Vlog 141: Project Steemify is now in public BETA.

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


I'm part of a group of old time friends called @blockbrothers on Steemit.

On a birthday party in September, late at night, and with some beers, it was decided that we were going to start making apps for the Steem blockchain.

We have cool ideas, but to get familiar with the Blockchain first, our main dev, @bennierex, has made a very useful but smaller app for the Steem blockchain.

Yesterday we had our launch party for Project Steemify.

What is Steemify.

It's a notification app for the Steem blockchain for the iPhone.

What's cool about it?


  1. You only have to fill in your username to use the app. No keys are needed.

  2. You can select what sort of notifications you want. (votes, mentions, transfers, etc).

  3. The notifications are pushed to your phone. (just like WhatsApp messages)


I especially like the mentions feature because I used to miss a lot of posts where people mention my username.

The app is simple yet effective.

It's just for iPhone for now.

We are not a company, just four friends trying to make cool things :)



Our launch post can be found here.

Website: www.blockbrothers.io

Want to join the Beta send a mail to [email protected] for the invite link.


YOUTUBE BACKUP LINK



▶️ DTube
▶️
Sort:  

That's actually really useful but my only concern is that you won't be able to use it to interact and reply which would be useful but obviously require the use of keys

There’s a basic built-in browser you can use to go directly to the post or comment. If you log in there, you will be able to vote/comment/etc. from within the app (actually I’m doing that right now). This data is stored encrypted on your phone just like Safari does. Key point is that this is optional and if you don’t want to, you do not need to enter any private keys whatsoever.

@exyle Really love your dedication to STEEMIT and the Time that you contribute to make the STEEM Blockchain even better than what we already have. Thank you for always doing Steemit the right way by interacting with those that choose to leave thoughtful and thought provoking comments.

I hope this picture shows. It how I saw it in the app. Thank you so much for your comment man.

IMG_6441.PNG

IMG_6442.PNG

I love the look of this interface. Majority on people around the world use windows laptops .I know of an app called iPadian(probably a shortcut for iPad in android). It's an ios simulator for windows operating systems 7 and above. It enables you run some ios apps on windows.

How it works is that, since It is not possible to download apps from iTunes since iPhone, iPad and iPod apps are encrypted with Apple’s FairPlay DRM technology, the guys at iPadian had to create a custom app store that currently contains slightly over 300 hundred popular apps and counting, such as Facebook, WhatsApp, Angry Birds, Cut The Rope and many more. They continue to add apps to the store based on user demand.

So I was thinking you guys could contact them at www.ipadian.net , to see if you could work with them on making a windows access to steemify.
All the best

Thanks for your insights. I didn’t know about this project.
Unfortunately, the iOS app will only work correctly if it can register with the Apple servers (APNs) for push notifications, and I don’t think that’s possible within an emulator (doesn’t even work in the official Apple development simulators). That said, however, the backend server is not dependent on any client, so creating other apps (web/Windows/Android/etc) should be trivial.
We first want this to fully and reliably work with the iOS app and then we can expand from there.

Oh I see. The lack of availability in android and windows and other apps is not an issue of not being to make it happen, but one of starting on an os and then spreading out. Good one, it's a nice idea. It seems we windows and Android users have to wait then. Please make sure to let us know when the other versions are out.

Exactly. We’ll keep you posted through the @blockbrothers account.

I think this will be very usefull if people will use different apps to access the blockchain. Having one app for notifications will make things easy. Too bad android compatibility is not on the horizon

SO ecxited that this is a thing! I've been saying for months that the only reason Ive put up with esteem is because I like getting the notifications.

I knew I'd love this app for that reason but I'm really REALLY loving the ability to get custom notifications about when someone else posts that way I don't miss any of my favorite steemians' content.

I can tell you guys put a lot of thought into this one. Well done, can't wait to see what's next!

Thank you so much! If you have any suggestions let us know.

will do ! :)

I just got the invitation for the beta tester and I can confirm I am already loving it! I will never miss a mention now on! Thank you @exyle , thank you @blockbrothers.

You’ Welcome! Please do give us feedback about your experience so far with the app.

Fantastic! Thank you!

Very clean app, just prefer a different color scheme for the radio buttons.

We have an enhanced design ready for the settings screens. It will be implemented in one of the next few builds.

Awesome sauce. The simplicity is great, I foresee a great amount of adoption for this app. Is it possible to include curation and author rewards similar to how steemd.com works ?

Is it possible to include curation and author rewards similar to how steemd.com works ?

Yes that should be possible. I’ll add it to the list of feature requests.

This is pretty awesome. Four friends developing really cool apps for Steemit. It is amazing how far it has come in so little time. Thank you for putting in all the time and effort to make steemit a better place for everyone.

Great news, my friend, this application is very convenient and easy to use. The fact that the BETA version appeared indicates that new functions and opportunities are revealed for us and it pleases! Thank you @exyle for reporting this news.

wow excellent news my friends, well i am so glad to see the public beta launch of steemify because i am missing a lot lately in steemit and i visit blockbrothers.io website and man it's fantastic website and we get almost complete knowledge about app from that website, i really like it's front page as well it's so beautiful, i surely try it very soon, wishing you all the best for each and every one of you future endeavors! Stay blessed and thanks for sharing

nice application, hope to see more :)

Really cool. Shame I don't have an iPhone! Making it easier to access Steemit on the go will be really crucial in growing the user base.

@exyle,
Damn I need to get an iPhone soon :/ Anyway this is a great news and hope to hear more big app project news in near future too! Congratz guys!

Cheers~

Heard of it hope it gets a lot of positive attention :)

Wow!!, this really good, Well done @blockbrothers, with the features mention, I think it will really be helpful to all steemians. Thanks so much @exyle for sharing.

Amazing photo, keep up the good work!
Thats interesting. Thank you for sharing. Will try it out :)

I had already heard and gone through your new ID @blockbrothers, recently. I have come to know that you are the creator of the world, thanks for the new website of blockbrothers,it will rock here in our community. Thanks my dear friend, steem on.

Sounds great can’t wait to check it out,thanks for sharing.

ohh ! that's great you are working hard to make steemit better for all the steemians.
I have a question that what if i click on the notification, is this will take me direct to the browser or the app because you said that user only need to fill their username so without key is it possible to reply through the app?
Thanks for the great work.

From our dev:

There’s a basic built-in browser you can use to go directly to the post or comment. If you log in there, you will be able to vote/comment/etc. from within the app (actually I’m doing that right now). This data is stored encrypted on your phone just like Safari does. Key point is that this is optional and if you don’t want to, you do not need to enter any private keys whatsoever.

Wow ! Interesting !!
When we can get it on Android ?
Great effort @exyle !

nice project, good work!

I think this will be very usefull if people will use different apps to access the blockchain. Having one app for notifications will make things easy. Too bad android compatibility is not on the horizon

Cool project and highly needed feature, hope you bring us the android and desktop version because I don't own an Iphone

Wow congrats @exyle for the innovation. This is how a company grows to become big. Will follow @blockbrothers.

this is really cool finally great news coming :D

Thank You for Share. I will try it definitely. Do you have any plan to build an android version?

Hello my friends steemit 😚😚😚😚

Looks like great project. Unfortunately I do not have iPhone :/.

nice application

It would be cool an Android versión.:)
Thank you very much for the work you do.

That's very cool! Awesome! But only for iPhone users only 😔.

Great news, but will make more sense if developers can extend usage to android devices.

Too good your post !! I invite you to read my last post, thank you happy day.-

very good thoughts may be useful

like this post....thanks for sharing

thanks for your valuable post...

Very cool ...I go and look now :)

Love the app, Any plans on making it available on Android?

this is something new to me i need to check it out :)

Thanks for your effort for making steemit the best platform.

But I'm a android user.

I really need this for my Android phone.