I found my creative flow! Splurge, and you shall receive...[Silicone Mold making, Alcohol Ink Art and Succulents]

in #entrepreneur6 years ago

And you'll never guess where....
.
.
.
.
.
IN MY WALLET!

IMG_20180501_212926.jpg
(Obviously not a wallet. Original alcohol ink art by me!)

Surprising, right? If you've been following my last few posts, you'll notice a theme - financial anxiety. I thought maybe writing about my fears, airing out my crazy thoughts might help me out of this funk. It seemed like everything I touched turned to shit and I started to not want to leave the house for fear of spending money.

Now, we all have our "thing" to make us happy, even if temporary. Mine is usually sweets, but all the donuts I've eaten this past week haven't helped a thing! I found myself walking out the back door, around the side to look at succulents and back in the front door. Stand motionless for 5 minutes in the kitchen debating what to do, and then start all over again out the back door. Hm. After re-reading that paragraph, maybe it was all the donuts giving me the jitters....

I tried doing yoga, but after 20 minutes my mind started wandering to money making ideas. I tried mid-day refresher naps, but couldn't sleep with all the mini projects on my to-do list running through my mind. I tried scheduling out my days, but even my agenda looked ugly and I wanted nothing to do with it.

I got out of my comfort zone and went to a new nursery to discuss a retail opportunity. It was a great connection made, but I felt compelled to buy a few succulents to solidify the relationship. I was really happy with the in road I made, but furious with myself at the same time for buying more plants I don't need.

(But just look at these variegated beauties I found in the back!)
IMG_20180427_132814.jpg

IMG_20180427_134435.jpg

I started to back-pedal and wanted to come up with some "cheap" product ideas. You know, the ones that have incredible mark ups and are under $10. Last minute add ons, that type of thing. So, I landed on the idea of Top Dressing. Which is really just a fancy way of saying cover up that clumpy mess, lady, nobody wants to see the dirt in your arrangements. So with a coupon in hand, I headed to Hobby Lobby to sort out packaging and labels. I've never been to HL before, mostly because of political reasons. I can't claim to know all the details but from what I understand they do not offer birth control to their employees. I hate that. My boss should not get to tell me what I put in my body, period. But I've exhausted all of the other craft stores nearby, so I sucked it up and went. Holy shit. Now I have a real dilemma. That place is a literal MECCA for makers. Not only that, but they've got some pretty cool decor, too. I've always wanted one of those homes that look like they could be in a modern decor magazine, but never wanted to spend the money. (duh). One of my favorite online design shops to look at was having a 50% off sale once, so I feverishly threw in all the pillows I wanted into the cart and went to check out. $200. Plus shipping. And tax. I promptly shut the computer off and quickly convinced myself guest pillows would be fine for lounging on the couch. My living room now looks like a frat house had a sleep over with the local pre-school. (Not like that, you perverts. I meant fleece blankets, plaid covered floppy pillows and a few bongs make it look like this is the first time I'm living without my parents.). I still wonder if I would have appreciated the pillows and the "look" or if they'd just have been a constant reminder of a waste of money.

Anyways, back on topic. Makers Mecca. After scanning every single aisle, I got what I thought I needed and got on line. I was fidgety though, because I had a 40% off coupon in my bag that was not applicable to anything in my arms. So at the last minute, I rushed to the back and grabbed a package of Alcohol Ink. It's something I've always wanted to try, but it's not exactly cheap. $12. Plus the fancy paper for it. Pretty steep but with the coupon, I figured it would be OK. Here's a money saving tip - don't get a basket or carriage when you shop. If you can't carry it, you can't buy it!

Have you ever heard of Alcohol Ink before? If the answer is no, do yourself a favor and google a video real quick......Ok. Back? Pretty cool, right? It's a super simple concept but not all that easy. I mixed quite a few pages of mud before I got the hang of it. This one is my favorite so far:

IMG_20180502_091037.jpg

I like how this one came out too - I added the black drawing over the top with a paint marker:

IMG_20180502_091154.jpg

Even the clean-up creates pretty designs!

IMG_20180501_220454.jpg

But what does this have to do with cement pots? Absolutely nothing! Creating something, ANYTHING was what I was after. It gave me the confidence to bite the bullet and take the next big spending step for MadPotters. It seems like a new cement artist pops up every other hour, and with the influx of silicone molds available online anyone can do it. I've always prided myself on making my pots out of recyclables, but if I'm honest with myself, I much prefer the uniform look the silicone lends to the finished product. Sooooo....I dipped into my wallet again, and bought a trial sized box of silicone rubber. At ~$30 for one box, this is definitely not a cheap experiment.

My goal is to create marbled cement picture frames. I started by creating a mold box out of foam core board from the dollar store. I used to make fun of my mom when I was younger, but a glue gun is now my best friend, lol.

IMG_20180501_173339.jpg

Once set, I then glued my frame I want to mold to the bottom of the box. I filled the entire thing with rice to measure out how much mix I would need - 4 cups. I looked at the mixes the box came with and decided I had enough. Thanks to a restaurant prep job when I was younger, I'm pretty good at eyeballing. I remembered to put a block in the middle to cut down on the amount of mix I'd need to fill the area, too. Woo.

IMG_20180501_174823.jpg

Time to mix! Since I opened the first bottle with my thumbs, I ended up with pink sticky goo covering both hands. It's probably not necessary to say I have no photos from this part of the process.

Once I started pouring the mix into my mold box, everything looked good. UNTIL. I got to about 3/4 way full and then the glue gave out and my frame floated to the top. Epic Fail. I tried to thicken the walls around the frame with the leftover goo but I knew it would never hold cement this way, no matter what I did. Lesson learned. Glue gun is not always your friend.

IMG_20180501_183937.jpg

But all is not lost! Sure, I spent some money I can't make back, but in the process I've learned that art isn't like anything I'm used to. I can't schedule creating like I can meetings and travel arrangements. Corporations love to not spend money on things they deem unnecessary, so we learn to make do with what we've got. The tools I needed to succeed at a desk job were very few - a computer, a phone, internet. Maybe a few special programs. I have to stop thinking in such limited terms with art. Just because I am a cement pot maker does not mean my only tools are cement and more cement!

I've spent more than I've made this week (because I haven't made any yet, lol) but I'm looking forward to a few upcoming events and most importantly, getting my hands dirty again in whatever feels good that day.

Hope your week is looking up, too!
xo
Christie

PS - anyone want to buy a really pretty paper towel? HEHE just kidding.

Are you in SoCal? Come join the @socalsteemit crew here!

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

#entrepreneur #art #socalsteemit #diy #succulents #gardening #homedecor

Sort:  

Wow! Very detailed post about the process. I loved the inks at the top especially. I found you on the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @tony19r. Congratulations and all the best to you.

Thank you so much for checking out my post! I really love playing with the inks, so I appreciate you stopping by to leave a comment. I'm working on my own pay it forward post, but it's a lot harder to find a good content poster with rep under 50 than it would seem!

Yo that alcohol ink painting thing looks legit! And that paper towel canvas you chose.. pretty awesome lol justkidding but the one you did with the black marker on it looks pretty cool.

Anyways I'm rooting for you @madpotters. You're actually one of the few people's posts I actually read in entirety consistently because I can relate but hope things are on the up and up for you!

hahaha thank you! it's a really fun way to lose track of time and just focus on creating.

I really appreciate your comment - I've been struggling with finding a theme to my blog and what I wanted to write about. The upvotes and $ is awesome, but knowing that there are people out there like you that can relate to what I'm experiencing is the validation I really need to keep going. So thank you!

That is such a cool art! Even the clean-ups are awesome, lol. Plus those are pretty flowers and this is such a superb post. Hope it gets the reward it deserves,

Cheers,
Ras.

thank you so much for checking it out, Ras! Knowing there are Steemians like you out there that appreciate good content is what keeps me going - I appreciate your comment so much! xo

Really glad you appreciate it this much! Oh and guess who the curie curator that proposed your post is--me! Lol! Feel free to drope by the curie discord server or vote the curie witness anytime.

Also keep putting up greats contents like this one. The blockchain will definitely benefit from it, and who knows, curie might come again with its trail, lol.

Cheers.

How do I vote for the curie witness?

I hope I can keep up, lol, the pressure is on now!

You can do it here https://steemit.com/~witnesses. You'll find curie among the top 20 or so, just click the upvote sign.

You can defintely do it. You got this, lol.

Cheers.

This post in gold! Also looks like your making what you deserve as well. I love seeing people succeeding and you my friend our winning!! So did you drink some of that after working so hard on it? JSK

Having your post discovered by @curie or @hendrikddegrote certainly helps! @tonyr19 also nominated me in a Pay It Forward curation challenge that I am working on entering, as well. I'm trying to manage my expectations though and realize that not every great post will get the attention it deserves but by staying consistent, I'm hoping it'll gain me some solid followers. Like you!

LOL my hands are stained all sorts of colors already, I thought it best not to turn my lips and tongue green and blue before this weekends events.

Yeah sometimes it’s hit and miss when it comes to posting. As long as you keep it interesting and interact i fell you can get people coming back.

yeah, for sure - interaction is key here!

How about post-staining your pots with something like alcohol ink? You sound like me with a project and a deadline. Work-avoidance behaviour stinks, lol

This is a pot I made using an avocado leaf to imprint it. The alcohol ink flows nicely into the crevices, but it doesn't have the same effect as on paper. The cement soaks up too much of the alcohol before it can blend. What do you think? Some days I love it and others, I think its ugly lol.

IMG_20180420_111010.jpg

Procrastination is one of my biggest hurdles in life, but I've also gotten really good at working quickly under pressure, lol. I've got an event tomorrow that I just started on new pieces for yesterday!

I think it's lovely! It doesn't look like it does on paper but the effect is still good.

I know the feeling of the last minute market preparations, so long as the cement is dry on time ;)

thank you! im finding that I need to just put everything I make out on the shelves - people gravitate towards the ones I dislike the most! LOL

Typical!

does wonders for my self esteem, lmao. I can't even pick out what is quality and what is not from my own work!

It's not about quality, though. Just what appeals to different people's tastes. For that very reason, it is always good to have a variety, even if you don't always like everything

It doesnt look like you have a problem writing :)
Cool post and great art.

Good day there

thank you, that means a lot to me! I always hated writing when I had to, and proof reading was such a bore lol. I'm having fun with it now, and knowing there are others that appreciate it makes me want to keep going. Great day to you too!

Congratulations @madpotters!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade for newcomers in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 3 with 482 upvotes
  • Pending payout - Ranked 8 with $ 97,75

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on Steemit, feel free to vote for my witness! You can do it here or use SteemConnect

thank you for the acknowledgements, friend! Im going to check out the witness thing now :D

Now that was a fun read, I am glad that @tony19r featured you in his "Pay it Forward" contest entry. I really like that you show the "Truth" of the process, the glue and sticky stuff everywhere, so many craft project post only show the perfection of the process.

thank you so much for checking it out! i owe @tony19r for his nomination :D

And yes - most of art is the mess, haha. for me, anyways!

That's one of the things I like about your post, the pictures that showed the reality of the process.

Ill keep that in mind for future posts! Im always so anal about how the photos will look....glad you like to see the messy part, too.

The alcohol ink painting is so cool..and then there's the, ummm, epic fail haha. You never know until you try though right ?? :)

I found your work because @tony19r featured you in the "Pay it Forward" contest.

haha yeah, i really made a mess! but ill be trying again....at least a few more times since my last post technically would pay for a few more trial bottles of silicone (if I were to liquidate. I'm not, but you get the idea of how my brain calculates finances now lol).

haha I totally get it! It's almost as if it's in your bank :)

almost, exactly!

Well, you did make something this week!! Congrats on the curie vote!!! And the pictures with your cement frames will sell!!! For sure!! You can offer them here on steemit for SBD too...

Thank you Marianne! I haven't even thought about selling for SBD....definitely a topic for discussion when we have a steem-school meet up.

That is amazing, the colours are gorgeous, well done :)

thank you so much! colors are especially hard for me since I have a color-blind deficiency :)

I've never even heard of alcohol ink before this. It's beautiful. It looks a bit like stained glass art.

its really fun. I had never heard about it either and just happened upon an instagram photo that I liked and it turned out the artist used alcohol ink. Once I started youtubing it, I was hooked and had to try myself.