FFF, ASSEMBLEEEEE!!!! ~ #backatit

in #fff4 years ago

Greetings and well wishes my fellow food lovers! I am happy to be able to once again compete in the most fun food flinging competition on the blockchain!

IMG_7964.jpg

It has been about 6 weeks since we moved out of our house, lived in a rental, and now have somewhat settled in to our new home. What does all that mean? Well, 95% of our stuff has been in storage...knives, pots and pans, plates, cups, silverware, etc...It is very difficult to make any meaningful and flavorful meal without all those things...oh, and all of our spices, didn't have those either. It was a dreadful 6 weeks of ham sandwiches and a lot of take out.

But I'm back now! Let's get after it!

I went down to my new local grocer to see what their selection of meat and fish was. Not too bad, but more pricey than I am used to. I didn't see my favorite cut, Chuck Eye, so I asked the guy in the white coat if he ever got any in. He smiled at me through his mask and said "I got some for ya." He brought out the biggest and thickest Chuck Eyes I have ever seen!!! Hallelujah!!

IMG_7955.jpg

To add to my excitement, they had a great special on wild caught Salmon which is what the wife wanted, double hallelujah!

So now with some proper pans, knives, and spices, I was ready to christen this new house with our first gourmet meal.

I seasoned the Salmon with honey, salt, pepper, garlic, and Mediterranean Olive Oil. The honey gave it a great sweetness and helped caramelize the outside.

IMG_7958.jpg

I used what was left of the marinade to coat my steak, and then sprinkled on my usual of salt, pep, and garlic.

Both pans got a slab of butter and a great sear. Prior to heating up the pans, I set my oven to broil at 500 degrees. So after I got both sides of the steak and salmon to my liking, I popped em both in the oven to finish. Wow, I am going to use that method more often. The steak came out absolutely perfect and the salmon was almost just as good. I say almost because I think 500 degrees might be too high for how delicate salmon is. I would do a lower temp next time, but it was still really tasty regardless.

IMG_7959.jpg

IMG_7963.jpg

JUST LOOK AT THAT CRUST!!!

IMG_7965.jpg

To add on to the great food, I was able to snag a 6 pack of Sierra Nevada's new Wild Little Thing, which is a light sour ale. It is delicious!! Not overly sour by any means and still has a good beer flavor. I will be buying more for sure, it's a great option when you've had too many IPA's.

IMG_7954.jpg

Bellies full, baby boy down for bed, and time for an after dinner family selfie.

IMG_7970.jpg

Happy Friday y'all!!! Hive on!

Sort:  

Looks great @intothewild. I'm even tempted to try that salmon, which has always been abhorrent to me because of
The Smell and extremely strong taste. I'm glad you got finished moving as well; I know how bad it is to have all
Your stuff packed up when you want to do something like cook. Well done. U&R

Thanks Jerry! If you season a Salmon right, it can help with the fishyness of it, but I've never really had that problem to begin with, so...

Give it a try sometime...honey, salt, pep, and olive oil. Maybe do it outside on a grill to so you don't stink your house up, lol.

Growing up in South Ga US, the only time we had salmon was when mama made "Salmon Croquettes" using canned salmon.
It was horrible, and it stank. Then when I moved up here, living from 2009-'16 with my "holistic/organic/don't trust Dr's" relatives, I had to wash the dishes.
I didn't eat their food, I cooked my own, but I had to keep their dishes and their kitchen clean, and they had pan fried salmon regularly.
It was almost more than I could take without gagging, to clean those pans and dishes.
Still, I like the honey idea and the carmelization it would lend. I may try it @intothewild

Ahhhh.....canned salmon! That could be the main reason. Fresh salmon, or as fresh as my markets can get isn't usually all that fishy. Try getting the freshest, non-frozen filet you can get. Let me know how it goes!!

If I ever get adventurous, in a place where I feel secure enough to BE adventurous, I will let you know.

Both the fish AND the beef look great. I will have surf and turf please.
Love the fam selfie😊

Thanks so much @farm-mom! The food was delicious and the company couldn't be beat!

😊🤗❤️

Amazing cuts of meat! Mouth watering.

Dude, I am so jacked about this grocer! If they have that cut weekly, I might overdose on beef. It was one of the better cooked steaks I've ever made.

That’s awesome.

That looks like a very well seasoned cast iron pan you have there! I love my cast iron pans. My wife laughs at me because I am so neurotic about them, but a cast iron pan in good condition will last you years! That steak looks awesome!

So true, they will last forever, honestly. I've had that pan since the wife and I got married 4 years ago. It's seen some use and just keeps getting better!


@intothewild
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into
Round 9
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent Food Coma
Food coma_7
Good Luck
and
Keep using that #FFF Tag on your
Friday Food Flingin’ Posts.

Mmmm! An excellent and delicious looking balance of surf and turf with the perfect finishes! @intothewild🔪🥩💯