Birch trees

in #esteem6 years ago

Paper birch or white birch grows from Alaska to Maine, but only as far south as Virginia, Tennessee and Oregon. We don't have as many in the southern part of the state, where I live, as they do up North. It's one of the trees that always make me feel like I'm in the North Woods!

image

image
image

image

The trees are often used to make decorative items. I have one growing in my yard, but it is still young and hasn't begun to turn white.

image

Here is the link for this week's Shadow Contest

Laundry Shadows-Round 38

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

What beautiful pictures of these birches. They are characteristic trees of the Asiatic, European continent, and also of Canada.

Thanks! Yes they are!

hi friend how are you, that beautiful tree trunk the photos are very well taken. the first time I see a trunk of white skin ... !!!

Thanks, Edgar! They are lovely trees, but they only grow in the north.

I love white birch too @melinda010100. The bark is so pretty. 😊

It is... Do you have it growing in your area?

I'm not sure @melinda010100. We have a lot of silver birch which I think might be the same thing. 😁

I've never thought about how many types of birch trees there are before. I wanted a river birch planted in my yard and the landscaper messed up and planted a Japanese Birch. It was in the ground before I realized the mistake. I think they're both different than the paper birch in my photos that grows in the forests of the northern part of the state.

Yeah, I had a look on Google this morning but it wasn't clear @melinda010100.

Are you happy with your Japanese Birch not it's in?

It seems to be doing well and I'm sure it will be a pretty tree but I still want to plant River Birch! I've been thinking about where I can have one planted next spring. I have three ash trees in my yard that are dying from a borer that is attacking the trees. I've already had three cut down and I have two more that still have leaves on them but don't look real healthy. So planting trees is important!

Sounds good. I don't think I've ever lived anywhere with a big enough garden to consider planting trees.

Nowadays we just have a few pots and a couple of hay baskets. Which reminds me, we bought some violas before we went away and didn't have time to plant them.

It's been pretty warm since we've been back. I hope they're not dead. I forgot all about them. 😱

Very pretty trees @melinda010100. I had one in the corner of my backyard when we were in Minnesota.

They are pretty. I was expecting the landscaper to plant a river birch and instead I got a Japanese Birch. So we'll see how it does. He already had it in the ground before I realize the mistake.

Native people used to make canoes out of birch bark. Birch bark is also excellent to use to start a camp fire in the woods.

howdy tonight melinda010100! hey those are cool trees! I remember seeing those in parks in Northern Ohio and Indiana but that will be beautiful when you have your own grown up one right in your own backyard.
very nice photos too.

Mine just got planted this spring, so I expect it will be a year or two before I start to see white bark. I guess I don't really know for sure how long it takes. I asked for a river birch and the landscape guy brought a Japanese Birch and planted before I saw that it was not what I asked for, but I'm sure it will be a beautiful tree.

yes Ma'am as long as it has white bark right? Did you ever show pictures of the view from the house facing the backyard? I was just wondering what that looked like.

Right now it's still just a wall of green. The river pictures I posted are my back yard. There is just a narrow band of woods between my house and the river and until the leaves fall I have to get to the far side of the woods to see the river in the summer. I kind of like having the woods there because it provides a barrier between me and the boats racing around on the river in the summertime. Plus it provides a lot of cover for wildlife. In the winter when all the leaves are off the trees I have a beautiful view of the river and no boats!

oh I see...I was thinking that you had a fence but your yard is open to the woods and the river. So do you show pictures of your view in the winter time? It sounds beautiful indeed!

My scooter does not do well on ice and snow. I think I need to get chains for the tires or something! My view from the house includes the power lines that run through the back portion of the property and I'm always disappointed with the photos that I take from the window. The power company has buried their lines and now I'm just waiting on the cable company to get theirs down and then the poles will be removed. They started work on it this summer but we have had so much rain that I suppose their projects have all been delayed. I will be surprised if they get the poles and lines out of there before winter as promised.

howdy again melinda010100! oh I understand, you are waiting on the utility companies to get their stuff done, wow so that might be awhile. they're good but not that good, pretty hard to dig ditches when they are all mud.
But in the winter the mud would be frozen, maybe they work in the winter time? well that's going to be a nice shot from your back windows when they get all of that work done. Can't wait to see some.

Crystal Spring... Taken through the window. image

The creek flowing into the river. It never freezes over like the river does. image

hey again melinda010100! whoa..this is remarkable! but what window? is that your back window? But I don't see any power lines. that stream looks like a river to me! lol. simply gorgeous view.

Birch trees are so pretty because they stand out due to the color of their bark. Thank you for sharing your photos.

I think we are lucky that they like to grow around here! They are pretty trees

Since I'm on my way out of Steemit, there is no point in
Hoarding my upvotes, you got 100% upvote all 2¢ of it @melinda010100

Quite a fascinating texture on the tree. We don't have those here. As I recall in our country we had powdered milk named birch tree but it's gone now.

An interesting name for a powdered milk company! Although we are the company nearby that made condensed milk and it was called Pet milk. That doesn't seem like a good name choice at all! The birch trees are beauties; they don't get as big and tall as some other trees but they can live over a hundred years. Thanks for stopping by. It reminds me that it has been far too long since I've been over to look at your page.

so very beautiful photographs, love the atmosphere. very colorful. very eye catching, love the lights, good work my friend melinda.

Thank you so much! ♥️

What appealing trees these are @melinda010100 I love the textured bark and the shape of the leaves. Wonderful captures indeed.

Thanks, Trudee! It is beautiful to drive along through the northern forests through a grove of paper birch trees.

Photography pohon-pohon besar yang sangat indah dan saya belum pernah liat pohon ini,, postingan yang bagus @melinda010100

Keindahan pohon pohon di alam yang bebas soudaraku saya sangat suka dengan gambarnya,, Terima kasih @melinda010100

I have never seen this tree and most of the tree trees in Aceh are made for young people and there are also others.

I think this kind of tree is rare here. I've seen it, but it's not very common. I love it because of the white.

Me, too! We had a cabin on a lake up north when my kids were growing up and birch trees were common in the forest around the lake.

I like them more than the usual ones, maybe because they are rare here.

That is how it works isn't it? Paper Birch are pretty common around here and it's the River Birch that I like best, probably because you don't see it as often!