You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues - Sponsored by @carlgnash and @paulag!

in #engagement6 years ago

I love Mexican food so since you decreed it, then I will have to go to my favorite little mexican restaurant.. I will take a pic of it and send you! (always good to be in good with the king) :P

Sort:  

hahaha brown-noser Dave!

I'm with you on that....

So, hey! @glenalbrethsen, I bet I could find a good Mexican restaurant to do the same haha

You better, considering you're in Mexico and basically surrounded by fine Mexican cuisine.

In fact, I would expect to eat something cooked in banana leaf! Can't remember exactly what it's called but we had something in banana leaf when we were down the last time we were in the Cancun area. They didn't call it a tamal, and it wasn't pibil, which I've also had. It had another name something that sounds similar to ishote ixshote and it was awesome.

Anyway the cuisine on your side of Mexico is fairly distinct is what I'm trying to get at, so I would hope you would come up with something special. :) @leeart has already posted her pic, so it's up to everyone else now. :)

I went to cancun in my 20s, I loved it... Always wanted to go back, just never made it yet.

And lol on your comment about he photo of the food, I will post it here (I really don't know your email hahaha) :P

Well Dave, I'm not saying that's a long time ago, but I think you will find that it's all changed, but still so beautiful!!

yes it wasn't very developed back then.. just a decent resort we stayed in and then a town that was nice but certainly not anything fancy... I remember taking a bus to the ruins of I think the mayans... It was a very good experience.

You certainly wouldn't be disappointed now, but Cancun has gotten so big it no longer, in my opinion, has that 'quaint' feel to it. That's why we love Playa, although it's grown a lot too.

It's a great area, one of the best tourist areas still and not as bad, as I understand, as other places where the narcos have moved in. For a long time, it's my understanding there wasn't even a reason for them to be there, but anyway, times change.

I've been there twice now, once with a friend from work and once with my wife. Great trips both times. The first time, we actually went to Playa del Carmen. This last time we just drove by it on the freeway. A lot has changed down there.

One of these days, we'll make it back. My wife was saying she wanted to make another trip somewhere, either Hawaii or Cancun. We'll see. She wants to take everyone, which includes two sons, their wives, and one grand daughter, who will be just over a year old by the time we go. Plus, there's always the chance that the other daughter-in-law will be pregnant then and won't feel up to much of traveling, even if she really, really wants to.

Anyway, it's high on the list of places to revisit. The ruins down there are my go to place and you can't beat the food.

re: photo and email

Okay, that'll do. :)

Yes I just replied to Lynn... I remember those ruins and we acutally walked all over them then (30ish years ago).. And I do also remember drinking their mexican beer and I think it was dos equis...

Hahaha on taking the whole family, I hope you have a trust fund to draw from if that many go with you! I don't think steem can get high enough in price to support that kinda crew! :D

Anything, when you throw in dos equis, is worth doing Dave :)

The ruins are pretty amazing! I've been to a couple here and they're worth a visit for sure!

Funny thing is, we managed it for Hawaii a couple of years ago. You get some frequent flyer miles, pay for a ticket and half of another like that, limit the baggage and you can drop the per ticket cost down. Then, airbnb is a lifesaver when it comes to finding a space big enough for three couples.

After that, we bought the Costco Oahu Go cards, where you get all kinds of things for well off the individual entry fees, including the best package at the Polynesian Cultural Center (luau, show, and all the rest). By the time you go there and Pearl Harbor and see a couple things there, the GoCard has paid for itself and you still have around two dozen other places you can go. We actually weren't able to see everything. :)

I've checked into flights and airbnb in the Cancun area, and depending on the time of year and the airline, we could probably make it happen for an arm and maybe an ear. :)

I would choose Playa over Cancun for sure now. And geez, is that Christmas and birthday presents for a few years for the whole gang?:)

Well, her exact words were Christmas and anniversaries (this Christmas and next year's anniversaries). I keep trying to tell her we should make them chip in. The Oahu trip I just told Dave about we pretty much financed, and it worked out okay.

Still, I don't think the kids appreciate it as much if they're not contributing to it. And having to help plan for it. It was like pulling teeth to get them to even do that, and they all wanted to go. I guess they thought they'd just magically show up some place and all would be laid at their feet. Silly children. :)

Silly children is right! I always found that mine appreciated the things they helped financed. Period. Suddenly those things became ultra-important and special...like so special I had to be careful touching them haha

I normally cook at home, because I love to, and I've experimented with local cuisine, but the next 'eat-out' night, I'll be sure to have my phone with me to be that person in a restaurant that I usually make fun of haha

I wish I knew what you were referring to, but truthfully, I have no idea:)

I'll check out @leeart's photo too. That's funny!

I wish I could remember the name. It was pretty local cuisine, I'd never heard of it before, and I believe it had shrimp in it. We had it as part of some room service food we ordered at the hotel we were staying at when my wife and I went. It was really good. There just wasn't enough of it.

I'll ask my wife and see if she remembers.

It's good to cook at home. That's how I normally get Mexican food, because when my wife's off work, she'll cook it. I'm going to need to make sure I actually do eat some myself, because it wouldn't be that good of a thing for the guy making the Mexican food decree to be the guy who doesn't actually eat the Mexican food. :) Especially if it's my one and only week making decrees.

I was going to suggest you asking your wife :)

Haha the Caucasion King who decreed Mexican food day, and only ate Italian :)

I love Italian, but alas, I don't get that much. I might actually eat it less than Mexican food. As far as I know, there's no one from Italy in my family tree, either. :)

Danish and English, mainly, with some Polish and Scots. That's basically it. Which puts the Caucasian statement on point. Not really familiar with specific meals of any of those countries, unless they've been Americanized in some fashion (which means I'm still not that familiar).

Of course, I could always decree the food be Italian next time. :)

haha... how could you tell.. :P .

And the funny thing is I do love Mexican food, especially american mexican food :)

hahaha that is funny!

:P I get funnier as the night wears on ;)

haha I know!!! That's why I sometimes ask you if you've been dippin' in the sauce :)

lol... you would think that was the case but no... It just feels like there's not as many people around watching as the night goes on, so I can crack a few more jokes like no body can see :P

hahahaha Parents are away and we're left to babysitters watching tv with their boyfriends

If by 'take a pic of it and send you' you mean make a comment here with the pic, that would be great. Otherwise, I might have to give you my email address or something. Unless you already have that. Because you were king once.

Wait. Is that part of the gig, too?!

Whoa.

Step away from the power, Glen. Slowly. Slowly.

hahahaha this made me laugh!!!