Lab-Grown Meat...YAY or NAY

in #fod7 years ago (edited)

I have been a part of so many social media groups where sooner or later there is a "war" going on between the meat lovers and the vegetarians. Words like " Murderer!" "How can you eat that when the animals are senselessly killed?" etc etc...

Personally, I love meat, and from conversations, I had with people meat lovers usually keep to their own till the vegetarians come and honestly they can be very judgemental. Why try to force someone into your lifestyle you have chosen out of your own free will?

Ok, I not dissing vegetarians, I appreciate the guys that accept people for their lifestyle choice. Us meat lovers have been living this way since the beginning, I believe this is how balance is maintained by not disrupting the food chain, and we are a part of it.

lab grown meat.jpg

Will you eat Lab-Grown Meat??

It never had a face and nothing was killed. So morally for vegetarians, this would be acceptable??
Apparently, this will be healthier and environmentally friendlier. So I guess with all the hormones meat is pumped up with this would be logically a healthier choice.

But how is it going to taste?
We all love our bacon and beef burgers, or a lovely home cooked chicken stew or soup, and don't forget that tender steak on a braai while relaxing with a cold one with your buddies or family. Honestly, so far I am skeptical.

braai.jpg

"In August 2013, a team of Dutch scientists showed off their lab-grown burger (cost: $330,000) and even provided a taste test. Two months ago, the American company Memphis Meats fried the first-ever lab meatball (cost: $18,000 per pound). Those who have tasted these items say they barely differ from the real deal." ~ The Washington Post

So far this sounds really expensive so don't think this is in our near future. Maybe the time will give us a chance to get used to the idea of considering Lab-Grown Meat. And then, hopefully, it will fit into our budgets as well!!

You can read the whole article on The Washington Post for more details.

My thoughts

This idea sounds intriguing in the sense of it's healthier. This idea sounds intriguing in the sense of it's healthier. I understand that hormones etc was introduced due to the high demand of meat. So maybe this can help lower the quantity of cattle being slaughtered so the numbers can go up.
But making it a complete replacement can cause over populations of these animals we have been eating since the dawn of time we came into existence. Like I said, it's the circle of life, a way of keeping the balance.

share your thoughts.png

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sort:  

Well currently I eat plastic burgers...sorry I mean mcdonalds...so yeahh I would like a taste of a lab grown burger...if it tastes like meat...smells like meat...feels like meat...well gosh this could be the real thing ;)

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! Readers might be interested in similar content by the same author:
https://steemit.com/food/@the-housewife/lab-grown-meat

This is my own blog just reposted @cheetah

Nay :)

I second that, but in truth, I will give it a try for curiosity purposes :)

Go for it!

I was a meat eater and I am now a vegetarian. I do not force my views on anyone, I have been on both sides of the fence.
You have experienced some judgemental vegetarians and I am sorry you have experienced this but likewise, I also have met judgemental meat eaters. I think it is best we just respect each other!
As for your blog and lab grown meat, I think this is fantastic albeit, from my memory, the blood in a steak is what gave it such a great flavour, without blood (which comes from life) I am not sure it would taste the same.
Having said that, if it can be produced economical, it could perhaps be a filler for beef burgers etc and in doing so it could reduce the slaughter and methane gas produced by live stock which is apparently much worse to our climate change than carbon dioxide.
As a vegetarian, would I eat it? no... I do not miss meat eating. I have much better health since I changed my diet and I will not go back.
Speaking of health, vitamin D deficiency is a huge problem in the world today. Here is my experience which I am sure may people are in the same situation I was in

I will have a look :)

And thanks, I wish more vegetarians could be like you, and speaking on behalf of other carnivores/omnivores, I apologize for their unwanted and unnecessary behavior.
I must say I am envious of the health advantages you guys talk about, but I think I am stuck in my ways, haha, but we never know what the future holds. I will give this experimental meat a try, I can be a very curious person when it comes to certain foods