New NFL Policy To Prevent Players from Kneeling During Sky Cloth Ceremony

kneeling1.jpg

NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell announced a new policy today that will keep players from kneeling during a flag ceremony that, for some reason, takes place before every NFL game. However, in compromise, players who refuse to stand and honor the sky cloth are allowed to remain in the locker room during the ceremony at no penalty.

It's not a bad compromise, actually, but why are we holding these ceremonies before football games anyway?

As recently as 2015, the Department of Defense was doling out millions to the NFL for such things as military flyovers, flag unfurlings, emotional color guard ceremonies, enlistment campaigns, and — interestingly enough — national anthem performances. Additionally, according to Vice, the NFL’s policy on players standing for the national anthem also changed in 2009, with athletes “encouraged” thereafter to participate. Prior to that, teams were not given any specific instructions on the matter; some chose to remain in the locker room until after opening ceremonies were completed. (It’s unclear whether the policy change was implemented as a direct result of any Defense Department contracts.)

So, this policy - at least - steps down the language which forced teams to participate in the ceremony to begin with.

Look, I think we all have some things we like about living in the US. Even the most hardcore agorists out there would prefer to live in the US than, say, a war torn country with no opportunities at all. But this weird religiosity that we've been fed about how to honor a cloth and a song... it's weird! It's cultish.

Admittedly, I have been known to tear up during a war movie or an Olympic victory, but not because of sky cloth! I am moved by actual heroics, actual patriotism, and actual accomplishment. To continue to religiously hold onto a belief that this country still believes in freedom and individualism is to be so blind to the truth as to be an actual hinderance to real patriotism.

Sky cloth is not the answer. Anthems are not the answer. Forced servitude, forced obedience, and forced ceremonies are not the answer.

I understand that the team owners have a right to run their businesses however they like. But, you know what I would like to see? A voluntary ceremony where everyone is actually proud to participate in it. Including me. I want to be proud of this country. And, that, would move me.

Sort:  

Yeah, I agree,
it is a good compromise.
I can't figure out what
the point of the ceremonies are,
or why perceived disrespect of
a piece of cloth and some words,
can be met with such ferocity.
It is a cult, and one that hides in
plain sight.
The thing though is,
the same can be observed
in many other countries
all over the world.

None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free. ~ Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Love that quote! So profound and true!

I am moved by actual heroics, actual patriotism, and actual accomplishment.

Do you mean patriotism in a purely cultural/geographical sense?

No. I mean standing up to tyranny.

I was just going by the standard definition of patriotism. I guess standing up to tyranny can be/has been part of that, but the main connotation usually related to nationalism of some sort.

Patriotism is the ideology of attachment to a homeland. This attachment can be a combination of many different features relating to one's own homeland, including ethnic, cultural, political or historical aspects. It encompasses a set of concepts closely related to those of nationalism.[1][2][3]

Some manifestations of patriotism emphasise the "land" element in love for one's native land and play up the symbolism of agriculture and the soil[4][5] - compare Blut und Boden.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patriotism

The Kokesh campaign videos recently are full of magic sky cloths, so was wondering if there was some connection there.

AE742C34-5400-4B0E-8A85-6C4140B1D9DB.png

I can see you’re really trying very hard to troll our posts. Keep it up!

Lol. Nah man. If basic definitions are a problem or a “troll” for the Kokesh2020 camp, I won’t unfairly challenge you anymore with them. Sorry about that! ;) Just following the sky cloth theme in the campaign’s sweet flag and muscle-filled promo vids. You “patriots” have a good day out there.

You can’t help yourself. Talk to you again soon!

totally disingenuous. Does that sound better than saying you're dishonest?

No question, you're trolling Adam because he called you an annoying ignorant troll.

Now, you've got some kind of vendetta which is not making you look good.

I wish you peace.

You too, @truthabides. Thank you.

Graham, did you ever see this
https://steemit.com/anarchy/@truthabides/adam-kokesh-vs-graham-smith-debate-revisited

My conclusions at the end.

I’ve gone over this many times with you, yet for some reason, you cannot understand that he has given several mutually exclusive, contradictory answers. You still think this is about a “vendetta,” when the fact is that I have been asking Adam these questions politely and seriously since long before he called me a troll for doing so. Conveniently ignoring this, the call to drop the Voluntaryist ideology, and threats to multiple individuals, including children, makes me doubt your intentions.

Thank you for wishing me peace.

I have nothing against patriotism as long as it only means you love your country. If it means you don't love every other country as well, then I have a lot of problems with it.

I tend to stay away from the word altogether because of the amount of confusion around it.

Just look at how confused it made kaf.

They should just kill the anthem business all together... it has no place in sports

Telling free thinking grown-ups what to do never turns out well.

post a very useful, thanks for sharing, I have vote and resteem your post. I am very glad to know you, you exceptional @benfarmer

Interesting point of view. My solution has been to just stop watching, owning or buying anything NFL.

It was a sad decision for me as I have been a fan for 30 years. Here is what I enjoyed, going to the stadium and yelling my heart out. Yes, I always enjoyed the over the top spectacle of the sky cloth, but like you it wasn't about the Sky Cloth, it was about being gathered with a huge amount of people focused on the same thing.

I hate the debate I think it is divisive and I don't care what the flag does or doesn't mean to you.

However, I think it is really dumb if for a business with paid "Entertainers" to act in an offensive manner to those who pay your salary. Just dumb.

Anyway, it sucked all of the enjoyment out of the NFL for me, I've been attending local College and High School games instead. Nice fix!