Healthy Recipe - Eggplant “Mini Pizzas”

in #fitness6 years ago

Hey friends!

For today, I just wanted to share with you a recipe that my boyfriend Chris and I just love - plus, it’s super healthy, totally easy, and near impossible to mess up… Those are the kinds of recipes I like the best!

We call them eggplant “mini pizzas,” but they’re not that much like pizza in all honesty because we replace the traditional crust with slices of roasted eggplant :)

But these healthy bites have all of the flavors of pizza, and can be customized in countless ways just like the original, so they can really give you your fix if you’re trying to stay healthy but just can’t get pizza off of your mind!

And let’s be honest, I’ll eat ANYTHING that tastes like pizza :) and it helps you get extra veggies into your diet! What's not to like?

Here’s (basically) how we do it:


Cut one or two large eggplants into about 1” slices, sprinkle with salt, and leave on a towel-lined plate on the counter for 30 minutes to an hour. This will help to draw out some of the eggplant’s moisture and make for less soggy mini pizzas!

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees F.

On a foil-lined baking sheet sprayed with nonstick cooking spray, lay out your eggplant slices in a single layer. Bake for about 10 minutes on each side, or until your preferred level of doneness (again, it’s really hard to mess these up, so just go with your gut) - just remember that they will be staying in the oven a bit longer once you add your toppings!

Remove your eggplant slices from the oven, but keep them on the tray.

Spread lightly with pesto, marinara, pizza sauce, or low-calorie Alfredo sauce (a favorite at our house).

Add any toppings you like: more veggies, low-fat cheese, chicken sausage, minced sun dried tomatoes, fresh herbs, grilled chicken, etc…

Throw them back in the oven for another few minutes until your cheese is melted and toppings are heated through, and you’re done!

Serve with a green salad and dinner is a wrap :)

I hope you like this recipe - let me know if you try it, and what toppings you choose!

Please feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem if you’d like!
My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

That's indeed some really so very innovative and brilliant idea to use eggplant as pizza base and most interestingly it should definitely workout as a best alternative solution to the flour based pizza base. Definitely gonna try and recreate the same kinda magic in my kitchen.

Oh good, yay! So glad you're into it - I'd love to hear how you like it and what toppings you choose! :)

I love PIZZA

Me too!! :D

I love pizza and everything that is made with eggplant

Awesome, me too! Glad we're on the same page! :)

makes me feel hungry for pizza :)

Very nice.

Thank you! Haha good, I'm glad - this is such a healthy way to have it now that it's on your mind! :)

I'm glad that my mother can't see this (I won't let her). Why would you do that? Who puts EGGPLANT on a PIZZA???

Ha! To each their own, I guess - you definitely don't have to make it if it doesn't sound like your jam, but I think it's delicious! :)

Ps. Technically it's not putting eggplant on a pizza (which I also like, for the record haha), it's putting PIZZA on an EGGPLANT ;)

Well said.... But m still glad that my mom didn't get to see it

This is really cool! reminds me of french bread pizzas, but with eggplant instead. :) Nice!

Yes!! I love french bread pizza! Glad you like this idea too, it's super tasty! :)

Awesome! :) yeah I will have to try it out...although I have never been much of an eggplant guy. lol I like eggs and I like plants though. lol ;-)

Sounds fantastic! Can't wait to try it! Here's a tip about Eggplant: After you slice it, lay the slices on paper towels and salt it lightly. After a few minutes, blot both sides well with additional paper towels. It makes them "sweat" out the bitterness and then they taste yummy sweet !!! : )

Oh good, glad you think so! And that's a great detail to add about blotting it to get even more moisture out :)

did you count what;s the nutrition facts of this? it might be useful for my diet. thanks!

Hi friend! Actually I did not calculate nutrition facts, because I wanted to suggest this recipe as a template for others to use and adapt per their own dietary preferences and tastes rather than a specific recipe... But what I would suggest if you decide to make this recipe would be to weigh out your ingredients prior to cooking and assembling, using the assistance of an app such as MyFitnessPal - this will tally it all up for you and be correct based on the ingredients/toppings that you choose to use! :) let me know if you need help!

no worries! anyway thanks for such delicious recipe!

AJ picked your post @annemariemay for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.


You can also join The-Kitchen Discord Server for more food experience.

Woohoo!!! Thanks @ajala for the feature!!! :)

This is a truly fresh idea! I'm glad you shared. I was looking for some new recepie to try out at home- I'm very cautious when it comes to nutrition and for whatever reason I'm obsessed with eggplats- It's weird I know haha. But this recipe seems like a great fit for my diet. Love it!

Hahaha no way, that's not weird at all - I'm right there with you!!! I love eggplant too! So glad you enjoyed this, and please let me know what you think if you give it a try! Cheers to a healthy (eggplant-filled) life! :)

Hahah Whew! I definitely feel less weird now! I give it a try and will let you know :)

This is great. You've got some great content. I've been into steem now a little while and working on building a page that promotes health, wellness, fitness, and good lifestyle being based around Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. Hope you can check it out and let me know what you think. I like resteeming Health, Fitness, JiuJitsu, and some other stuff that I like about crypto. Stay encouraged and keep up the good content!

Wow, thanks friend! And that sounds awesome, I'll have to take a look! I love finding other like-minded pals through steem - it's such a great community :) thanks for the kind words and for the resteem!!! :D

Looks sooo delicious, 😋 I should try making it😎

Please do! Let me know if you try it, I'd love to hear what you think! :)

Will do for sure 👍🏾