Workout Journal Ep 2 Leg Day

in #exercise5 years ago

Leg day is super important for a tall torso dominant fellow like myself. Got in the gym fasted with just water in my belly.

FB3A30B9-0EEF-4004-B443-C9C466647CC2.jpeg

Started with a lot of treadmill movement exercises, hi knees, hip rotations, walking laterally, backwards & forward shuffle with drop steps for about ten minutes. Mostly to loosen up my hips which have been very tight lately. Then on to some more hip opening stretches for quads & hip flexors. Then the perfect stretch

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-CiWQ2IvY34

(Squat University’s Channel is amazing )

Moved on to some torso twisting cable pull push exercise. I blend movements from pulling a backhand for disc golf (left hand) into a boxing straight (right hand, & vice versa) on both sides so I get really good warm up for the Sagittal plane (twisting along the spine). Light weight 2 sets of 20 switching sides at 10 reps.

Then onto the weights for the day, starting with a little bit of movement with the bare 45lb bar, I.e. some Romanian deadlifts, some squats, a couple hang cleans, just to make sure my body is ready to start taking a heavier load.

Then onto Power Cleans which I love to start with as it really fires up the ol endocrine system

135lb x 3
155lb x 3
155lb x 3
175lb x 3

pretty easy weight for me, but don’t like to go to heavy on this lift, just warming up explosive movement & getting great full body blood pump

Trap Bar Deadlift (my favorite deadlift variation)

155lb x 6
245lb x 5
295lb x 4
345lb x 3
365lb x 2

I’ve gone about 80lbs heavier on this lift recently, but my hips felt a little sore today so eased off the weight & really held the heavier weight at the top for a bit.

Romanian Deadlift (straight leg deadlift)

95lb x 8
145lb x8
145lb x 8
145lb x 8

Really good for the low back, glutes & hamstrings. Don’t like to work to heavy on this lift as it can be very taxing on the spine

At this point in the workout I usually do weighted single leg step ups or lunges, but I wanted to get my heart pumping a little harder so I did sled push sprints with this thing

C53F60B0-D35E-4A2F-A8D0-431A4C94A9BB.jpeg

https://www.torquefitness.com/products/tanktm-m4?keyword=&gclid=Cj0KCQjwhJrqBRDZARIsALhp1WTXL090FbO6s46fdUY0XJdZcUgj87AkKSP4JuJd1FXgxnLQN-pQqKMaAnRKEALw_wcB

I did about 4 30 yard sprints on the hard setting & it was plenty enough to kick my ass after the leg lifts & my current state of very weak cardio. Of all the exercises I did today, this was the most challenging by far & something I should do at the end of every leg day if not every workout. Would be nice to get up to 10 sprints, but I was gassed & didn’t want to be too overly sore so I called it a workout. About 75 minutes in the gym, felt great overall. I need to do more hill sprints & sled push type movements for cardio & true functional leg strength, it’s the most important!

Stay Strong Steemit 💪