You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Birch trees

in #esteem6 years ago

howdy tonight melinda010100! hey those are cool trees! I remember seeing those in parks in Northern Ohio and Indiana but that will be beautiful when you have your own grown up one right in your own backyard.
very nice photos too.

Sort:  

Mine just got planted this spring, so I expect it will be a year or two before I start to see white bark. I guess I don't really know for sure how long it takes. I asked for a river birch and the landscape guy brought a Japanese Birch and planted before I saw that it was not what I asked for, but I'm sure it will be a beautiful tree.

yes Ma'am as long as it has white bark right? Did you ever show pictures of the view from the house facing the backyard? I was just wondering what that looked like.

Right now it's still just a wall of green. The river pictures I posted are my back yard. There is just a narrow band of woods between my house and the river and until the leaves fall I have to get to the far side of the woods to see the river in the summer. I kind of like having the woods there because it provides a barrier between me and the boats racing around on the river in the summertime. Plus it provides a lot of cover for wildlife. In the winter when all the leaves are off the trees I have a beautiful view of the river and no boats!

oh I see...I was thinking that you had a fence but your yard is open to the woods and the river. So do you show pictures of your view in the winter time? It sounds beautiful indeed!

My scooter does not do well on ice and snow. I think I need to get chains for the tires or something! My view from the house includes the power lines that run through the back portion of the property and I'm always disappointed with the photos that I take from the window. The power company has buried their lines and now I'm just waiting on the cable company to get theirs down and then the poles will be removed. They started work on it this summer but we have had so much rain that I suppose their projects have all been delayed. I will be surprised if they get the poles and lines out of there before winter as promised.

howdy again melinda010100! oh I understand, you are waiting on the utility companies to get their stuff done, wow so that might be awhile. they're good but not that good, pretty hard to dig ditches when they are all mud.
But in the winter the mud would be frozen, maybe they work in the winter time? well that's going to be a nice shot from your back windows when they get all of that work done. Can't wait to see some.

Crystal Spring... Taken through the window. image

The creek flowing into the river. It never freezes over like the river does. image

hey again melinda010100! whoa..this is remarkable! but what window? is that your back window? But I don't see any power lines. that stream looks like a river to me! lol. simply gorgeous view.

Actually, the one looking down at the ducks on the spring is out my bathroom window! The picture of the creek is down at the mouth where it flows into the river. It is pretty wide down there very shallow and sandy. The creek is narrow where it runs along under my bedroom window, but I can hear it bubbling along when the windows are open at night. My grandson went down beyond the trees to take that photo for me, and I think he was just passed the power lines. In this one you can see them glistening in line with the top of the bluff across the river if you loik closely. image Geese and eagles love the open water when there is ice on the river.