You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIMIO : SCREEN-FREE EDUTAINMENT

in #earlylearning β€’ 2 years ago

I'm struggling without subtitles for English programmes these days! πŸ˜… We watch more Japanese animes than anything, though, so I tried learning a bit of that on Duo Lingo. I didn't retain much, though. I feel like my brain is struggling to retain much new information any more. It's certainly a good idea starting her at that age when she's still such a sponge.

@tipu curate 6

Sort: Β 

Hahah I'm the opposite.. my hearing is good, eyes not so good πŸ˜… I'm mainly watching Chinese dramas these days and the language is so complex I'm hearing the same words being said but the translation is sometimes different. I'd much rather just watch the action than spend the whole time trying to speed read.

Funny you mentioned anime.. I was looking at what Netflix had last night and was surprised to see they seem to have a few.

Any recommendations?

Yep, shes definitely at sponge age. I do worry though about exposing her to other languages before she's grasped english.

At that age she'll quickly differentiate the languages, especially if she's hearing English regularly anyway.

I can't say my sight is much better than my hearing, in all honesty. I still struggle to speed read the subtitles, so I think I miss just add much of the action as what's being said.

I don't know what they've got currently on Netflix. It's Avatar the Last Airbender still on? It's actually American, but I enjoyed that. I think hubby has been going through some on Netflix, but the last one I saw him watching was a bit cringe. It was in American dub, which didn't help. Evil done in an American accent just isn't the same as when it's in Japanese. πŸ˜†

Yeh she hears English... and Korean... and lately Chinese... πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ I think I'm gonna have to put headphones on or mute the sound when I watch my shows lol. And when we see the grans they talk to her in a mix of Italian and French.. πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ As they get older they revert to the language they know best.

Yeh.. same.. damn old age.. I've been reminding a lot. I realise how much I miss when I rewatch the shows.

Only Air Bender on Netflix I've seen is the movie they made... that was cringe. But had some elements I love when I watch my Chinese shows = the martial arts/fantasy vibe.

Dubs.. ugh.. It's just not the same!!! I've tried it and, nah.. I'd rather suffer through the speed reading. I imagine it's worse in foreign shows instead of anime since theres a disconnect on how someone looks and how they sound.

Lol! I heard about the Air Bender movie and avoided it! The anime was followed up by The Legend of Korra, which was fun, but had a completely different vibe to it.