Making wraps with the naan bread recipe

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

This recipe is my all-time favourite. I have learnt it by heart and just love making it as a side to soups, curries, a wrap shell or for pizza base. It is Paleo and gluten-free, and I find it a great compliment to my #eatingforabs diet.

So I had been coming across tapioca flour in many paleo recipes around Pinterest. At first I would ignore any recipes using tapioca or arrowroot mostly because I didn’t know any facts and the origin of this flour. After exploring some of the possibilities that this flour provided, and especially after coming across this particular 3 ingredient paleo naan bread recipe, I got interested because none of the healthy flours that I use (coconut, almond, quinoa) would ever provide the same texture.

Of course, I miss all bread products, conventional crackers, wraps, pita and naan and since this flour seemed to offer the possibility of making conventional looking bread, I made my best to source some good quality tapioca flour. Although I’m sure that you can find tapioca flour locally, maybe in speciality stores, I chose to buy mine online. This saved me lots of time searching for the quality I wanted (organic and free from additives). I loved this brand. The fact that tapioca falls under ‘paleo’ gives me sufficient motivation to try it out. Personally, both wheat and quinoa make me feel bloated so I’d rather try this grain-free tapioca flour instead anyway.

Facts about tapioca


Tapioca flour is a starch, hence making the inside of a thick naan bread soft and gooey (yummy!). I did not know much about this plant but researching along the way I found out that this flour is made from the root of the cassava (a.k.a Yuka) plant. After cassava plants are harvested, their roots are treated to remove toxins found in the plant. The starch is then processed into flour. Tapioca is almost completely free of both protein and gluten (bonus :)). It’s mostly carbohydrates with low amounts of saturated fat, cholesterol and sodium. Tapioca is also used as a thickening agent and the fact that it has no particular taste makes it adaptable to many recipes.

Sometimes I make 4x the recipe to have a lot of wraps. You would have 6 wraps with a 4x recipe.


Full recipe http://www.rodysheartycorner.com/garlic-naan-bread/


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Ingredients


1 large clove garlic minced (or 2 small)
1 teaspoon dried rosemary
½ cup organic tapioca flour
½ cup pure ground almonds
½ cup coconut milk (carton milk works fine and you can also use water)
1 teaspoon coconut oil

Instructions


Combine the tapioca flour, ground almonds, minced garlic and rosemary. Mix well with an egg whisk to form a batter. It is best to mince the garlic with a garlic press.
Add in the coconut milk (or any other milk of your choice) and whisk well. Make sure you leave no lumps.
Heat a non-stick pan adding the coconut oil. When the oil has melted, use a kitchen paper towel to distribute all over the pan.
Pour in all the batter for a wrap, or 1/4 cup batter each time for small naan, directly from the mixing bowl into the hot pan. You can use the back of a spoon to flatten out the batter. Allow a few minutes for the naan to cook from one side before flipping over. Keep on flipping the naan until the batter is cooks through and some browning takes place on each side. Some puffing up can occur with each naan.
Repeat this process until all batter is used up. I had 5 small naan bread but you can make 2 large naans instead, with the same amount of batter.

Sort:  

Hi rooddzy ,

This post has been upvoted from me :)

If you like what I'm doing please upvote this comment so I can continue to support accounts like yours.

Oh how much I miss trying out these recipes!!
Cant wait to try them out when we get back!

love these! thanks for posting!!

Congratulations @rooddzy! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rooddzy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!