Vlog 362: Hard fork 20 (tomorrow) will be the first step into the new direction of Steem.

in #exyle6 years ago


Right now there is consensus amongst the witnesses and the hard fork will take place tomorrow.

For me it's the most important update to the blockchain since I got here.

It's the first step into the new direction of Steem.

With easy signups and the new resource credit system it will become the easiest to use freemium blockchain in the world.

And it's just the first step.

After the successful hard fork all the focus can go to SMT's and communities.

In 6 months SMT's will complete the whole Steem blockchain package that can be advertised and promoted to the world as product that you want to use or implement into your community or application.

All of it driven by STEEM.

I talk about it more in my vlog.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yes, the vlogs are back. :) Please don't abandon them completely. While the written blogs are nice, they're not what I genuinely look forward to. That honor goes to your vlogs. :P

Hey bro, or should I say block bro!

That's what I'm talking about! An insightful Steem blockchain beast blog!

Steem Inc: This message is for you......hire this man!

Can you explain a little bit more the difference between stake based voting and the resource credit system?

As far as I know the two are not related.

The resource credit system will replace the current 'bandwidth' model. Basically the more SP you have the more bandwidth or (after tomorrow 5pm Dutch time) resource credits you can spend.

The voting system itself should still be relatively the same based on stake (with a few tweaks but nothing major).

But in the future this could change (I'm getting ahead of myself) in the form of Account based voting.

Account based voting is a different reward model not based on the amount of Steempower but on the amounts of votes from different accounts you get. This in combination with Oracles (that white lists accounts, so people with a 1000 socket puppet account can't rig the system) could be a more fair system to find 'good' content. This is not part of this hard fork.

Spoken like a scholar!

It's good that people will be able to have ease of signup but, from my experience with other platforms, opening the flood gates can be problematic. We shall see how well it works. I really hope it's for the better.

hey dude, good to see you back and vlogging! hope you feel rested! :)

Exciting! Great to catch your vlog this morning @exile. Exciting stuff tomorrow. Let's hope everyone is focused and all hands are on deck. Wishing the very best to the Steem team & community as we turn this new leaf. 👍🦋🏞

Glad you are back vlogging. Is it true that dtube doesn't host videos for more than 30 days?

Truly an exciting time to be here. I look forward to welcoming the new users as they onboard quicker. Another addition I think this also gets us closer to is Hivemind which conceptually gets us closer to bringing communities of similar interest together.

I look forward to welcoming more users as well, I hope steemit gets global recognition and usage soon.

I am excited to see what the future will bring.

For sure, the future is bright here. Lots of nay-sayers I see around, but my expectations for a smart media token based dapp economy are what really drive my excitement for the rest of the chain's lifespan going forward.

I missed your daily vlogs when you were in Brazil! This one explained a lot of things and made it crystal clear. I am still a little fuzzy on resource credit system and stake based voting so perhaps in another vlog you could touch on these again. I think Steem Inc. need to hire you to promote and explain things to the masses. You make things easy to understand even to us non-techies.

We have yet to see the results of these developments in steem @exyle but it is great to expect some good things that will happen and I just hope that the value of steem goes up four fold at least and retain its value as well.

Cool, I love your vlogs!

Exciting, I hope this helps steemit grow to massive size like Reddit or facebook or youtube, or maybe even all those combined.

I like to read your enthusiasm at this hour, @exyle! It's always good to read to those who know. From what you say, the cards are already laid. We only have to wait. Greetings!

Go power STEEM!!!!!!

Mark @exyle and just think STEEMmonster Tourneys are just days away too................

Thanks for your post!
I agree, this fork will be big! Especially the easier account creation will be a big thing to get a broader adoption of the platform...

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really enjoyed watching this video where you shared your vision of the future of Steem blockchain in the next 6 months.

Super stoked!

I agree with you! We've waited for HF20 so long, excited :)


You have been elected by the @steemrepair and upvoted with the trail for your quality contributions to the Steemit community. To join this initiative follow my Steemauto curation trail. Use tag #steemrepair to qualify for a possible reward upvote.

Thanks for your thought mate, you always answer my questions before I have them :)

The next big step forward the moment we all have been waiting for really great time for all of us :D

I hope everything will go smoothly!!

This is a lot of good information by the way. I learned a lot in what you just said even thought I still have a lot to learn about this blockchain.

Great so see a vlog again @exyle.

Fingers crossed all goes well tomorrow but, as you say, if there are any hiccups I'm sure they will be dealt with swiftly.

Hope you're soon over your jet lag. Flying East always seems to be worse. 😊

Excited and waiting for the HF20 here in the Philippines.
Better start buying steem now, while it is still low, right?

Enjoyed listening, will be interesting to see how will community react to this hardfork. Hopefully consensus will be reached by witnesses . Hoping for the best :D