Paid With Steem! My Plantain Plantation Got Steem-Powered-Up :-)

in #farming7 years ago (edited)

13641123_10206954182115078_261449148236368214_o.jpg


This is going to be a very short one. Just last year I stumbled on a passion for farming. Growing up for me has meant I've had to sort of scamper through in pursuit of the good life. A stark contrast to my childhood lofty dreams of a Hollywood movie life. And I enjoy the experiences I gather. The most recent is a 4 acre land that I am gradually cultivating. I had to teach myself how to macro propagate and the farm presently holds 400 stands of very healthy teenage crops. They give me joy. Here are a few pictures I took of them when they were still babies in incubation. Hang on for the real story afterwards.


13613479_10206954111833321_7266629905672223616_o.jpg


13613630_10206954096192930_778082233673002100_o.jpg


I had to move to the city to start a new business so I've been away from my crops for two months now. Last week I had need to send money for weeding work to be done on the farm. It's the rainy season, and while that is favorable condition for the crops, it is for the weeds too. But I was broke as a church rat. I won't say it's been so smooth since I moved urban. Can you relate with a business going all bonkers when it was the cutest idea on paper during research and planning? That's where I have been. There was no way I could raise that money.

No wait. I had some SBD I had moved to my bittrex account. About 33 SBD. I immediately exchanged it to bitcoin, with another tiny saving in BTC, I exchanged all to naira in my local exchange. After the fees were taken I had upto $52. I'm lucky to be in a side of the world where that buys much more than junk lunch for two 😉. My farm got steem powered. 😎

I never for once doubted the usability of my steem and steem-backed tokens, but this moment I was all adrenaline in excitement, maybe because I didn't foresee this whole Steemit experience coming to my rescue in so short a time -- just barely 50 days after I joined.

Steemit has been an overall win for me, and my farm ;-). I have met the most amazing people on this platform. I have been challenged to explore my best self more than I've managed to do recently. And I've paid for stuff from my payout. It's just early days. The future is bright.

Let this motivate you to keep pushing, fellow minnows. I always remind myself, my first post made a whopping $0.00 in value. I pushed. That's what you should do. Push. Today Steemit paid for a farm to be weeded, tomorrow it may pay for my son's college. Steem on! ❤
**
13580614_10206954108553239_7287480431922428471_o.jpg


The next phase of the project is to expand to 2,000 stands by the beginning of the next rain in February. So propagation will begin in a couple months. Meanwhile I will update you when the harvest come in... Maybe plantain will help my steem account power up, as a return of the favour. Hahaha.


All images are the post author's original photographs.

Sort:  

Amazing story <3 And also a great encouragement for all people that work hard to publish content on Steemit. Thanks a lot!

It really is inspiring for me, personally. So I thought I should share it with you ❤😉

Stigmatatata from Lake Titicaca!

Excuse me... 😮

Nicaragua....aqua for my bunghole.....arriba...

I love it!

"Steem Powered Farm"

I'll remember that one!

PHENOMENAL! I am excited to see this. You and I talked about this before, and although life got in the way for me getting a fundraiser off the ground, I am glad to see that progress was not stunted for you. The start of big dreams needs focus and determination. You seem to have more than enough of that. Now for time and dedication to moce towards the next milestone. :)

Yeah, Atom. I appreciate. Once you can spare some time we are going to further our plan. Cheers 😉

The archiving plan or the plantain expansion plan?

I omitted the (s) there. Sure should have been our plans 😉❤. Cheers, buddy.

No worries. I hope things go well with the farm, and let's elaborate on the projects soon.

Now that is awesome, and I haven't even clicked it yet. I can guess what it is, and you're a good man. :)

Guess who turned up? @stellarbelle the starving artist!

Awesome!
I'm looking forward to my make-up studio being steem-powered-up

Me too 😉

you will reap what you plant!!! Great post..

Thank you, friend ❤😊

Wonderful. This is very uplifting for myself who just joined steemit very recently. More motivation to steem on.

I'm glad you are inspired to carry on. Better days are sure ahead.

Awesome I hope your farm grows into a beautiful lush bounty!

Thank you ❤

I have you a 12 cent 100% upvote! happy to upvote any #garden or #gardening post especially banana trees i love trees that produce actual fruit and vegebatle sthat we can eat!

anyway i saw your post from Dicord SteemSPeak so it does work for minnows needig help! just be careful to not post links unless u are part of teh conversation and bring up ur own post politely
mmake sure u actualy chat with peopel first them ask if they would look at your pistr

and then see? It works to post links in discord! I saw it and now I am upvoting you to help newusers!

Thanks you, friend. I'll take heed to your advice henceforth.

It is exciting to see people benefiting from Steem through individual productivity.

Really exciting for me too. I thought this can serve the marketing of the community in any little way as more people still need to be convinced that this is actually something of value in the real world. Maybe that is even enough to motivate someone to take his content building more seriously.

What a wonderful use of your steem...I wish you the best of luck with it.

Very good mate, farming is a great occupation.

Yeah. I think so too. Thanks.

Yea, starting up with steemit isn't usually encouraging, but those who are consistent will see their plantain grow from a whopping $0.00 to something that can be used to power up a dream.. Nice one @misterakpan

I'm so excited for you Mister Akpan, hopefully sometime soon I'll be call you The Boss. :)

No. You! You @sammosk is the one fitting of such grand title. You are doing far bigger things. Much love, brother. I appreciate you very huge. ❤

This is really cool @misterakpan! I am envious of you - my biggest ambition is to get some land. I love working in the dirt. Would love to grow as much of my own food as possible. Great pictures and how cool that Steemit is already working for you in the real world. Resteemed this - I think it is a great reminder for anyone struggling at the beginning of the Steemit journey - fishes wriggling around out of water gasping for air - remember there is a big cool ocean to dive in! Keep on swimming and find your reef to hang out on! Much love - Gnash

Much love, distant brother. I am making the most of our far less urbanisation compared to the big wild west. It's a family land that's not been put to any use because my dad left his acre of diamond to pursue city dreams. He was happy to let me put it to use. I am from a place where I can easily buy tens of hectares with a few tens of thousands of $. That is my medium term goal.

@misterakpan delicious success story :D

I didn't realize until now that you had a farm. I'm sure it's a lot of work, but rewarding too... I miss owning a large piece of land.

Yeah. I do. A lot of work but it's always my best moments. So much joy working the earth. And it is almost certain we will get a good harvest so that buoys me. I hope to expand soon.

We'll gladly watch your progress and celebrate with you :D

Beautiful! The idea of a steem powered farm is epic! This new world merging with the old world, its beautiful haha.

I know you always put in the work, I hope your harvest and bounty will be plentiful.

Much Love!

A lot more love. I love that deduction:

"This new world merging with the old world, its beautiful..."

This is great! What a fantastic story. You've got the drive and the perseverance. Very cool stuff. Keep it up and keep us posted!

I'm so happy right now you stopped by to check my stuff. Such uplifting company. I'll sure keep you and the community posted. ❤

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by misterakpan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Creative post, an incentive. thank

Great posts can be useful can be an experience. Hopefully be a friend who can help me to like you ..... to dream and hope to be achieved. Like @sinta need friend support. Best regards.

Hey dude! Steem powered plantain taste the best! The drawing of your avatar is amazing :)

Thank you. Was done by @juliakponsford. Amazing artist you should check out. And, yes, I agree steem-powered plantain taste the best 😉😀. All the best...

Lol he's playing around @vachemorte is my boyfriend he knows me well 😀 I told him he should check out your blog!

Hahaha. I fell for it. @vachemorte 1 - 0 @misterakpan.

you grow some plantain so you win!!! I know her, she's my favorite artist...

Hahaha. I know YOU now 😉😂

Nice. That was quick thinking on your part good job. Thanks for the inspiration. I hope you get a great harvest. :)

😁 Steemit to the rescue. Thanks for the great wishes. I'll love to share my plantain harvest with y'all ❤

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @dreamingirwin.

Damn...
I have a platain farm too actually im just startining out

Nice one bro
Nice onw

This is really inspiring Akpan. Thumbs up. I have always loved farming. I might go in later in the future. Many people need to see this. I'm resteeming right away

Oh. Wow. Thanks for spreading the love. Good to know your plan to farm. Work towards it and you could just get it right.