@marblely Thursday Favourites Competition Entry

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

image

This is my entry to @marblely newly renamed Thursday Favourites Competition.

This weeks competition is all about insects and other small creatures.

I have chosen geckos. There are a lot of geckos in my local area. These lovely speckled brown ones that grow to around the thickness of my thumb and around the length of my hand are the most common, but I have seen much larger ones around the halogen lights at work that are a pale cream colour.

The local geckos made a chiding chirp like noise which the miner birds like to mimic. In the place I lived three/four? years ago the living room curtains were venetian's which let a lot of light through and without fail come 9pm I would have a miner bird land on the window sill outside and berate me with gecko chirps.

Now days I only get berated by the gecko that lives behind the hot water heater when I want to go hang out clothes.

They are insanely cute little critters and I love watching them catch moths against the glass window of the bathroom.

image

You do have to take care when closing windows because they love to sneak in through the fly screen and hide in the window groove. They also will not make a noise to let you know that they are there. I have learned to always double check.

I would love to know other peoples favourite small critter.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

TeamAustralia Slim Banner

SB_new.png

Sort:  

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gmatthe2 (Grace) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Aaawwww... the little guy is so adorable :) Thank you for your entry!!
Does your guy make rattling sounds? I love them when they are small but not when they grow big :D But they do like leaving little poo that sticks to the wall and corners.

They don't make a rattling noise it's more of a cross between chirp and click and it's stattaco "chilk, chilk, chilk, chilk" Only the little ones seem to get into the house and we normally find them and take them out before they poop too much. The larger ones outside are free to poop away. I just love the way they stick to the glass and how their tails curl.

Hi @gmatthe2
As a follower of @haccolong this post has been upvoted by @hoaithu's Curation Trail.
This is free upvote first when you follow @haccolong

You are in NSW Australia. I live in Texas and have a townhouse in STX (USVI) and I'll find them around windows and doors just the same where ever I am.
What does that say to "evolution?"

I have no idea. Perhaps windows save them from owls?

Oh they are truly the cutest little things. Where we lived in Texas, there were little white geckos everywhere. One evening I arrived home to a frond door covered with about twenty of them just looking at me in fear of moving; both me and them. Haha!

Good luck on your entry! Thank you so much for sharing with us.
Ren