We marry at 15,16 and 17 years respectively. The making of Akpu(incubated cassava)

in #farming4 years ago (edited)

It's weekend again and I am on another break away from farm and having some social time to myself and going through online contents again. I have access not just to power but also a better network than the one we have at the village.

There's this sweet feeling when you come back from farm and you are about to very free to rest and surf the net more and be happy. Going to the farm where it's difficult to post nor have access to the internet. It reminds me of how we lived years without the internet but were happy.

There's something going on in this village. Young ladies are given out to marriages without their consent. If I grew up here my fate would have been same.

IMG_20200727_175119.jpg

Sometimes I struggle alot to be here but I have being strong because I know that my stay here is just for a short while as I can leave at any moment depending on when school will reopen. They don't like it when you take pictures of them so I have to pretend before snapping but I sure have the right to snap them.

IMG_20200727_184433.jpg
Sometimes I wish we had people who will come to this village to educate them on the importance of asking the girls permission before giving them out to marriages or making they are up to 18 before getting married. Recently a married man who is upto 49-50 yrs came to our house to ask for my hand in marriage, he was going to make me his 4th wife lol. I am glad my parents are quite educated and they understand what it means to me and for them, they didn't tell him no but asked my consent, they knew what I was going to say. A man I don't even know, I have never seen or spoken with. Well that's a topic for another day let's talk about Akpu production.

The Making of Akpu

An average Nigerian will tell you if you ask him the top 5 food consumed in his country, he will respond with the following

  1. Akpu
  2. Garri
  3. Semo( maize 🌽 flour)
    4.Rice
    5.Beans

Two are made from Cassava and that's how important cassava product is to this country. There's a decline in the production of cassava in the country as many farmers do no believe in it but the truth is it still the most consumed food in Nigeria. We have varieties of cassava, some can be boiled and eaten but some are poisonous and can't be eaten like that.
Here is how Akpu is made
Firstly you peal it and wash it properly

IMG_20200730_122411.jpg

IMG_20200730_130718.jpg
We riise it properly so as to get a clean clear Akpu.
After pealing we soak it in a container filled with water to the brim, upto the level that the whole cassava sinks in the container and you can close or open it and leave it there for 2-3 days or four depending on the days you want.
IMG_20200731_071634.jpg
After that you tire it in a sack and allow the water to drain before usage. I won't tell you how Akpu is prepared in this post, we will leave it for another post.

Up next is maize 🌽 corn production and how far we have gone.
Thanks for visiting my blog, I hope you learnt something new today and enjoyed what you read.
Thank you for your support @krazzytrukker @pooky-jax @galenkp

consider to support my hustle in any way you can thanks ❤️❤️