once your keys are entered to Steem Connect, you do not need to re-enter them.
Connecting somewhere else, the site should be verified by Steem Connect.
Any site asking for your keys to be re-entered should never need your aster Key. The majority should not need your active key.

@happyme, it looks like keychain will be implemented in a few days. Just wait until then and you can cast your vote.

69F94278-D0FA-467A-A9EB-90201C9FE5B6.jpeg

This is GREAT news. Thanks a lot!

Thank @emrebeyler, the creator of dpoll. He’s amazing about implementing new features and helping to make dpoll what the community sees as beneficial. He deserves a big thanks on all he’s done in this process alone. Glad it could get worked out 🙂

Yes, thanks to @emrebeyler. I had no idea who was behind dpoll. It seems all the programmers know each other. Does anyone know who is behind DrugWars?

I wouldn’t say all the programmers know each other, it’s just maybe they are more likely to dig into projects. I’m only aware of who is behind which projects due to their posting on it. I was just having a conversation with someone who thought it would be great to have a LinkedIn style page for developers, witnesses etc so it was easier to find information. Maybe something to look forward to.

As far as drugwars, it’s by futureshock aka hightouch’s project. There is a whole team, but I believe he is the founder.

I was just having a conversation with someone who thought it would be great to have a LinkedIn style page for developers, witnesses etc so it was easier to find information.

Searching has always been a big problem on this platform, so indexes and the like would surely be a blessing.

Thanks for the information on DrugWars too. I actually found out by looking up the introduction post for it. I wrote on the post as a reply, so I hope @hightouch sees it and responds.