Doctor runs 35km with mask on to prove Oxygen levels are not dangerous

in #fitness4 years ago

I did a writeup a few days ago about my personal experience with running with a mask on and how I found it difficult and uncomfortable. There has been a lot of talk in the (mostly social) media about the dangers of performing exercise and how your O2 levels can drop dangerously if you attempt to do so. I am not a doctor and generally wont do any research in order to prove or disprove this idea but I simply comply to avoid getting a ticket or getting in trouble with some Kevins or Karens when I am just trying to get an hour of cardio in.

Some people go out of their way to put people at ease and Tom Lawton from the U.K. is one of those people.


src

I'm just going to go ahead and believe that he did it even though there isn't any video evidence of it actually happening. He ran the 35km to work wearing a face mask the entire time and stopped periodically in order to check the oxygen levels in his blood using something called a pulse oximeter.

He said (and again, I am just going to presume that he knows what he is talking about) that anything above 95% oxygen levels would be normal and safe. He stated that his O2 levels never dropped below 98% during the entire run. There is no video proof of this, again, but let's give the doc the benefit of the doubt.

Robbie.jpg
src

Running with a mask is definitely uncomfortable and for me, because I breathe quite heavily on my runs, I feel as though I am not getting enough air but I suppose since I am not exactly in prime shape a lot of this could be psychosomatic anyway. The downsides are multiple especially once the mask gets sweaty. The good side of it is that you get to look like multiple characters from Mortal Kombat or even Bane from Batman.

It is good to know, at least from this one dude who once again i am going to presume he isn't lying, that there isn't any sort of medical danger from running like this, because at least for the time being, most people don't have a choice. Personally, I feel as though the mask is a waste of time as far as virus prevention is concerned but it is a rule where I live with penalties that you would not want to face.

Call me a sheep if you must but I need to get my cardio in, and will do whatever it takes in order to do so. It's just nice to know that at least as far as this doctor is concerned there isn't any danger, just discomfort, that is involved.

Sort:  

Congratulations @normie.fitness! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 80 posts. Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Just walking with a mask is terrible and would hate to try running. lets just hope we aren't talking about this next year as that would drive me nuts.

yeah i feel the same way. It would be nice if someone could be honest about this whole thing because most people's opines on this are based on a meme or some sort of ridiculous analogy where "having a mask has proven much better than open mouth sneezing into a crowded room without covering your mouth"

it's funny the lengths that people are going to in order to get a little bit of internet fame. There are tons of these sorts of things on Youtube where someone wearing scrubs is lecturing you about masks. Once it became political we were never going to get the truth about it. I see that they are back to saying that masks can't protect you from the virus again.

of all the arguments going on in social media the mask shaming is the dumbest. At least we were able to give rise to the term "Karen" because of it.