A SECOND CHANCE AT THE WONDERS OF CHILDHOOD

in #family6 years ago

The world through the eyes of a child is a precious thing.


Too often, we don't stop and smell the roses once we get older. We aren't captivated by the simple things and we don't appreciate things on the same level that we once did. There is a solution for this issue though...

PARENTHOOD!

Yup, in a lot of ways parenthood is your second chance at childhood. Obviously parenthood is an experience where you teach little ones to grow into adults and not where children teach you to become a child again, but there can be a lot of fun along the way.

Each of these precious little ones are growing older at the speed of life, and if we aren't careful, it'll all hardly be a memory one day. However, if we are diligent and put forth the effort, it'll be a wonderful and marvelous experience even for the adults!

I think that's one thing that I got from by dad, @grandpa-pepper. Time and time again he can have the most fun with others just by creating a simple game. The children obviously love it, and he too can have the time of his life and enjoy it just as much as them.

In this life we often move too fast and don't appreciate enough. "Yeah, so what? A fish is in the bowl." That is far more frequently the reaction of an adult or a child losing interest in the smaller wonders of life than that of a little one. Parenthood gives us the opportunity to stop and try to see things from a different perspective, a perspective that we once had, but may have lost.

It's been a blessing to stop and wonder all over again. A child can understand how incredible and special it is that seeds sprout, while too often we just settle for just knowing that they do. Truly, these things are precious if we allow them to be. I don't want to be unimpressed and ungrateful in my life. I don't want to take things for granted. I want to appreciate and be amazed.

I think a lot of who I was as a child and a lot that came along with that was in danger of being lost. Before I met @mama-pepper and actually settled down I was an alcoholic drug addict who was a kleptomaniac that lied continually. I didn't care much about anything and appreciated nothing. Parenthood can soften a hard man, and help him to live again.

If you are a parent, appreciate it for all that it is, and don't worry about what it is not. Make the most of your time with your little ones while you can, and feel free to be amazed and even to giggle with glee. If you are not a parent yet, I'll be honest with you. It's tough, but rewarding. I don't think any of us are ever "ready to be a parent." One day we just are a parent and then there is not turning back.

Obviously if you've seen some of my posts from this account or the @little-peppers account, then you know how much I appreciate being able to spend more time with my family than a lot of people. We've made some hard choices to get to that point, but we wouldn't change what we've given up because we appreciate too much what we've gained. Today while we were praying and thanking God before we enjoyed a meal together, we all said "Amen" at the end. And then our littlest of the @little-peppers "Buddy Pepper" said "Amen" too. It was his first word ever. Not only that, every sibling and both parents were there to hear it. That is so precious and so rare, and we don't ever want to take it for granted. Be blessed and enjoy it to the fullest!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-parenthood

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Most of life’s secrets are discovered by seeing things through the eyes of a child! Perspective is everything! I’ve learned more in 2 years of parenting then I did in 32 years of life! Great post!

Very glad to hear it!

Hmmnnn...I can imagine what new things parenting can bring into one's life. Seeing through the eyes of a child - seeing without sentiments, seeing with a free heart...Cos children worry less!

That's the best first word EVER! What is even better is, you are keeping a priceless journal for your children, and their children, and so on....this is a true treasure.

When my children were growing up, various people told me I should keep a book for each one of my four children, and write down the funny or profound things they said, because eventually I would forget. Unfortunately, I could not find the time, and now I wish I had.

You are creating an amazing treasure for your children here, and I'm so happy for you, and them!

I agree! It's been a worthwhile time documenting a lot of it! Thank you!

Wow, we have a lot in our past incommon with just this post. I to was on the quick road to nowhere. God blessed a broken sinner like me with a strong loving woman. After 17 years of marriage to her we now have two beautiful kids. I was a selfish self centered person until becoming a father. Being a parent has also made me seek out my Heavenly Father and restore our relationship. Reading your posts inspire me, I think i’ll Help the kids build a fort in the woods tomorrow after church. They have been “working” on one for weeks. LoL I thank you again for inspiring your words.

Very glad to hear that! You get out there and build that fort!

We found a swing set that had never been put together in one of the old barns on the place.. Used it and some scrap wood to make this "OSHA compliant" play set.. LOL to laugh the it held me up while i was putting the handrails on.. only took me a year to get around to putting the handrails on it..photo_2018-02-19_09-38-32.jpgphoto_2018-02-19_09-39-13.jpgphoto_2018-02-19_09-39-18.jpg

There ain't any HOOD like PARENTHOOD

You are a beacon of light and hope to all of us here at STEEMIT.
I have started a familyweeklyprogram for posts such as this, .. Beautiful kids sir.

Wow! Thank you for saying so.

Nice @papa-pepper...parents holds important thing to the child...their emotional, attitude and spirit depends from the parent...amazing post...

I do not miss childhood, but I miss the way I took pleasure in small things, even as greater things crumbled. I could not control the world I was in, could not walk away from things or people or moments that hurt, but I took joy in the things that made me happy.
The love of a family is life's greatest blessing. To me, family means Love
You are so wise papa-papper. Wonderful and original post keep the good work. I love you........winks
IMG_20180203_200926_559.jpg

Very nice family. Good luck to the kids. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Congratulations the post friend, Muhamadali .jpg

yaa .. very good if parents introduce the world for their children, ranging from the small seeds of wheat karna someday will be very valuable for the child and foster self-confidence in children is equally important.oleh karna that we as parents must support every penih needs child. i like your vlog about this @papa-pepper

Screenshot_2018-02-18-09-17-10-1.png
so sweet. ..baby...nice post..thanks.for.sharing...

OMG Beautiful family, Vote up. :)

Great Father.. I think to be a father must be care to our child worlds. We have to involve on child game.

I very much admire how you make the most of your time with your family. We all experience once to be a child I can now see the amazing experience of their childhood. Thank you so much for your support @papa- pepper.

The intricacies of parenthood are best experienced than told. Lovely pictures. Great post

What a change from the usual "Mama" or occasionally "Papa".
"So Be It" what a perfect thing for Buddy to say first.
I'll bet grandpa-pepper is also very proud of Buddy

Amen to that!

@PAPA-PEPPER.. Ser padre es una experiencia que papa Dios no se equivoco, ya que la hizo a su perfección y que somos los responsables de hacer de los niños personitas de bien para que sus futuros sean cada vez mas productivos, llenos de sabiduría y mucho amor..
Hermosa Familia...

good information

Beautiful...
I believe you're a stupendous parent .. Keep it up @papa-pepper

thank you for sharing @ papa-paper nice photo photo. surely you enjoy it very happy always friends.

@papa-pepper so amazing very fun to read this a also re memorize my childhood.

Being a father is a wonderful experience, you have to enjoy it to the fullest.!

One's choice of career I think goes a long way in telling how effectual his parenting can be. Imagine a military personnel that goes awol for months, or a sailor. Building one's career around family for me, is one effective way. It must be intentional

Nice! I'm uploading a vlog to post in the morning that thinks along those same lines!

Oh!!!
I can't wait to see the vlog...I'm itching already.

Hi, I followed you and hope you'll follow me and comment on the vote

the most precious treasure in this world is the family, and you have really taken care of and nurtured it by continuing to spend a lot of time and thought just for the whole family. I am very impressed with your personality that so take the time specially for the family. thank the kasin for a useful lesson.

@papa-pepper I know you will like this so much. Thou there emotion lies on parent attitudes. Nice post all the way

Working with( 16 ) 4 and 5 year olds 5 days a week you sometimes forget your the grown-up.

I believe that! It's a priceless age!

I gots a two-year old grandson
My wife babysits when she can
IN FACT
today she told her son
"I have a way for you to make some extra money!"
"Oh? What's that" he said.
"Let ME pay YOU for the privlege of babysitting" The wife told him. She was joking?

She rilly, rilly likes to babysit her grandson

I think unclehood is going to be more fun than parenthood. I get to hang out with my niece, but I don't have to take care of her 24/7!

lol - that's almost like being a grandpa!

You're a real redemption story, brother. Glad for you. At 34 your post motivated me a little closer towards considering the parenthood route once again.... Abraham and Sarah didn't have their first kids until age 80+ -- With God anything is possible!

Amen to that. We are still having them and I just turned 37.

family is really love... great post @papa-pepper

Childhood means simplicity. Look at the world with the child's eye - it is very beautiful.

Amen! That is one of my dreams. To be able to have more time for family, for the kids. I dont want it to be a constant rat race of eat, sleep, work, repeat. I have a toddler and a infant. They bring me great joy and love but also frustration (mainly the toddler.lol) Children simply are gifts from God. I have a theory that every man needs to have at least one daughter so they can soften up a bit.lol.

Thank you for sharing. If it is not too much trouble please keep my baby girl Madelyn in prayer. She is currently in the ICU fighting 3 viruses: RSV, Rhinovirus, Enterovirus. We have gotten so much prayer and support and she is slowly getting better and breathing better. Let us cherish those moments with our kids more.

Good dream for you, and I will pray.

I say again what a beautiful child you have there.
He's just so cute .

The love of family is the best helo to papa-pepper and is great family

Whao!!!!
this reminds me of my parents and the mother I would be. it's informative
thanks @papa-pepper, you are always the right man to turn to

Children is a gift from god that we have to care about and we guide to life later better

There is never more life in the home than when there are wide eyed kids! Helps keep us young and remind us life really is great! God bless!

What a wonderful article! I absolutely love it, family is what life is about! One should never let their interactions slip with loved ones! Took me along time to figure that out myself... Never too late until..

Hi, thank you so much for this post! I've followed you. Would you mind following me back?

Parents are the first motivators of their children. They learn most of the things they know at home and if they have been equipped with good morals, and good approach to life no external forces such as friends or companies they keep will be able to influence them negatively.

Best wishes!!!

This is a great post. One of the responsibilities of being a parent is nurturing your child until they turns to an adult. Give them a memorable love when they still was a child.for when they are old they care for you as what you've care when they still young.

There is no hood like that of childhood, my point here is when a child does something wrong and he or she is been punished, it surprises me how after some few minutes coming back back to asked for chocolates, the child totally forget that he or she was punished, and once you sent him or her an Eran he or she runs and do it at once. Children has this heart of forgiveness they easily know how to forgive on like the adult. @papa-pepper I have been following your write up on steemit it has really inspired me a lot thats why am one of your followes and those you have mentored so far on this platform, am learning a lot from you.

Everyday is a memorable moment. Live your life in a way that when you remember how u lived it, you’d be happy don’t let the bad choices you’ve made mar the fun ahead.

Words of truth. I experience them every day with my daughter.

I think I am on my third childhood now. I am reliving it through my grandchildren! It is so awesome to see a child's eyes light up when they discover something for the first time. What an awesome experience to have the whole family witness Buddy's first word "Amen!" It is a blessing to be with our families full time.

There are 2 pages
Pages